Reviews For El Nino
You must login (register) to review.
Title: El Nino Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I loved the way Adam dealt with Joe in this story.  Since Joe wouldn't listen to reason, Adam let him learn by experience...but he was right there in case Joe needed help.

I like the title, too!  The bull's name is certainly deceptive.  Interestingly enough, there's a weather phenomenon in the Pacific called "El Nino" that happens around Christmas (hence its name); there's a myth in California that "El Nino" causes storms and flooding.  Having lived in California for several years, when I read the title of this story I immediately thought of big storms!



Author's Response:

Sometimes Joe let his pride or anger prompt him into doing foolish, risky things. Glad you enjoyed the story. And I am familiar with the weather phenomena of El Nino and how it fects hurricane formation in the Atlantic, my side of the country.

Date: 04/24/2017 - 05:51 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

I love the support Adam gave to Joe. Even though I think his decision to ride the bull was much dumber then any decision he'd really ever make. ;) He made some poor choices, but not that poor!



Author's Response:

Joe and his pride! And Ben agrres wth you--riding th bull was dumb! (And Joe made any poor choices in trying to rove himself.)

Date: 05/26/2016 - 06:12 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Haha! Love the ending, Adamant; a wonderful story. This may sound funny, but I thought it was nice to see Adam cursing for once. Most people think he would be above all that, but he was a cowboy, of course he would be able to swear with the best of them! ;)



Author's Response:

So glad that the realism of the C's cursing didn't offend you--it does some readers but I agree with you. The C's were men and worked with other men so they would curse--as long as no  female was around. Also glad that you saw the humor in what could have been a serious if not deadly event because I tried to keep it light.

Thank you for reading and the positive review.

Date: 04/08/2015 - 02:56 am [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: pam Signed
beautiful story you did a imazing job at writting it

Author's Response:

Thank you, Pam, for reading.

Date: 09/17/2014 - 07:42 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: Gillie Signed
Very realistic! My favorite stories are ones like this one that makes me feel like I'm right there with all the action! We'll done, ant!!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie. Some don't like the realism and would probably have wanted a differnt ending but this seemed the best. Thanks for the encouragement.  :-)

Date: 09/05/2014 - 10:41 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: kima10 Signed

Nice story. I really liked the interaction between Adam and Joe. Funny and caring and at other times humorous.



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed it. And I'm glad you liked the relationships between the brothers, kima10. I tried to makes it light-hearted and amusing as sometimes, you just need a break from drama.

Date: 08/16/2014 - 02:33 am [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: pookaire Signed

Snappy comebacks between the boys.  Really enjoyed that.  I could clearly picture their facial expressions as they fussed and fretted. Loved the humour.



Author's Response:

I wanted to make it light-hearted and fun. So glad you enjoyed it--thanks for taking the time to read.

Date: 08/08/2014 - 01:56 am [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Great family story, Adamant. I love it when the Cartwrights all band together to support one another. Thanks for sharing :0)

Author's Response:

THak you, bahj, for taking the time to read it. I tried to get all the C's into this one and still keep them as individuals.

Date: 08/07/2014 - 04:42 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: daisy60 Signed
That was a cute story! I love the Joe/ Adam commentary. Good ending.

Author's Response:

I'm very glad you likeed it, daisy. Thanks forletting me know.

Date: 08/07/2014 - 01:25 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: Tracy Signed

“What the hell were you thinkin’, boy?” Adam asked.

 

What a great opening line, drawing the reader immediately into a conflict situation.

 

The dialogue between brothers in El Nino is casual, even when intense - it just plain sounds like three brothers and a father talking to one another. And the voices are undoubtedly those of the Cartwright clan. Joe and Adam's verbal sparring and the action taking place as they do paint a perfectly "Bonanza" scene.

 

This is one of my favorites.

 



Author's Response:

What a nice review, Trcay! I tried for casual and to keep the voices sincere; relieved that it came across that way. So glad that you liked it. ; )

Date: 08/07/2014 - 11:08 am [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: Bertha Signed

Thanks!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading.

Date: 08/03/2014 - 07:26 pm [Report This]
Title: El Nino Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Great story with some realistic talk by the four men.  Adam seemed not so sure of himself as the story developed compared to the beginning so I guess he was just trying to rile Joe at first.  Good leason learned for Joe but he probably needed a lot more of them.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Betty. I appreciate that you took the time to read it leave a review and a rating.

Date: 08/02/2014 - 05:36 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.