You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Child Reviewer: Karol Signed

 

Interesting story of a man who has to find his way around the world after his beloved wife dies and leaves him a little boy. This is not easy, but finally the beginning is made. A beautiful story of Ben and Little Adam.

I enjoyed reading this story!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked this little vignette. Thank you for choosing it, Karol.

Date: 09/17/2019 - 03:33 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Lisal Signed

This brought tears to my eyes and that statement is honest - just like this brutally honest and human story.  Ben's grief and reluctance with Adam was painful but believable and it made the emotion of watching him come round and finally love his son(while finding hope again) all that much stronger.  

Your writing is so tight and efficient - but never bland or unimaginative.  Reading pulled me fully into the dream without feeling as if I put in any effort at all.

 

I read this for the reading challenge because we're supposed to revisit an old favorite.  While this is the first time I've read this particular story of yours, you've become an author who never disappoints.  You are a favorite for sure.



Author's Response:

Thank you for choosig to read this -- and it is short, to be sure, but it was written for a purpose -- to remember the actor/s. Although mothers often fall immediately in love with their newborns, for fathers, it must take a while to accept the dependent, little alien being and to love it -- to truly fall hopelessly in love. That was the idea I worked with and wanted to convey.

Date: 08/10/2019 - 08:19 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Wow!  I loved this so much!

This is truly an inspired story.   Even the title is simple and perfect.  What a lovely memorial for Pernell.  I believe he was born to play Adam Cartwright and that seed was in him....destiny. 

Amazed at your summary of "Paradise Lost."  Fabulous!  Spot on!  Tony Lawrence would be proud.

Your great writing skills evokes emotion in the reader.

You examined Ben's grief and inner struggles so tenderly and delicately.

Adamant...I really believe this story should be posted on the Main Forum every year on Pernell's birthday.  It's that good!

Your love and honor for Pernell leaps out from the pages...

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for finding this short, little story I wrote for PR. I always wondered about Ben having to deal with a newborn -- they are such alien-type beings -- since he had no real experience and he had just suffered such a great loss. 

I don't know that PR would have agreed he was born to play Adam, but I am thankful he did. I appreciate your praise and that you like this so much. Thank you for your review. 

Date: 05/28/2018 - 11:28 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A sweet and poignant story



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading.

Date: 04/07/2018 - 03:57 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Smorgana Signed

I like this sweet short tale of endings and beginnings.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Smorgana, for reading. Glad you like it.

Date: 03/11/2018 - 09:56 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Julianna Signed

A special moment is what you have captured. you have to wonder how much love and attention, Adam actually got. I like the info about the diapers from back then. I wonder if they use to add stuff to the milk back then too. I know I was told by my husband's grandmother she would add ferina to make it filling with some honey. I liked your story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Julianna, for reading and commenting. Glad that you liked th story and enjoyed the bit of diaper history! I remember when I was a child, hearing that mothers would put a bit of cereal into an older baby's milk bottle (with a specialized nipple that had larger "cereal" holes) in order to keep the baby fuller, longer, so that it would sleep through the night.

Date: 04/22/2017 - 11:53 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This story was so touching!  It must have been so difficult for Ben taking care of Adam while grieving for Elizabeth.  I think this story portrays that very well.



Author's Response:

Thank you for leaving a review and for reading. It's always much appreciated.

Date: 03/09/2017 - 10:17 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Aww! I'm so glad that Ben had that epiphany and stopped thinking of Adam only as "the child". Great job, Adamant!



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to read and to leave a review, Annie K. Bonding with a child is not often immediate.

Date: 02/04/2017 - 06:43 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: JFCfan Signed

Nice to have a "missing scene" as it were for Elizabeth, My Love.



Author's Response:

It must have been hard for Ben--for anyone in his situation. Thanks for reading. JFCfan.

Date: 09/28/2016 - 06:01 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Lisa Signed

I love this story. It's good that Ben could open his heart after such a devastating loss.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you liked it and took the time to let me know. It must have been difficult for Ben and infants seem so alien at first. : )

Date: 09/17/2016 - 05:52 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: BBG Signed

I don't know how I missed this but am so glad it found its way into the reading program for all to enjoy.  It is so short and powerful, I don't know how anyone can keep from submitting a spoiler.  My firstborn is now 51 years old and still a delight;  however, after her birth, there was new found trouble.  I was 900 miles away from home, in a hot house of emotion and summer heat with only a tiny fan, no shade from a tree, no money, finally determining I was already doomed in a unhappy marriage to a selfish stubborn spoiled brute.  I can emphatize with Ben on his confusion and lonliness and grief.  But we both made it.  I love the phrase Ben spoke outloud to Adam, "And I suppose that you’ll be as unfathomable as the sea, hiding so much beneath the surface.”  How true a prediction he made for a tiny newborn infant!  You have a talent for sure!!!  BBG



Author's Response:

Thank you, BBG. You also understand that although the birth of a child is a wonderful thing, it's not always all goodness and light; other factors play into accepting the responsibility of raising and caring for anothe life--especially one so helpless and with so many needs when the parent(s) is needy themself.  And Ben, who needed comfort himself, rose to the challenge of taking care of the child who to him, was not yet a "person" until the end.

Thank you for sharing your experience which helped you understand what being alone with a newborn is like--it's scary and overwhelming. And now you can see how you were blessed.

Date: 10/02/2015 - 08:34 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: october Signed

Touching story - I felt very moved reading it.



Author's Response:

I'm pleased that the story touched your emotions. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Date: 09/26/2015 - 10:19 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"The Child" is a touching scene of grief, helplessness, and eventually, promise.

Adamant has woven into few words many of Ben and Adam's characteristics, leaving the reader saddened by their loss and anxious for their future.

Wonderful story, Adamant.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy, for reviewing the story and holding such a good opinion of this little piece. : )

Date: 09/22/2015 - 06:40 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: imthemom Signed

Great sotry. For me it holds to the premise that Ben was a very tender and caring father to his sons..



Author's Response:

I agree that Ben was a tender and caring father; he accepted the responsibilities that go with raising a child without a mother. Thanks for reading.

Date: 09/22/2015 - 02:25 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Sharry Signed

This was every bit as emotionally charged as I thought it might be.  Truthfully, I don't know how Ben did it, other than he didn't have much choice. 

I had noticed the title and the story previously, and feared reading it as I could guess it would make me sad.  It did, but it was worth the read.  I just had to be ready for it.  I felt his fatigue, and saw just enough of his grief...  It was a wonderful new beginning story, Adamant. 

My favorite line - "And I suppose that you’ll be as unfathomable as the sea, hiding so much beneath the surface.”  Definitely sounds like Adam.  Thank you. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Sharry, for reading and leaving a review. I never think of this as a sad story but as one in which Ben connects with his infant son, something that people always assume comes naturally but it doesn't always, especially for men. But I wanted Ben to have an epiphany that opens his heart. Glad that you took the time to read it.

Date: 09/21/2015 - 10:53 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Wow, what a great story of Ben dealing with Adam after Elizabeth's death.  THanks for sharing with us, ant.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, LMC. Glad that you liked it.

Date: 09/21/2015 - 07:20 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

I am sure Ben's thoughts must have been all over the place when he first lost Elizabeth and it most likely was hard for him to bond with Adam. But, knowing Ben's strong feelings about family, he would have quickly started to feel love for his baby boy and would see he still had a future to work towards.

Little Joe forever

Lynne

 



Author's Response:

First, thank you for chosing this story to read. And you're correct. Sometimes infants seem so hard to connect with and one has to slowly bond. And we all know that did bond wth Adam.

Date: 02/16/2015 - 12:42 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Adam and Joseph Signed

So sweet, thank you, Adamant!

LuvAdam9



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you for the comments.

Date: 01/28/2015 - 02:51 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

A sweet little story and how I rather think Ben must have felt, at first. He had lost his wife, the love of his life, and all he had in her place was a baby. But, once he really started to look at Adam, he realised that while he had him, he did still have some of Elizabeth with him, after all, and he owed it to his wife to do as they had planned and head west where their son could grow tall and strong

Little Joe forever

Lynne



Author's Response:

I thought that any parent might feel that way when faced with a small human but Ben would find a way to deal with his loss--and his gain. Thank you for reading this story and leaving your thoughts.

Date: 10/17/2014 - 08:36 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Beautiful story



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you.

Date: 10/06/2014 - 05:08 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Beautiful story

Date: 10/06/2014 - 05:07 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: vlnelson55 Signed

This was a very sweet and touching story.  I've read it over and over.

Date: 07/19/2014 - 03:26 am [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: pkmoonshine Signed

Great story and a tribute very fitting to Pernell Roberts.  I thought you did an excellent job in conveying the raw freshness of Ben's grief, even anger, at losing Elizabeth, and as well as that tiny spark of hope and healing when he takes a good hard look at his son for the very first time.  Thank you for sharing.

Date: 07/16/2014 - 07:28 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Lovely story



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to read.

Date: 07/09/2014 - 05:10 pm [Report This]
Title: The Child Reviewer: indiana Signed

so sad....but so full of Hope and life. It's a beautiful story. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading. Evey year I write a story in memory of PR; I wanted this one to be about the beginning of life, not the end. I appreciate your generous praise.

Date: 01/17/2014 - 12:12 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.