Reviews For One
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A sweet story.  Treasured memories of a Christmas long ago.

Date: 11/23/2018 - 11:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

That was lovely

Date: 07/17/2014 - 02:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

TLR l am just back tracking on the Summer Writers Forum and have for the first time read this lovely poignant story, a real Christmas message, especially significant in this age when so many children get so much whether  expected or not, the bond between Ben and Adam is so strong...so much love is given in a self made gift, money has nothing to do with it, which you made so clear.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading it, Ansinico. I'm glad you liked the ideas in the story. They started out with nothing, then their goals and dreams came true, and they never forgot their early hard times, because it shows in how they treat others struggling or down on their luck.

Date: 08/04/2013 - 05:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed
A heart warming story about Christmases past that portrayed the love and dreams between Ben and his eldest son when he was little. It showed how close they both were together and I liked how you had Adam sharing the story with the schoolchildren and Ben recalling the same events to Joe.

Author's Response:

Bejules, thank you for your nice words. I thought that might be a good way to tell both sides of the story.

Date: 07/26/2013 - 07:11 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
TLR, this story really touched me. It's no secret that I love Christmas, and stories like this are part of the reason why. What a wonderful story full of love and precious memories. Who knew Adam was such a softie :0) Loved it!

Author's Response:

Thanks again, Bahj. When it came to writing  Christmas stories, I didn't think I would write one about the Cartwrights, because there were so many good ones, but then I thought I would give it a try, because there are so many warm feelings about Christmas.

Date: 07/26/2013 - 02:30 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
This was a sweet story about the innocence of childhood. I liked how Hoss listened with pride as Adam told the class his Christmas story. I also liked how Joe was impressed that Adam could possibly have been "littler than he," at the time of Ben's story. It brings back the true meaning of Christmas to all of us-it's not the material things you receive, it's the love from the giver that is the true gift.

Author's Response:

JoesGal, I'm glad the story got it right on the part about the best gifts being free. I think that's why they became such a generous family, because they'd started out with so little and endured hardship too.

Date: 07/26/2013 - 02:08 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Patina Signed

I enjoyed re-reading your story, TLR.  As Ben reminded Adam in Elizabeth My Love, "memories and dreamsare precious things."   



Author's Response:

Thanks, Patina. That's what I thought too, as I was writing it.

Date: 07/25/2013 - 11:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

A lovely story. Gifts from the heart.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Adamant. It means a lot that you read it.

Date: 07/23/2013 - 09:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

They had their dreams...and each other. Boy that gets me every time. I like how you gave me both sides to that winter day so long ago. Ben and Adam each hold the memory as close as the bond for each other.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Calamity. I wanted to bring up a memory they had of when Adam was the only child, and how different it was compared to the later years.

Date: 07/22/2013 - 06:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed
Wow, I loved your story, TLR! The love of the Cartwrights for each other was a wonderful thing that I've carried with me since I first saw Bonanza in 1959. You've captured a lovely moment and made it very real! Bravo!

Author's Response:

That's a nice feeling coming from you, Gillie. I'm glad it seemed real to you.

Date: 07/20/2013 - 01:08 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

WOW... that was a great story TLR.  Good to see Adam and Ben thinking on the same thing and cherishing those memories. Thanks for sharing with us 



Author's Response:

Nice of you to read it and leave a review, lovemychico. I think their shared memories meant a lot to them.

Date: 07/20/2013 - 12:16 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: steffie1304 Signed

What a lovely story, TLR! Gifts that cost no money are the most precious ones. I liked that both shared the same dream of having a home. Well done! 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading the story, Steffie, and for the review. Yes, that dream meant so much, and they went through so much for it.

Date: 07/19/2013 - 06:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

That is a wonderful parallel story with Adam and his Christmas memory, and Ben with his and they are so much alike in emotion.  Bravo.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Betty. I do believe they cared about the same things quite often.

Date: 07/19/2013 - 05:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

This story really touched me. Gifts are so special when it is given from the heart and made with love!!!



Author's Response:

I feel the same way, mo. I'm glad the story touched you that way.

Date: 06/07/2013 - 05:07 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

great story I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response:

Pam, I appreciate your time in reading and leaving a review.

Date: 01/15/2013 - 11:43 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: LornesGirl Signed

Such a touching story. Love is truely a special gift money can't by. Thanks so much for sharing.



Author's Response:

You're welcome, LornesGirl, thank you so much for reading the story and reviewing it too.

Date: 01/10/2013 - 07:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, thanks



Author's Response:

You're welcome, Bertha. Thanks for reading it.

Date: 01/09/2013 - 10:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Patina Signed

Fantastic little story, TLR!  A dream envisioned and later realized. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Patina. It really means a lot when readers take the time to say something about a story.

Date: 01/09/2013 - 12:20 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Thank you for sharing this story, it brings a tear to my eye when I think of the times that Adam and Ben have shared.



Author's Response:

I know, Calamity, they must have weathered a lot together.

Date: 01/04/2013 - 05:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lyn R Signed

Beautiful, the best gifts have nothing to do with money

thank you

Lyn



Author's Response:

Lyn R, thank you for reading and reviewing. I agree with you on the value of gifts.

Date: 01/04/2013 - 08:27 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.