Reviews For Pere Noel
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A nice Christmas story.  Ben's in a bad mood and his boys try to cheer him up.



Author's Response:

Good summary. Thanks for reading.

Date: 11/24/2018 - 12:56 am [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Sharry Signed

 

Well now - Ben sure was grumpy initially.  The boys found a good use for his favorite pipe and turned his whole mood around.  Good for them!  

Cute, uplifting story for the holiday season.  Thank you for the smile.  (And I can envision the snowman.) 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Sharry. And that's all it was meant to be -- just a little, pleasant holiday story to hopefully, engender a smile. 

Date: 12/26/2017 - 11:27 am [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

I so enjoyed this story. You've done a good job evoking the atmosphere of post-snowstorm restlessness. Even the most loving of families can get testy when trapped in a small space for a long time! Having lived through many winters in a cozy little house with active younger brothers, I can attest to the realism here. ;) 

I appreciate your likeable but slightly sharp-tongued Marie. She fits well with the characterization we see in Marie, My Love...a woman that cynical doesn't magically turn into perfect-sweet-frontier-mama-embodiment-of-spring overnight, and I imagine that even after several years of marriage, she wasn't slow to speak her mind about things. 

The ending is adorable. I especially like Adam's sheepishness and Joe's burst of excitement: "I made the head! And Adam, he made the bottom part and Hoss made the middle part and I made the head!" <3 

Thanks for another enjoyable story. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed this story. It is difficult for children to be confined due to bad weaher and I tried to convey that; it appears, from your review, I did.  I'm also pleased the end was "adorable", and hopefully successful. Thank you for reading and for leaving such a nice review.

Date: 12/11/2017 - 03:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: pegasus Signed

I love this story! Thanks for sharing it with us this Chrismas! Pa had every reason to be grumpy -- but he's so lucky to have his wonderful, rambunctious family.



Author's Response:

Thanks, peg. If I were Ben, I'd be grumpy too and adults and children see the holidays differently. I know because I used to be a child! Merry Christmas.

Date: 12/10/2017 - 03:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: ansinico Signed

A second read of this story is by no means time wasted in fact, the rerun is even more enjoyable.



Author's Response:

Appreciate the repeat read. Thanks, ansi.

Date: 12/10/2017 - 02:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

What a heart-warming story! I especially like Marie's way of dealing with crabby Ben...she's so snarky, it's great!



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed a "might have been that way" sequel. Thanks for reading and reviewing,

Date: 10/06/2017 - 09:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Penny Signed

I guess Ben found his pipe!!!!!!!!!!!  CUTE XMAS STORY.  thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you--it was for a Penning with Prompts and I just added more to it to post here.

Date: 09/21/2013 - 12:20 am [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Calamity Signed

The perfect title brought me right into Ben's bad day. He is fortunate to have such a loving family. It was nice to see him with Marie and the boys during the holidays and to have him remembering to think of others. Thank you for sharing this lovely holiday story. 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you liked it, Calamity. I'm not  a big "Holiday" writer--it's too easy to get an emotional reaction--but I wanted to show how holidays can be made more enjoyable through the eyes of a child. Thank you for taking the time to read and conmment.

Date: 12/22/2012 - 08:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Patina Signed
Guess Ben got coal in his stocking.

Author's Response:

That would be the logical conclusion!

Date: 12/15/2012 - 11:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: pam Signed

wow that is a really good story for a christmas tale... GREAT job adamant



Author's Response:

Thank you, Pam. So glad that you enjoyed it.

Date: 12/15/2012 - 05:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Reading this today Ant, after the horror of yesterday, no need to try and explain how l feel inside, but this lovely story has helped,...thanks.



Author's Response:

I hope that this little story helped you regain some equanimity. Thank you for lrtting me know and for reading.

Date: 12/15/2012 - 01:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Awww, what a great Christmas story. One big cramped, edgy, happy family, Lol. I really enjoyed this Adamant. Thank you for this Christmas smile :0)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Bahj, for such nice comments. Glad that it made you smile.

Date: 12/14/2012 - 03:27 am [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: gf3 Signed

There must have been some magic in that pipe!



Author's Response:

I think everyone who smokes one has a favorite pipe--it represented Pa to Joe.

Date: 12/13/2012 - 02:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading.

Date: 12/12/2012 - 10:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Sweet story for the season.  Ho Ho Ho



Author's Response:

Glad that you thought so. Thank you.

Date: 12/12/2012 - 09:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Adamant - what a perfect Christmas tale. A household with three young, snowbound boys, a rancher filled with worries for his cattle and his hands, and a wife left to deal with a missing cook and anxious males . . . How could it be anything but the way you've written this?

Ben losing his temper, Marie responding in kind, the boys at each other last nerve . . . and still the loving, caring Cartwrights we all love.

Bravo!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy. I hoped that I had kept them in character as younger Cartwrights. Its hard to keep children entertained in situations such as this and tried to remember what it was like--and at Christmas.

Date: 12/12/2012 - 09:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Gillie Signed
Great story, ant. You describe so well the rigors of parenting small boys! I also enjoyed Marie's sarcastic-edged humor! Great Christmas read!!

Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting, Gillie. There are rigors in raising chidren and trying to keep them entertained during such a time is always hard. Thanks for reading as well.

Date: 12/12/2012 - 06:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: Frannie Signed

Nice one, Ant!

I love how a small thing as building a snowman can change someone's mood! The miracle of kids!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you thought it was a nice story. Just a little Christmas piece. And children are a miracle, Frannie--and sometimes a pain! :-D

Date: 12/12/2012 - 05:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Pere Noel Reviewer: TLR Signed

This is a precious Christmas story, Adamant. Without giving it away, I liked the 3 parts of the you-know-what best.



Author's Response:

Thank you, TLR, for reading this little piece. The we-know-what is a symbol of unity--at least that was my intent.

Date: 12/12/2012 - 12:01 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.