Reviews For Gettysburg
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

A very unique story.

I really like the approach you took with this.  Nice!

For me, there is a happy ending. 😊

Sweet, endearing and very well done.

 

Date: 02/06/2019 - 05:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Wow what a story. I enjoyed it very much.



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot, mo. I'm very glad you liked this little story.

Date: 02/18/2013 - 10:39 am [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: ljac Signed

What an incredible story.  Your talent for structure is just amazing.  So sad, but somehow comforting at the same time.



Author's Response:

Gosh, that's exactly what I was striving for: sad but comforting. So glad you faound it so, ljac! Thank you so much for your terrific review!

Date: 01/08/2013 - 10:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: pam Signed

wonderful story I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response:

I'm glad you did, pam! Thanks a lot for your kind words!

Date: 11/17/2012 - 08:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: Gillie Signed
Intriguing, faust, and beautifully written. I'm not sure I understood it completely. He did have a wife in child in real life, no?

Author's Response:

No, he didn't. In a way this was an attempt of making the whole Art-universe a dream--or even an after-life experience. I don't want to explain too much, for I think part of the story is that you can'tbe sure which reality is the..er...real one. In a way he dreamt of a family he never had and of the effect his decision would have had on that family. Then, in eternity, he was offered the life he secretly yearned for, and his previous dream made him decide differently. I do agree it's easier to understand if you've come up with it yourself... LOL

Anyway, thanks a lot for your kind review, Gillie! I'm glad you enjoyed the read despite the confusion.

Date: 11/17/2012 - 05:39 am [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: TLR Signed

A really lovely and melodic story with so much emotion, Faust. I enjoyed the situations.



Author's Response:

Thank you, TLR! I'm very glad you noticed the melody. I heard the melody before the story had words. I had an idea, and the melody--then the words came.

Date: 11/17/2012 - 02:23 am [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: lady cat Signed

A really wonderful story. Is it real or is it a dream?



Author's Response:

The visions of a dying man, lady cat. And a decision made in the afterlife.

It's an "What if the Art-universe was just a figment of Adam's imagination while he was dying?" in a way. Something triggered by regrets, perhaps. And a 'wish come true' in the Beyond. Something like that.

It was a play with realities, and an attempt at writing a death fiction with a somewhat happy ending.

I'm glad you liked it despite the confusion. Thanks a lot for reading it -- and for the kind review!

Date: 11/16/2012 - 06:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Gettysburg Reviewer: Patina Signed

Heartbreakingly beautiful, Faust.  You tell us so much about the Cartwrights in so few words and yet everything that needs to be said is.  Fantastic portrait of each Cartwright (Juliet and Henry are Cartwrights, too!) and the single thread connecting them all.  Brava.



Author's Response:

Patina, thanks a lot!

I'm so glad this worked for you. It feels a bit like coming back to my roots: the style is very much like my first stories, I think. It's funny, I heard the cadence, the rhythm, the...melody of the story in my head even before the actual words were there. It really was like in those first days of writing, when I had a certain feeling that somehow transformed into words merely on its own. Perhaps I should go back to those shorter pieces -- I feel very much at home with them. Well, after the long shot is completed. <sigh>

Date: 11/16/2012 - 12:13 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.