Reviews For Engravings
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Engravings Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

I never imagined Linda already engaged when she met Ben. From the way they talked about the incident in the episode, I assumed that she pursued Ben originally, but chose to jump ship when a more attractive prospect crossed her path. 

That said, there were several things I liked very much about this story.

For one, having Ben and Adam travel overland to New Orleans instead of by clipper was fascinating. I've rarely seen writers depict Ben's (many) trips to New Orleans as land journeys, but taking the expense of ship fares into account, I think it deserves to be considered. 

Secondly, the characterization. Adam, I feel, is the best--a perfect 10-year-old version of his wary, incisive self. Despite his politeness, I don't think he ever liked Linda, and you bring that across so well. You've created an intriguing younger version of the Linda we see in "The Countess"--manipulative and charming, but slightly less practiced in playing a part. Her dismay at the thought of a rustic life rings true. :) Ben is obviously a loving father and an attractive, manly fellow, and you've managed to reveal the trusting, oblivious streak that allows him to fall for women like Linda without violating his dignity. 

I especially appreciate your portrayal of Adam's concern at the beginning: "if something bad was going to happen on the trip, he wanted to be there when it happened.... What if his father just disappeared and never returned? Adam's mind ran ahead as to how he, Hop Sing and Hoss would manage with his father dead." That's exactly the way I thought and felt as a child. I think it's probably common for children who have experienced major loss (especially death) early in life. It gave me strong sympathy with young Adam from the start of the story. 

Thank you, Adamant!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review and your take on the plot and characters. Whenever I see the episode, "The Countess," it always strikes me that Adam is polite to Linda but not perticularly pleased to see her again nor she, him.  And their earlier meeting in New Orleans when Adam was almost 11 created part of the plot. Also, in "Marie, my Love," Ben is there to sell furs (Part of the plot momentum in another story) so why not then as well?

It's good to hear that young Adam is not portrayed as an overly-fearful child but as one who realizes that bad things can happen to anyone. And although Linda is the villain, I wanted her motivations to be understandable.

Thanks for reading and for leaving a review that indicates thoughtful reflection.

Date: 11/04/2017 - 06:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I really like this explanation of Ben and Linda's history...and the engravings on the invitations! Adam shows a mature wisdom for one so young; I think that makes a lot of sense with the way he has had to grow up fast and help Ben with little Hoss and the ranch.  Great story!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked this despite its rating. And I think Adam did mature early in character because he had so many responsibilities so young. Thanks for leaving a review.

Date: 10/14/2017 - 02:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Great backstory for that episode, and you have captured the conniving wench Linda Lawrence perfectly.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Betty, for reviewing. I had forgotten this story a bit and so looked at it and I apologize for the typos--I need to go thorough and edit it. Thanks for that!

Date: 01/25/2015 - 05:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: Penny Signed

Ben sounds very relieved that Linda's plans didn't work out. Even as a boy Adam could see through people! Good Story - Good Read.



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked it. Had to write a story about Looney Linda! And Adam could see through her--I took that from the episode and the way Linda and Adam look at one another and exchange greetings.

Date: 09/20/2013 - 11:36 am [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Adam is very  smart for his age and he saw right through Linda and she knew it. Great story



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked it. Thanks for taking the time to read it. And Adam was/is perceptive.

Date: 02/12/2013 - 12:11 am [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

I enjoyed reading about Linda and Ben's encounter in New Orleans!  A very realistic portrayal and I also liked seeing young Adam here.



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29--I'm glad you enjoyed it. I also like a young Adam, old Adam and Adam-in-betweeen.

Date: 11/04/2012 - 12:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Perfect. I can just see the young Adam in fear of losing his father. Ben was easily swept off his feet but he did lose two wives and was a lonely man. The scene on the ranch was heartwarming and little Hoss was just adorable. What a lucky man is Ben to  have found Hop Sing. 

This is the kind of back-story I can believe really happened before she became the cold and calculating Countess. I still think Ben should have slapped that woman. Still, you have captured her character completely and I found myself picturing every scene as if it really happened. 

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading the story and for leaving a review. The Countess was a calculating woman, only thinking of herself so she must have always been that way, determined to have what she wanted, trying to destroy any obstacles. I'm glad that you found the back story believeable, Calamity.

Date: 10/29/2012 - 12:13 am [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: ansinico Signed

l knew this was going to be good...so with a cup of green tea and a slice of lemon drizzle cake, l darkened and enlarged the script and sat back, now, was l going to be disappointed?

A ravishing read, everything so entirely believable, the explanation story, Ben being almost swept off of his feet, and then swept away, thankfully she was such a shallow 'biddy' and not as calculating as she thought, how well her emotions gave credence to the episode, also how easily Ben's head was turned by a pretty face and shapely hips covered in swishy satin...put's me in mind of his 'son-to-be.'..Little Joe didn't get all his traits from his mother!!

Adam, well Adam was spot on perfect, could see the miniMIB developing, careful, cunning, always on gonna be one step ahead of the game.

So was l disappionted...a resounding NO.

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you thought it was a good read. I am also happy that you thought the Adam and Ben were in character and that it was a credible back story. Thank you muchly for reading and leaving a comment. ansinico.

Date: 10/28/2012 - 01:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: pam Signed

Wow that was a wonderful story U make them so interesting....I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you enjoyed it, Pam. Thank you for letting me know.

Date: 10/27/2012 - 10:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: Frannie Signed

You definitely have Adam down pat, Ant! I agree with it being a good backstory. 

*Great* job!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Frannie. I'm glad that you found it a credible backstory. :-)

Date: 10/26/2012 - 04:07 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: Bertha Signed

veery good story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

Date: 10/26/2012 - 01:13 am [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: praterfarms1 Signed
Very believable explanation of the Countess. This is now my back story for Linda.

Author's Response:

So glad, PF, that the story was credible. Since the writers of "The Countess" really threw the Cartwright history for a loop, I tried to make it all reconcile. Thanks for commenting.

Date: 10/24/2012 - 08:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Engravings Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"Winning Adam over" is a battle lost from the start. I think the same could be said for Joe and Hoss. Protecting their father and one another seems engrained in the Cartwright sons, and any woman who thinks she can worm her way into those relationships is sorely mistaken.

Ben is perfect in this story. He's younger than we know him, except for the flashback/wife episodes, and his parental instincts are tested in this story by a woman who cares nothing for his children.

Adam is a mini-version of the Adam we know - you write him so well, Ant!

The story completes the circle of questions we've had since The Countess, and Linda's character is a younger version of the loonacy we knew in the episode.

Very well done, Adamant.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy, for such a generous review. I tried to keep "Looney Linda's" megalomania intact and I appreciate that you felt that Ben and Adam were in character, esp. Adam since he was a child when the back story occurred--not quite 11, Ben had said in "The Countess." The ending was obvious--they didn't marry--it was just figuring out how the broken engagement fell apart (and how they became engaged in the first place!)

Thank you for reading and leaving a review.

Date: 10/24/2012 - 12:36 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.