You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I really enjoyed this story!  It's far more than just a mystery story---it shows Roy not just as sheriff but also as a man still deeply in love with his departed wife.  He may not have known quite what to do with incorrigible Little Joe during the visit, but he does his best to care for him as if he were his own son. 

Date: 03/06/2017 - 01:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: shaggy1581 Signed

Nice story. Great to read a story with Roy, don't think that there are many. Great job!

Date: 01/10/2015 - 11:36 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: SNlover09 Signed
Excellent story!! It was nice reading one with Roy. Great job!!! :)

Author's Response:

Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner.  Thanks for reading and leaving your review and happy that you enjoyed Roy in it.

Date: 10/28/2012 - 07:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I just love reading about things that go bump in the night. Great title for a wonderfully scary story. Thanks for sharing this, it's always a pleasure to see how Roy is going to handle Little Joe.



Author's Response:

Sorry for not gettting back sooner Cal!  Thanks for reading and reviewing my story and glad to see you liked it - Thanks

Date: 10/28/2012 - 06:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pbeaking Signed

This was a wonderful story! I started reading and I just could not stop. If always amazes me that Sheriff Coffee doesn't get more attention in Fan Fiction stories. You made him shine! 



Author's Response:

Sorry I've taken a while to respond to you.  Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review and glad I had you hooked in reading my story and glad you like Roy in the story.

Date: 10/28/2012 - 11:30 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Jules, I love your story.  I see that Joe started young with his "stubbornness", as in nothing could keep him down, LOL.  He was brave to get out of that bed and try and find Roy.  I just wonder if Ben ever left Joe with Roy anymore though. :)  You had me hooked from the first sentence and loved it all the way through. The ending was great.  I wish we could have "met" Mary on the show.



Author's Response:
Date: 10/26/2012 - 08:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: muffinlulu Signed

Wow that was really good.had me hooked right from the beginning.Nice to read a story where Roy has so much input.He's one of my favourite chrarcters but few stories  have him as one of ther central characters.....and you know how I love LJ potrayed as a small boy so you had me hooked there too..Great job...thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks Muff for your kind words.  Glad I managed to hook from the start and I'm happy I got to write Roy in as the "hero" too.  Nice to see you liked the young LJ; coming from an expert that's a compliment!! Thanks :)

Date: 10/22/2012 - 07:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Thisbirdhasflown Signed

This is an absolutely brilliant story, Bejules. I can't believe how much effort you have put in this challenge.

Your portrayals of Roy and Joe are just dead on, I loved the interaction between them. The insight in Joe's thinking was great and very appropriate for a child, great writing!

Looking after Joe obviously can turn into quite an adventure. I wonder what Ben said, when he got his boy back. And then the end made me tear up a bit. 

Thanks for this wonderful story, I'm going to read this one again!



Author's Response:

What a wonderful review.  Thank you so much TBHF!  Yes I did put a lot into this challenge and as I've said previously it was my first "full" story so I wanted to make it as good as I could.  Glad you thought the characters were spot on too and so happy that you deem my efforts worthy of reading again.  Thank you!!

Date: 10/22/2012 - 10:52 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

That was a lovely story and it was nice that Roy was reunited with Mary--if only for a short time. Nice plot that was interwoven with your given words. Knocked yourself out, doing an "above and beyond the call of duty" story.

Gee, so there was even childhood SJS!



Author's Response:

Thanks for such a nice review Ant.  The plot actually evolved around the three words and as this was going to be my first "full" story I did want to make it work. Couldn't have a story about LJ without a little SJS!! LOL!

Date: 10/21/2012 - 06:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: AgnethaF Signed

Very good, Bejules!  Nice to see a story about Roy!  I could just see Joe as a child.  Roy probably had his hands full with him.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing Agnetha.  Glad you liked the story and yes I guess anyone looking after a young LJ would have their hands full, so you have to feel for Roy!!

Date: 10/21/2012 - 06:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Bejules - this is a great story! You've got the characters of Roy, young Little Joe, and Paul down pat! Loved the addition of Miss Daisy to the mix!

“I can get an apple anytime at home and don’t have to get half drowned to eat it!" - what a cute line!

I liked Roy worrying about Ben's reaction to all of Joe's mishaps - Ben will understand - he knows his son.

And it was nice to see Joe bleeding on something other than the settee!



Author's Response:

Thank you Tracy for your great review.  Glad I managed to make the characters believable for you - this being my first story I didn't know if I'd done them justice.  And yes that settee needed a break from LJ blood LOL :)

Date: 10/21/2012 - 02:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Excellent story Jules, poor Roy, Little Joe was sure a handful, l think Roy was more worried about facing Ben Cartwright than the 'Monster Man'.

Love the way you portrayed the little LJ, his thinking and mannerism, also Roy was spot on.

Well worth the read.



Author's Response:

Thank you ans and happy you liked the story.  Glad you though Roy was spot on and knowing Ben as we do I reckon Roy would be shaking in his boots!!

Date: 10/21/2012 - 12:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Loved your ending. Bejules, this was wonderful! Roy Coffee really shined in the spotlight here, and I love the picture of Little Joe that you drew for us. Adorable and precocious. I always liked Miss Daisy and I'm glad she was included in this story along with Doc Martin. You did an excellent job with your prompt words, and I hope this is the first of many stories by Bejules :0)

Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind review and encouragement bahj :) You certainly set a challenge with the prompt words, but in the end I enjoyed trying to incorporate them into a story.

Date: 10/21/2012 - 04:58 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ping Signed
Great story. I was completely drawn in from the very start. I feel for Roy, having to watch a young Joe Cartwright. That will always lead to a scary situation.

Author's Response:

Thank you ping.  I'm glad you got drawn into the story from the off.  I agree, looking after a young Joe Cartwright is enough on its own to cause nightmares!!!

Date: 10/21/2012 - 04:57 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you Bertha and glad you enjoyed the read

Date: 10/21/2012 - 12:57 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: JoesAussieGal Signed

Great story. Don't think there's been too many stories with Roy being one of the main characters.



Author's Response:

Thanks JAG and glad you enjoyed it.  Sheriff Coffee wouldn't have been my first choice to write about either but from the word prompts we were given for the challenge he had to be a hero.  I actually ended up enjoying writing about him.

Date: 10/20/2012 - 11:57 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.