Reviews For Year of the Snake
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

What a great story the end was not what I was expecting. A quick pace story which was nice for the type of story it turned out to be. I loved the Hop sing dialoge really could imagine hop sing and Adam having the conversation which was in this story.

Date: 04/22/2019 - 05:45 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Just read this again.  Read in 2012 and I see that I still got chills. I am glad Hop Sing was 'there' for Adam.  Thanks for this scary story, Gillie



Author's Response: You're very welcome, lmc! Glad you enjoyed it the second time. Thanks for reviewing. :-)
Date: 01/23/2019 - 06:26 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Love this tender story.

I could picture Adam in the room so vividly.  Hop Sing did have a special fondness for Adam and you captured it so beautifully.  

Very well done...



Author's Response: Thanks, Tahoe Lee! Glad you enjoyed he story!
Date: 10/20/2018 - 04:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This is a wonderfully crafted story: spooky, yet showing the love of Hop Sing for the Cartwrights in such a touching way.  I really enjoyed it.



Author's Response: Thanks for your review Cowgirl and for taking the time to read the story. I love the relationship that Hop Sing has with #1 Son and the whole Cartwright family! Glad you like the story.
Date: 07/27/2017 - 06:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: January Signed

Fabulous Gillie!  Just loved every single word of it.  Glad for our feature "The Reading Club" or I would never have caught this one.

Wonderfully written, sweet and touching story. 



Author's Response: Glad you liked it, and thanks for your review! It was a fun story to write!
Date: 07/21/2017 - 01:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Well, I was definitely not expecting that ending. O.O Great story, Gillie!

Date: 02/05/2017 - 04:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Oh my goodness Gillie, I didn't expect that. Even in death Hop Sing looked out for the Cartwrights. Great story!!!

Date: 06/27/2013 - 07:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Wow -- ghost story with a happy ending.  I love it.  I always liked the Hop Sing character as he seemed to bring reality to bear or remind the others of the right thing to do.



Author's Response: I wanted to write a spooky Halloween story, as per bahj's assignment, and I didn't want to write anything too blood-curdling even tho' it was for Halloween. LOL. So I came up with what I hoped was eerie. Glad you liked the story! Thanks for reading and reviewing, Betty!
Date: 12/23/2012 - 04:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: pegasus Signed

That was a wonderful story, Gillie! This Adam would've been in his 40s, and I can just picture him sitting in that red chair contemplating the mistakes he'd made with his life!

I love the surprise ending. Hop Sing is always right, even in death.

Peg



Author's Response: Thanks, Peg! I did conceive of Adam in his late forties, facing reality at a time when many folks run from their mistakes. And Hop Sing is always right and always there for his family. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 10/22/2012 - 02:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Thisbirdhasflown Signed

You created a wonderfully eerie atmosphere. A sad but good story and I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked the story. I was aiming for "sad and eerie" at the same time! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 10/22/2012 - 11:05 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Patina Signed

Fantastic use of the prompts, Gillie!  This is an eerie little tale that makes me shiver.  Sometimes bonds are never broken.  Again, fantastic storytelling.



Author's Response: Thanks, Patina. Yes!!!! I think that bonds of love are never really broken. Thanks for your review, your feedback, and your help with posting in the library for the first time!
Date: 10/21/2012 - 09:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Tracy Signed

This story brought tears to my eyes. I don't like to think of any of them being gone!

Gillie, you wove a smooth story with no gaps or jolts in the plot - nicely done!



Author's Response: Thanks, Tracy. I hope the story was a mix of sadness over loss, and a bit hopeful about the connections that never die. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: 10/21/2012 - 05:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: SNlover09 Signed
Very good story! I enjoyed reading it and loved the ending! It's the kind of endings you don't see coming. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks, SN! I am glad you enjoyed the story and that the ending was a surprise! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 10/21/2012 - 01:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
I really enjoyed "Year of the Snake," Gillie. The title was very appropriate. You have a wonderful talent for description. I had tears in my eyes, by the end of this story. Keep on writing!

Author's Response: I am glad you liked the story, JG! I was hoping for a mix of a feelings...sad, eerie, loving. Thanks for your encouraging review!
Date: 10/21/2012 - 03:07 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Relsie Signed
Wow. That was a really good story! I liked it a lot even though I hate snakes,

Author's Response: Relsie, glad you liked the story. I think we need to start a "I hate snakes" club. At least Adam put one out of commission! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 10/21/2012 - 01:30 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Gillie, this was fantastic! Of course, I have my own set of reasons to start weeping in the beginning, and then again at the end. The tone for this story was just right . . . eerie. Very surprising ending. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, Bahj. I'm glad you liked it and that the surprise at the end worked for you. I was hoping that it would come across as eerie, but also sad and wistful. Thanks for your review and for hosting the whole thread!
Date: 10/21/2012 - 01:28 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: ping Signed
Great job. I hate snakes, and you sure made me hate them even more. Loved your story.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, Ping. Snakes are not my favorite things either. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 10/21/2012 - 01:28 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, thanks



Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, Bertha. I am glad you liked the story.
Date: 10/21/2012 - 12:32 am [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: pbeaking Signed

I've never been a snake fan and this story just confirms my distaste for them. You did a great job! I'm glad Hop Sing was involved. Thanks for sharing! I like what Ben says at the end. 



Author's Response: Thanks, Paula! i appreciate you reading and reviewing. I'm discovering lots and lots of people don't like snakes.
Date: 10/20/2012 - 11:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Bejules Signed

Good job Gillie. That sent a few tingles down my spine!



Author's Response: Thanks, Jules! You tingled?? That's what I was hoping for. Thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: 10/20/2012 - 10:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Wow...that was intense.  I hate snakes and have learned to control many of my fears but this one...Good job Gillie!



Author's Response: Thanks, Angel. A lot of people (I'm learning) really hate snakes. Glad you liked the story even with the snake. Thanks for commenting!
Date: 10/20/2012 - 06:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

WOW!!! Great story Gillie.  I got chills.



Author's Response: Thanks, lmc! I was hoping for some version of "chilly" as I wrote this. Glad you liked it and thanks for reviewing!
Date: 10/20/2012 - 06:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: AgnethaF Signed

Gillie, thank you for this great story!



Author's Response: Aggie, thanks for your review!! I'm glad you liked it.
Date: 10/20/2012 - 05:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: muffinlulu Signed

Oh my word that sent chills up and down my spine..Great job..You should write more..you're good.



Author's Response: Thanks, Muffin! Glad you liked it. And thanks for the encouragement. Much appreciated!
Date: 10/20/2012 - 05:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Year of the Snake Reviewer: adamant Signed

A ghost from the past to help a loved one. A good story, Gillie. But I didn't like the idea of the deaths of familiar characters.



Author's Response: I don't like deaths of familiar characters either, ant, most of the time. But the idea for this story just kinda happened, and I didn't fight it. I found out after I wrote the rough draft that Victor Sen Yung actually did die a hundred years to the day after the story takes place. Now that was spooky! Thanks for your comments.
Date: 10/20/2012 - 05:18 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.