You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

This is beautiful, Tracy.

You captured Adam's young heart. 

You also captured his deep sadness, just beneath the surface.

Even as a child, he was trying to understand everything.  Remarkable indeed.

I sensed mixed emotions for Ben.  Sadness, absolutely, and maybe even a little shock at things he hadn't realized.  But he was also very proud of his first-born son. 

Beautifully done.

A superb story I would recommend to everyone.  Hands clapping!

 



Author's Response:

Wow. Thank you, Tahoe Lee, for this wonderful review.

Date: 02/01/2019 - 11:32 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Good story!  That is so touching!  :)

Date: 02/27/2018 - 10:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sharry Signed

 

Most of us have wondered how Ben endured so much heartbreak.  I guess having sons like Adam gave him the strength to go on after Marie's death.  

I wasn't sure what 'Independence' referred to when I first began reading.  Adam clarified that for me in his charming essay.  I think it's fair to say he was something of an expert by then.  Regardless, poor Ben - I still don't know how he did it sometimes. 

This little story is a wonderful reminder to be thankful for everything that is good and right while we have it.  Thank you, Tracy.  

Date: 02/22/2018 - 11:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
It’s been 5 years since I’ve read this story (how is that even possible!), and I love it all over again. Adam’s essay rings true of my picture of him as a boy. He’s so stalwart, but you can read the fear and his tears between the lines. That seems to be true of how he manages his emotions through his adult life as well. Excellent writing, Tracy! Thank you again for sharing :0)
Date: 02/21/2018 - 02:31 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Oh! My! Tracy, I don't know about Joe crying all the time but, like Ben, Adam's words - your words brought tears to my eyes.

For me, an important part of writing is if the author's words can evoke emotions of any kind - laughing or crying being two powerful and not easily scripted of these feelings - in this short piece of work you have certainly succeeded. 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, ansinico, for your review. It's good to hear the story moved you. 

Date: 02/14/2018 - 12:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: RedShirt Signed

What a remarkable story.

There's a lot of insight into Adam here. I won't quibble with the timeline, because honestly I'm not too sure myself how old Joe was when the family lost Marie. 

The story flows well. The writing is clear and the voice of the essayist comes through in a way that matches with the age of the character, though (and here again is insight into Adam) the writer has taken care to make the character as mature as possible.  I'm also pleased to see the writer didn't include any potential jealousy between the boys over how long they did, or didn't, have mothers to love.

Yes, this is an intriguing and delightful tale, and the length and style are perfect.

Date: 02/12/2018 - 03:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This story brought tears to my eyes.  The story of all three of Ben's wives retold by Adam is so sweet and so heart-wrenching at the same time!  It helps show the great love Adam has for his Pa and brothers, and the grief he feels with the loss of Elizabeth, Inger, and Marie.

Date: 02/08/2018 - 10:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Tracy, you make me do it a lot, cry.  This is a very sweet story and so Adam like.  Taking things into his own hands and trying to make everyone feel good and not sad.  Thanks for sharing your story with us



Author's Response:

Sorry for the tears, lovemychico! But I do appreciate you reading and reviewing!

Date: 04/07/2014 - 08:32 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a beautiful story. Adam is so wise and understanding when it comes to his family. I loved the letter he wrote for school and I can see why the teacher wanted Ben to read it.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I always see Adam as a serious young boy, and it seemed like that would carry over into his writings at school.

Date: 06/18/2013 - 12:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Absolutely wonderful!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing, BettyHT!

Date: 02/14/2013 - 10:59 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Remarkable indeed! Adam was wise beyond his years, and life forced him to take on so much so young. You've shown us a great example of the type of person that can come from making the most of what life gave him. Thank you so much for sharing this :0)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Bahj, for reading and commenting!

Date: 01/20/2013 - 12:12 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Our Adam, so much deeper emotions than he is given credit for. THe weight of responsibillity he carries on his shoulders is evident here.

Tracy delivers successfully how a young Adam would phrase this in an essay.

So it’s up to me to teach Joe how to get his independence... Then maybe, we can all help Pa. 

For as independent as Adam was, he knew when he neede dhis family and in a case like this was not afraid to ask for their help.

 

 



Author's Response:

angelface - I'm sorry it took me so long to find your review! I'm glad you enjoyed Adam's essay. I'm hoping to write more in this series.

Date: 08/17/2012 - 04:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Wow, Tracy.  GREAT story!  It sounds just like something Adam would right.  Lines like this one, "I didn't want to go in, because I figured Pa would be real sad, but Hop Sing said I had to go in." ring so true and make me laugh and cry at the same time.  Thanks for sharing your story with us.     



Author's Response:

Gillie,

Thank you for reading the first in what i hope will be a collection of Adam's essays. I'm so glad you thought it sounded like him!

Date: 08/16/2012 - 04:08 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Liz Signed

This was such a lovely heartbreaking and heartwarming story.  I can just picture Adam writing something so thoughtful and you could visualize Ben's eyes just welling up.

 

Loved this, thank you!



Author's Response:

Glad you got the reviews worked out, Calamity Liz!

And thank you for reading, reviewing, and enjoying my little story. I'm hoping to continue the essays soon, and maybe do a few from Hoss, Joe, and Ben.

Date: 08/15/2012 - 04:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Crazy Coyote Signed
That is the best summary of the way people shold act I have hear in a long time.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Crazy Coyote.

Date: 08/12/2012 - 11:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

great story thanks for sharing it



Author's Response:

You are very welcome, Pam. And thanks for reading!

Date: 08/10/2012 - 01:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: imthemom Signed

What a wonderful story.  I hope you keep writing.



Author's Response:
Date: 08/09/2012 - 03:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

very good, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Bertha.

Date: 08/08/2012 - 10:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BBG Signed

That was very daring of you, to tackle such an emotional subject.  The boy's mothers were all so distant because they all died and only a few episodes told anything about them.  All the boys ever knew was what someone told them, except for Adam, being the eldest of the three, he knew more and felt more, therefore was able to teach more.  You can tell his heart is heavy but only because it is so full of love.  Thanks for sharing this story.  BBG



Author's Response:

BBG - thank you for reading Adam's essay. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Date: 08/06/2012 - 11:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Frannie Signed

Wow, Trac. Just...wow.

An insight into the boy that Adam became.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, Frannie! Glad you enjoyed it.

Date: 08/06/2012 - 05:12 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

A poignant essay'story that see's into a young Adam's mind. Whe Adam spares Hoss from the information about the new baby's mother dying, which Adam thinks is normal, it is moving. Adam truly is remarkable and so is this story. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adamant. I know Adam kept his feelings inside, but I had to write a story about what he might say if he didn't keep those thoughts locked away.

Date: 08/06/2012 - 02:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: TLR Signed

Tracy, this is so warm and heartbreaking. I think Adam carried a lot on his little shoulders at that time, but thank goodness his pa was there and recognized it. Great story.



Author's Response:

TRL, thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed Adam's essay.

Date: 08/06/2012 - 12:02 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.