Reviews For Home
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Home Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

What a terrifying experience for Joe. Ben knows the pain and anguish of losing not one, but three wives. But for his own son to lose a wife and unborn child, well, I don't think there're any words at all to comfort or soothe that kind of a loss. I'm glad Ben was there, to keep his son from doing something drastic and to take him home again.

Date: 09/03/2019 - 05:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: adamant Signed

Ben is probably the best person to understand Joe's grief and Ben's fear that Joe might do away with himself resuls from Joe having no one for whom to carry on. Ben had his sons, so in a manner, they were his saviors -- keeping in with the religious bent of Ben invoking God to save his son -- sort of a reversal. A story that offers no closure of what may be urelenting grief is difficult to accept as the reader expects some type of closure but we have none. It's not a story I would have chosen to read as there are so many cruel, sad things in life that the murder of a pregnant woman is all the more upsetting and lugubrious. But it was well-written. A good job (for a challenge, perhaps?)

Date: 09/02/2019 - 12:05 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

 

This is as powerful and raw as the episode itself. I liked reading it all from Bens view point as a parent you just want to take the hurt away. Great insight to some really emotional moments.

Date: 09/01/2019 - 03:29 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Drifter Signed

I can’t imagine describing the heartache Joe was facing any more than you have. You’ve truly captured the pain and suffering of Joe through his father’s eyes, who would have never wanted him to have this kind of experience.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Drifter.  This is one of the hardest scenes to watch in the series.  Ben well knows the pain of losing a wife and a child.  

Date: 08/31/2019 - 12:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Whew!  I just read this story and literally don't know what to write in a review.  I think of how deep you had to go to write this and I'm amazed.

You captured unimaginable grief... raw and unbearable and added even more depth to an already powerful script and episode.

Ben knew all too well that words were fleeting.  All he could do was offer Joe his presence.  And that was everything.

Heart-wrenching and beautifully written. 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tahoe Lee.  This scene is one of the hardest to watch in the series as it feels intrusive.  The grief is so raw, for a very real reason.    

Date: 08/31/2019 - 10:28 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Karol Signed

Several emotion thoughts go through Ben's mind as he watches how sad and desperate Joe is. A father who is worried about his youngest son and can only hope that Joe will find his way back to himself and back to life.

A highly emotional theme.

Very nice and interesting written!

I enjoyed reading this story!

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Karol.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed the story.

Date: 08/31/2019 - 08:27 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

Sad and very powerful.story about Joe's loss.Glad that Ben was there for him.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Fan.  Ben couldn't have been anyplace else than with his grieving son.

Date: 08/30/2019 - 05:52 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

A powerful story capturing the depths of loss.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Elizabeth.

Date: 08/29/2019 - 01:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Wow. I...sorry, I don;t know what to say, but wow. Such a powerful little scene. You made me cry.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Annie K.  

Date: 01/15/2018 - 05:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

What a heart-wrenching story.  I loved reading it; thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you, CGAT.

Date: 04/09/2017 - 10:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

Beautiful! I cried! The words you used properly conveyed the story & had me convinced it was all part of the episode. My only wish is that it had been longer & included even more details & more Joe. Thank you very much!



Author's Response:

Thank you, LittleJoe4Ever, for letting me know my story seamlessly fit into the episode.  That's the highest complimennt a writer can receive for a What-Happened-In-Between story. 

Date: 05/24/2016 - 02:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

Poor Joe. He had a lot of angst after losing his wife and unborn child but the one to help him over his loss would be his pa. Ben lost 3 wives and a son. Nobody could understand Joe better than his pa.



Author's Response:

Thank you, daisy.  You're right--Ben knew well the pain of losing a wife and child.  

Date: 07/25/2015 - 08:05 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Wow what a story. You could feel the pain that Joe and Ben was in. No father wants to see his son go through what Little Joe went through.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo.  

Date: 06/27/2013 - 07:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: ljac Signed

You have taken the most heartbreaking scene from Bonanza and given it new depth.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you, ljac.

Date: 01/12/2013 - 03:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: TLR Signed

What a beautiful story, Patina. You put into words those feelings of loss that are hard to describe. Very well-told story from Ben.



Author's Response:

Thank you, TLR.  

Date: 12/05/2012 - 01:06 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: AgnethaF Signed

Great job, Patina!  You captured the true emotion.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Agnetha.

Date: 04/19/2012 - 12:49 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Tracy Signed

I'm sure each of Ben's experiences with losing a wife was unique, and he knew Joe needed the time to go through a certain amount of grieveing alone. Having Ben there when he was ready to let go was the perfect medicine for Joe's shattered heart. Nicely written!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy. Ben understood Ioe's heartache and grief and did the only thing he could--be there for his son.

Date: 04/13/2012 - 11:02 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Gillie Signed

That was lovely, Patina.  I've seen this episode and can remember the scene vividly. I love how you fill in the unspoken thoughts in Ben's heart.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie.  This is one of the hardest scenes to watch in the series.  I'm glad I did it justice.

Date: 04/09/2012 - 05:08 am [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Patina l cannot watch that scene without weeping, you have given it added dimension and perspective, hearing Ben's thoughts, his fears of losing another of his beloved sons, having already lost Hoss, and with Adam so far away.

l anguished over your sympathetic words, an excellent WHN.



Author's Response:

Thank you, ansinico.  I hoped to do this scene justice and you've let me know I did.  This scene was such an emotional wallop.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/07/2012 - 05:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: adamant Signed

A touching story told from Ben's viewpoint; it's always a terrible feeling to be unable to soothe someone else's pain, especially someone you love. And Ben's fear of losing Joe by his own hand would cause fear in any parent. You have captured that.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Ant.  This scene is the one time Ben can't ease his son's pain with a pep talk.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/07/2012 - 02:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: lady cat Signed

A very sad but poignant story. Glad you mention Adam.



Author's Response:

Thank you, lady cat.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Date: 04/06/2012 - 10:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Forever us a hard episode to watch because of the combined tragedy of losing Hoss, no Adam and Joe's heartbreak of losing Alice and the baby. I am glad you included Adam. The moment between Ben and Joe is well done. I could hear their voices and felt the anguish.  Bravo!



Author's Response:

Thank you, AF.  Adam may have been gone but he certainly wasn't forgotten.  I'm so pleased to know my story doesn't detract from this emotional wallop of a scene.

Date: 04/06/2012 - 01:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: Kimberly Signed

Touching story Patina. I am not sure why the director decided to kill Alice, it could have been a better ending to Bonanza series. Anyway, you displayed great words of emotion that Joe felt for this wife. As well as Ben for his son. Sad but wonderful story. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Kimberly.  I hoped I could do this scene justice and not detract from the characters' sorrow.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/06/2012 - 12:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Home Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

You captured Joe's and Ben's sorrow so perfectly here!  Beautifully written!



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd.  I'm so pleased to know my words complement the scene so well.

Date: 04/06/2012 - 01:09 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.