You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Sierras Signed

It's been about three years since I read through this series. I thought I would read through it again the next few days or so.

This story is a nice start to the series. I can imagine little Hoss always wanting a mama, and young Adam having issues with their pa suddenly bringing home a new wife. There is bound to be a battle of the wills.

Date: 03/03/2021 - 01:00 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Sjc calamity Signed

Loved the story 

ADAM sure is loyal to the only mother he knew 

Bit of a shock to Adam how he was introduced his new mother 

so his reaction was understdle 

Date: 04/30/2020 - 05:21 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: IMSLES Signed

Stubborn and poor Adam.  I'm sure having a new mother surprised on him was a bit much.  He has a big heart that he'll just have to open a bit to let her in.

 

~~Sue

Date: 04/28/2020 - 11:58 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Great story!

Adam had issues that Ben didn't understand.

Maybe Adam seen a change in his father when he came back home.  Ben wasn't the same man that had left him.

Hoss was so sweet and welcoming.

You showed Adam to have good intuition even as a boy.

Makes me want to read the reat of the stories in this series.

Good writing!  Good job!

Date: 10/20/2018 - 04:29 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Poignant story.  Those are the kind of reactions that I would expect from Hoss and Adam at suddenly having a new mother.

Date: 03/04/2018 - 02:10 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Sharry Signed

Well - this part of the story is certainly beginning as a true battle of wills.  Adam drew a line in the sand that surprised me as well, although I have to remember how young he was when Marie entered his life. The vantage point is different for him than Hoss.

I can only imagine how Adam felt when his pa came home with not only a new wife, but full of expectations for him to welcome Marie as his new mother.  While Hoss is tickled and agreeable to the idea, Adam is obviously not.  (My favorite line was Adam's response of "I must be" after Marie said to him "You must be Adam.")

It strikes me this might also have been the first time Adam displayed his independence to Ben quite this strongly. Marie handled the situation with equal admiration - I fear it could be a long siege for both of them.  Adam is noticeably pushing Hoss away, too. He appears nothing but determined to make his feelings known to everyone.  I'm going out on a limb and guess there's yet a long way to go for everyone.  

Fun story, Patina!  Thank you.        

Date: 03/27/2017 - 10:17 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Gillie Signed
I just read your story again, patina. It is just as good the second time as it was when I read several years ago back in Oct. 2011. I love the stories about the young Cartwrights! Thanks for posting yours here, patina!
Date: 03/25/2017 - 12:40 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: aristocats Anonymous

Let me first tell you I like your stories. 

I don't think that Ben handled that situation well. It isn't Adam who is selfish, it's Ben. How can he expect from Adam to call a strange woman mother, just because he married her. I can understand that he fell in love and he deserves happiness, but he doesn't show any understanding for his son who already lost two mothers. All he and Marie care is about each other and of course Hoss because he is so easy gping. I really love prequel stories, but I allways get angry at Ben and Marie and the way they treat Adam. It's no wonder Adam was so serious as an adult. Nobody ever considered how he may feel. 

Date: 03/19/2017 - 05:14 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Karol Signed

 

A story as written from real life. I can understand Adam well in this situation. Ben should not have been allowed to act like this - Adam is still a child and had to take responsibility for his little brother. He tries to annoy his stepmother, but she tries to win everything around his heart. Adam now needs especially the love and understanding of his father. It's a difficult situation for everyone, except Hoss. Adam is dissapointed by his father.

 

Thanks Patina for the well written story!

Date: 03/16/2017 - 04:05 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

Loved it.  Adam's refusal of Marie is consistent with what happens frequently when a new parent is introduced.

Date: 03/14/2017 - 09:12 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

When I started this story as a fiction pick, I knew it sounded like i had read it before. I do remember reading it but when I went to look for my review I did not see one. So I read again and now leaving a review: 

I agree that Ben should have told the boys about marring Marie.  I believe I can understand Adam's feelings of not 'liking' Marie and that they were doing well enough on their own.  I tend to believe that Adam's heart will accept Marie in the end.  Thanks for sharing your story with us, patina

Date: 03/14/2017 - 04:55 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

Wow. Who knew that Adam felt this way toward Marie? I would've expected he'd be happy to have a mother. Guess things aren't always what they seem. 

Date: 03/13/2017 - 10:12 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This is a terrific story! I realized today that I'd read several of the "Battle of Wills" series but somehow had missed the first one.  This story provides a wonderful setup for an ongoing drama between Marie and Adam.  She is determined to be a good mother to him; he is just as determined that he doesn't need a mother!

Date: 03/12/2017 - 03:26 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

This is my first series that I started to read.

I could imagine how difficult it has to be to Adam when Pa comes home with a new mother for the kids. I really can understand that Adam turn down Marie. Ben was very straight by telling "thats your mother and you have to accept it". I think Pa could be more sensitive. It is not imaginable for me that Pa let his boys alone for such a long time. That the title of the story is part of a conversation in the story is well written.

Now I'm curious how the story goes on.

Thanks for the story, Patina.

Date: 07/25/2016 - 02:59 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

This is the 1st story of the Battle of Will I read. Will read the others one by one.

Adam's reaction to Marie's arrival is absolutely understandable. His father was gone for more than 3 months and Adam took over responsibility for his little brother. And then suddenly without any hint or preparation he was confronted to accept that his father has remarried and presented Marie that she is his mother from now on. I feel sympathetic to Adam as it is a bit cruel to brake his will. I would have expected a bit more senstivity from Ben for his son.

I am curious what will happen in the following stories. 

The story was well written - Thank you 

 

Date: 05/16/2016 - 10:05 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: wwright656 Anonymous

Patina

I really enjoyed this story very well written

Ms Bonnie

Date: 12/31/2013 - 05:06 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Penny Signed

I think you really captured Adam as a child, Hoss too so cute. End of round one at a stand still can't wait to see what happens next!!

Date: 09/10/2013 - 05:01 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Adam, you better start acting respectful with Marie.. or you won't be sitting comfortably.

 

Great story..

Eva

Date: 07/04/2013 - 08:00 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

I can certainly understand how Adam feels. No warning just showed up with Marie. Ben could have handled things better and he should have brought Marie to the Ponderosa first and allowed them to get to know her before he married her. I think that Adam would have been more accepting if Ben had done that.

Date: 06/22/2013 - 01:34 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: nyspats Signed

You can really feel Adam's angst here. He was afraid to like Marie which is understandable. Loved this story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, spats.  Adam must have had a hard time accepting Marie at first.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 07/11/2012 - 04:55 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Oh, Patina, this is so good!  You make it all so vivid, and there's funny parts, and sad parts, and I am enjoying this so much!  On to chapter 2!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 10/04/2011 - 01:21 am [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: lady cat Signed

A very poverful story, liked it very much



Author's Response:

Thank you, lady cat.

Date: 09/18/2011 - 06:57 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Wonderful story!  Adam's feelings are so real here and I like seeing the family interaction with Marie!  Looking forward to reading the rest of this series.



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29!  I appreciate knowing that I portrayed Adam realistically.  Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/22/2011 - 04:13 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: pam Signed

Great story well written



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam.

Date: 04/08/2011 - 06:47 pm [Report This]
Title: The Battle of Wills Begins Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

Poor Adam, afraid of betraying Inger and having to share his pa. I love the way Hoss is acting. Looking forward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  It must have been difficult for Adam to believe that his father returned home married to a complete stranger. 

Date: 06/29/2010 - 05:46 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.