Reviews For A Heart Opens Wide
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Very nice story. Very believable that Adam would be cautious about having a "new mother".



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and leaving comments.

Date: 03/03/2018 - 09:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Aww! You brought me to tears, Tracy! What a sad, sweet little story.



Author's Response:

I'm glad this little story moved you, Annie K. Thank you for reading and commenting.

Date: 05/11/2017 - 01:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

Very understandable reachtion of 10 years old Adam to the new wife of his father.

And here this special moment it seems that his Pa and Marie are comforting each other, but not included Adam. The boy who is worrying about his brother whom he has a very strong relationship with. Would like have seen Ben comforting Adam too.

The wishing star - used by both, Adam and Marie. This is a heart warming moment.

Nice read.



Author's Response:

Seeing Ben comforting Adam is a very good point, AdamCult2b. Thank you for your honest review.

Date: 05/11/2016 - 06:33 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I like how you've captured the conflicting emotions that young Adam is feeling. Poor Hoss, I hope he is better soon. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Calamity.

Date: 12/09/2014 - 03:01 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

That was lovely,brought tears to my eyes.

Date: 05/11/2014 - 12:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

I have read so many stories with Adam accepting Marie and not accepting Marie.  I choose to think and believe that they got along well after a while.  I am sure it was hard on Adam at first but I feel that they got along as well as Hoss and Marie.  This was a great story and loved the ending.  Thanks for sharing with us. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lovemychico, for reading and reviewing. I think Marie was such a shock to Adam (and Hoss, and Virginia City) that it must have taken a while for her to be accepted.

Date: 04/03/2014 - 07:57 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

That was intensely satisfying at the end.  The raw emotions of both on display and opening Adam's heart to Marie.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Betty! Ben's bringing Marie into the mix must have been an adjustment for them all. So gald you enjoyed the story!

Date: 12/08/2013 - 11:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a beautiful story and you could feel the anger that Adam felt. Loved what happened outside when he was wishing upon a star. Felt that Inger was helping Adam deal with what he was feeling. Loved the ending. 

Date: 09/15/2013 - 12:15 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Liz Signed

Tracy, been exploring the library and found this story.  You are such a vivid writer!  Everything in perfect detail, full of color and life.  Adam and Marie, wishing upon a star.  Beautifully done, it choked me up.  You so should write a book, you are one incredibly talented lady!



Author's Response:

Liz, you are too kind. I am pleased that you enjoyed my little story, and given that you are a fantastic writer and one of my absolute favorite authors, I am humbled by your opinion of my stories. Thank you for reading!

Date: 05/25/2013 - 02:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
I think you got Adam just right in this story, Tracy. I don't think the transition with Marie coming in would have been easy for him, and I think that he would have had to come to decision on his own whether to accept or reject her. This story was touching for me in more ways than one. Thank you :0)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Bahj. Glad you enjoyed it!

Date: 01/19/2013 - 01:21 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Tracy, what a beautiful story.  It perfectly captures what Adam would have been thinking in such a situation.  Inger was there to help him, and then in the end so was Marie.  You've included so many wonderful touches in your vivid description...Adam leaning, the starlight, the billowing curtain, his small, strong hand.  Wow! I loved it!  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind words, Gillie. I'm glad you enjoyed all the little touches. I appreciate that you took the time to read and leave a review. Many thanks.

Date: 06/19/2012 - 08:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: AgnethaF Signed

Tracy.  Very good story.  I can understand why Adam would be jealous of Marie.  This just shows the love they had for each other..  I love how Marie thinks of Adam and Hoss as her sons too.



Author's Response:

Thanks, AgnethaF. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and thanks for reading and leaving a review for FanFic!

Date: 05/16/2012 - 07:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: TLR Signed

Tracy, this is a beautiful story. I'm so glad I found it. I love short stories like this. They can say so much. This one pulls at the heart from the very start. I like how you respect all of the characters in the story, and how you describe the night sky. I have nightblindness and can only see the moon and the North star at night, so this is a lovely description.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my story, TLR. I'm glad that my description pleased you, and that you enjoyed the relationships of the Cs!

Date: 05/03/2012 - 11:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Such a lovely story!  I could definitely picture Adam feeling all of the emotions you describe here.



Author's Response:
Date: 02/12/2012 - 07:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Patina Signed

Wow, Tracy!  This is fantastic!  You have mastered short stories.  The imagery and emotion in this little piece made me tear up as Adam, and then Marie, made their wishes.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Patina ~ thank you for the kind words. Writing short stories is difficult for me, but with encouragement like that, I'll keep trying!

Date: 02/07/2012 - 06:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

wonderful story I like how the Cartwright's are always there for eachother no matter what they help eachother... Thanks I enjoyed reading the story



Author's Response:

Thank you, Pam!

Date: 01/31/2012 - 05:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: praterfarms1 Signed
Very good. Poor young Adam coming to grips with so much in his short life. Your words are so discriptive I could feel the hard, rough wood under my hands as the boy gripped the hitching post.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, praterfarms. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Date: 01/29/2012 - 01:35 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

intense story, very good, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, Bertha.

Date: 01/29/2012 - 01:16 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: dusty Signed

Very nice. I especially like prequels in this time period and this tender little story touched my heart. Adam and Marie both probably had a lot of adjustments to make to form a new family unit one would think. Enjoyed reading this.



Author's Response:

Thank you, dusty!

Date: 01/28/2012 - 03:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BensReader Signed

Wonderful story, Tracy. It is always interesting reading about Adam's resentment for Marie, but to have it gently taken away by her kind actions. I enjoyed your story and thank you for sharing it.



Author's Response:

Thank you, BensReader. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.

Date: 01/28/2012 - 04:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lady cat Signed

It is wonderful, I am all teary.



Author's Response:

Thank you, lady cat! Sorry I made you teary!

Date: 01/27/2012 - 09:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

AH Tracy that was sweet. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, angelface!

Date: 01/27/2012 - 06:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

I had read the story as a P with P and thank goodness, I had forgotten it. And because I had forgotten it, the story had the same visceral impact it had on me the first time I read it. It made me teary. The attention to detail only emphasized Adam's emotions and the ending is perfect.

Beautifully done!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adamant. You know, people talk about the "middle child" vs the "eldest child" vs the "youngest child" --  Adam had to be a little of everything to his baby brother Hoss. A mother a lot of the time - Inger was gone. A father at times - Ben was leading the wagon train, then settling on the small piece of land that started the Ponderosa, working to run the whole thing by himself. And especially, Adam was the big brother. So much responsibility and pressure. But Adam took pride in that responsibility and it defined him and his 'place' -- and then along comes Marie, whom I'm sure he liked, even grew to love, but at first, she had to be a threat.

I'm so glad you liked the story, and I appreciate your review!

Date: 01/27/2012 - 05:01 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.