Reviews For Devil's Bargain
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Guitarlover Signed

Patina, I really liked your version.  I hope Ben made Hoss and Joe do Adam's chores for a month at least!

Date: 07/16/2015 - 10:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I found this to be a very interesting rewrite on the script. The conflict escalating between the boys certainly increased the tension of the scenes within the jail. Also by adding the action in the form of a street fight, this could well have been a two part episode.

The way that you brought it all back together in the end was really good. Thanks for sharing this. 

Date: 05/22/2013 - 12:19 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Better than the original -- you have to wonder what the conversation was the next day or as soon as Adam recovered.

Date: 03/12/2013 - 11:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: karilyn Signed

This is an excellent WHI, Patina. Very well thought out. In the episode, there was an obvious division between what Adam thought should happen and the feelings of Hoss and Joe; that was a perfect point to begin a different ending. I like the fact that Beth Cameron decided to take a stand, even though she paid for it with her life, just as her husband had. I really enjoy reading other takes on how an episode could have played out. Thanks for a great story.

Date: 08/10/2012 - 12:37 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: PERNELLSulli Signed

Hoss and Joe have such a smart brother,they should have trust him in every part of his doing...fine story Patina ...

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, PERNELLSulli.  Hoss and Joe were worried that Sam Bryant would hang their father no matter what they did.  Thank goodness Adam's plan worked in the episode and Sam Bryant returned Ben safe and sound.

Date: 04/11/2012 - 06:38 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Well that was different.  Glad it played out almost as well as the original.  Enjoyed reading all their different views about the situation and enjoyed the story very much.  Thanks for sharing Patina. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, LMC!  I worried about tinkering with a much-loved episode.  Glad to know you enjoyed it!

Date: 09/22/2011 - 09:58 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Wow Ben has a talent for making someone feel guilty.  Great portrayal of this scene. It was good to hear what each was thinking instead of standing there watching and guessing. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, AF.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed the Cartwrights' thoughts.

Date: 01/07/2011 - 10:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: pam Signed

very interesting story well done,I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam!

Date: 09/03/2010 - 01:38 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Tracy Signed

A lose / lose situation! Thanks for this story, Patina!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy.  The trade didn't go like Joe and Hoss expected.  It's a good thing that the episode played out as it did.

Date: 06/29/2010 - 08:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: pony Signed

An intriguing story based on one of my favorite episodes! patina, you've taken the "existing" scenes to a totally higher level by adding the subtleties of conscience and emotion ... and your take on WHI is thought-provoking to say the least. Bravo, my intellectual friend, bravo!



Author's Response:

Thank you, pony!  I'm absolutely thrilled to know you enjoyed my interpretation of one of your favorite episodes.  It's always a chance to tinker with a much-loved episode, but I'm glad I took that chance. 

Date: 05/11/2010 - 10:55 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

Hoss and Joe should have learned by now that Bir Brother is always right. Enjoyed this different ending.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/01/2010 - 04:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: weavereb Signed
Interesting twist to that story!  Hoss and Joe should have realized that Adam was right...

Author's Response: Thank you, Elisha!  Hoss and Joe were afraid that Adam's gamble would backfire.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed my version of a well-loved episode.
Date: 11/13/2008 - 10:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Beel Signed
Felt like doing a little reading tonight, and as usual, you didn't disappoint.  Your title says it all.  Joe and Hoss decided to bargain with the devil, even though they had pure motives.  Adam had analyzed the situation, but his brothers were scared.  I'm not sure what I would have done in the same situation.  Bargaining would be tempting.  I like how you played it out.  The whole time I was reading, I could hear Farmer Perkins' creepy laugh!  Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you, Beel!
Date: 11/09/2008 - 09:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Terina Signed
Great story. 

Author's Response: Thank you, Terina.
Date: 10/13/2008 - 04:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Bertha Signed
good story, thanks

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know, Bertha.
Date: 10/08/2008 - 11:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: pony Signed
This has always been one of my favorite episodes and this is a terrific "what if" version! Thanks for sharing your talent, patina!

Author's Response: Thank you, pony!  It was a risk to tinker with such a well-loved episode.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed my version.
Date: 10/05/2008 - 07:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

The moral of the story:  Don't mess with the Cartwrights and never disagree with our DDG MIB.

 Thanks, Patina, for another wonderful story.  I love the way your wove your original thoughts into the existing canon.  Great move.

Lillian

 



Author's Response: Thank  you so much, Lillian!  This story was a risk since it involved a much-beloved episode yet I wondered just what would happen if Joe and Hoss hadn't followed Adam's plan.  I'm glad to know you liked my take on Death at Dawn.
Date: 09/07/2008 - 06:08 am [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: attiecat Signed
Patina, you continue to amaze me with your writing.  Guess us Louisiana girls just "got it goin' on"!

Author's Response: Wow!  Thank you so much, Attie, for your support and encouragement!!!
Date: 09/05/2008 - 05:48 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed
Great story. I only wish Beth Cameron had not been killed.

Author's Response: Thank you, Fan.  Sorry about Beth. 
Date: 08/28/2008 - 10:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: Dori Signed
Very good reading. I like that Joe and Hoss disagreed with Adam and did their own thing, even though it turned out they were wrong in the end. Sometimes it takes a mistake to learn a lesson. At least it ended well.

Author's Response: Thank you, Dori!  The decision that had to be made was a hard one for them all to make.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed my version of this episode.
Date: 08/13/2008 - 11:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Devil's Bargain Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Such a hard decision!   I can see Adam's side and I can see Hoss and Joe's side...  what do you do?

I liked this WHI story.  Very interesting, but I think Hoss and Joe learned a good lesson here.

Looking forward to more of you fanfic..

Eva



Author's Response: Thank you, Eva!  I don't know what I'd do if I was in their boots.  This story was just one of many possible ways the situation could have gone.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/11/2008 - 06:37 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.