Reviews For Birthday Blues
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Adam's emotions in this story seem realistic.  I, also, experienced the "birthday blues" in college, being over 2,000 miles from home and missing my family greatly.



Author's Response: Thank you, CowgirlAtHeart, for letting me know you enjoyed this story. That first birthday away from home and family is the hardest. I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 02/02/2017 - 04:08 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

Oh, our sensitive Adam. It must be terrible for him to remember each year that his mother died  after he was born. But it was so good that Abel said to Adam that he is proud of him, nevertheless. A very sentimental story.



Author's Response: Thank you, adamsgermangirl. Abel knew better than to treat his grandson's birthday as a bittersweet day. I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 09/08/2016 - 03:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Oh bless him



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, Adams Welsh Girl. 

Date: 08/18/2014 - 09:24 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

This story really touched my heart. Loved how it ended!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed it!

Date: 02/05/2013 - 02:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

When I started reading this I wondered if I had read it before but when I finished I was not sure.  Anyway It was a very good story and you had me in tears at the end.  Thanks for sharing with us Patina. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, LMC.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 09/01/2011 - 09:02 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Another great story, Patina.  I was sniffling there at the end.  I haven't read much fanfic about Adam and his grandfather.  I am glad you made their relationship so filled with love.  Lovely, lovely story!!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this. 

Date: 05/30/2011 - 06:03 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Great story!  I enjoyed seeing the glimpse of Adam's life at college and his relationship with his grandfather.



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29.  Adam must have enjoyed getting to know his grandfather and knowing that he wasn't blamed for his mother's death.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/24/2011 - 04:30 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: nyspats Signed

I loved this story. So sweet.



Author's Response:

Thank you, spats.

Date: 11/06/2010 - 12:11 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

Interesting how Adam felt comfortable enough to give his grandfather a hug...when we know that Adam is not a "touchy-touchy" person.

I'm glad he found cause to smile and celebrate on his birthday.

Thanks for sharing your talents with us.

Lillian



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lillian!  Adult Adam may not be much of a hugger but he probably didn't mind giving his old granddad a hug.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 10/24/2010 - 04:33 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

THat was sweet. it was verfy conservative  just loke Adam...although I loved when Adam gave Abel a hug.  Good job!  You sirprised me...I would have pictured some emotion torn day...but you stayed true to character. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Angelface.  Adam must have felt awkward about spending his birthday with a grandfather he barely knew.  Abel knew that Adam needed the reassurance of knowing he wasn't to blame for his mother's death.  I'm so pleased you believe I kept young Adam in character. :)

Date: 06/12/2010 - 01:20 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: pam Signed

Very good story



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam.

Date: 05/09/2010 - 10:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

I love the bond between Adam and his maternal grandfather. This is a nice story, sweet and sentimental without being melodramatic. Nice work, patina.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/01/2010 - 04:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Nobody should be made to suffer when tragedy strikes a family. Love his story! Thanks for writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy.  Adam assumed his grandfather couldn't love him but he sure was wrong.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 02/10/2010 - 08:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: avid fan Signed

very touching story. 

 

avid fan



Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this story, avid.

Date: 10/25/2009 - 10:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: VStevens Signed

Excellent, we get to see a relationship between Adam and his grandfather and what it was like for him away at college.



Author's Response:

Thank you, VStevens!  Adam must have had a hard time adjusting to life away from his father and brothers, but he had the love of his grandfather.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/03/2009 - 06:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: weavereb Signed
I just wanted to give Adam a hug...he sure seemed like he could have used one.  I'm glad that his day ended happier than it began.  :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Elisha!  Adam should never have thought that his grandfather would blame him in any way for the death of his only child.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/13/2008 - 10:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Terina Signed
You just want to reach out and hug Adam.  To be so far away from home on a day that is both happy and sad for Adam, Capt Stoddard and Ben. 

Author's Response: Thank you, Terina.  Adam must have been worried that his grandfather would blame him in some way when that wasn't the case at all.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/03/2008 - 01:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed
A very touching story,

Author's Response: Thank you, Fan.
Date: 09/24/2008 - 06:33 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed
Wonderful job, Patina!  As always, very well written with so much emotion!  It sure pulled at my heart strings!  Another hit to add to my "favorite" collection! 

Author's Response: Thank you, AdamsGirl!  Adam should've known his grandfather could never blame his for his mother's death.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!!
Date: 09/17/2008 - 04:17 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Dori Signed
I just wanted to give poor Adam a hug. Glad he recieved the package in the end, it was a perfect way to end your story.

Author's Response: Thank you, Dori!  Adam should have known his father and brothers would never forget his birthday.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/20/2008 - 10:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: LifesMagic Signed
Beautiful story, Patina!  I loved what Adam overheard his grandfather saying and how he finally asked the question I'm sure he was afraid to.  Lovely ending with the letters from home.  Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thank you, LifesMagic.  Adam must have felt responsible in a way for his mother's death and must have assumed his grandfather could never love him.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story.  And thank you for the encouragement!!!
Date: 08/18/2008 - 04:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Oh my, as I wipe the tears from my eyes!   That was so touching, I could help but shed tears as I read the scene between Adam and his Grandfather...   my keyboard has tear drops on it..

I just lost my Mother a few months ago, so I guess it really hit a spot in my heart!  

A good cry is always good for the soul.

 Thanks, Eva



Author's Response: Thank you, Eva!  I'm so sorry for your loss!!!  I'm so glad you enjoyed this story even though it resulted in tears.  (hugs!)
Date: 08/11/2008 - 12:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: barb Signed

A very touching story, brought tears to my eyes.   I was glad his day ended with expression of love from his grandfather, and letters and love from home.  Enjoyed the story very much......well written.

 



Author's Response: Thank you, barb.  It must have been easy for Adam to think that his grandfather couldn't love him since he was responsible for his mother's death; he should've known better.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/09/2008 - 01:28 am [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: Beel Signed
Really liked this story.  It's interesting to see Adam in any other light than strong and confident, even as a young man.  This was a really nice peek inside his private feelings.  Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you, Beel.  Adam must have had his moments where he was unsure or lacking in confidence, especially when he was getting to know his grandfather.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/07/2008 - 10:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Birthday Blues Reviewer: pony Signed
What a lovely, bittersweet story. Happy birthday, dear Adam ...

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this story, pony.
Date: 08/05/2008 - 09:23 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.