Reviews For Slated For Love
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Liz Signed

Tracy,

You are still one of my favorite writers and probably, always will be.

Hoss has always been the most emotionally intelligent (IMHO) member of the family and you beautifully show that his empathic abilities started at a young age.  His ability to reach his Pa in the most difficult of times, was beautifully told.

As always, great job!

 

Date: 08/13/2019 - 09:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Drifter Signed

The boys are slowly but surely developing the tight bond we know them for being with each other... l



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, Drifter!

Date: 08/11/2019 - 06:30 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisal Signed

This is a new favorite story!

 

Reading your stories, I feel like you see the young Cartwrights and their family dynamic the way I see them and perhaps that feeling is universal for everyone but it definitely makes your things (prequel or otherwise) easy to read and joyful and true. There are always surprises in your actions, too - little actions or interactions or descriptions that make me think, "wow, I wish I'd written that" - Hoss's swinging feet, Adam's protective sideways glasses, Ben's "I'm happy..." bit of dialogue at the end.  This is an expertly-written and easy-to-read story of love and family.  I really loved it, Tracy.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lisal, for the kind review. I'm glad we share the same ideas about the young Cartwrights.

Date: 08/10/2019 - 09:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

This was a very sweet story, Tracy. The empty place left behind in the Cartwrights' hearts and lives by Marie's death was a place not easily filled. It would be hard on Hoss, seeing his brothers crying and Ben always sad. Adam did the best he could for them, but at only thirteen, that's a burden for any child, boy or girl. I'm glad he tried his best to cheer up Pa.

I think my two favorite parts are these:

“Son,” Ben whispered, his eyes glowing as he looked into the sweet face of his middle son, “anything you’ve made will always make me smile.”

"...Happy that I have Adam. Happy that I have Little Joe. And happy that I have my sweet Hoss and the beautiful masterpiece he drew on his slate.”

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, littlejoenice, for reading and commenting. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story.

Date: 08/08/2019 - 04:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

A sweet and heartwarming story,but a bit Sad.You captured all the Cartwright's.Especially Hoss in my opinion.Even at a very young age he was sweet and caring.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Fan, for reading and leaving comments.

Date: 08/08/2019 - 12:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

 

What a well written story. Your portrait of the young Cartwrights was spot on, great descriptions of a young family sitting around doing homework etc. This story really shows the stems of Hoss’s sensitivity and how he just wants everyone to be ok. A well thought out story and a pleasure to read.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind words, Rosanna. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Date: 08/07/2019 - 04:56 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

A beautiful story.

Hoss was so sweet and didn't like the people he loved being sad.  He wanted to do something to make Ben smile again and be happy.  The way he remembered Marie in his picture...fantastic!

I really enjoyed this.

Date: 10/27/2018 - 10:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Good story.  Sweet and heartwarming.

Date: 02/28/2018 - 01:08 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Lovely story, only sweet little Hoss would have done that

Date: 12/03/2014 - 07:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Lovely story, only sweet little Hoss would have done that

Date: 12/03/2014 - 07:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Yep, tears again.  Love the way Hoss does not want anyone to be sad.  So sweet.  thanks for sharing your story Tracy. 



Author's Response:

Hoss has a tender heart, no matter the circumstances. Thank you for reviewing my story.

Date: 04/07/2014 - 08:26 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Well he may be smiling but I have tears in my eyes.  So sweet.



Author's Response:

Aw, thanks, Betty. This one had the same effect on me when I wrote it! Thanks for reading!

Date: 07/11/2013 - 03:12 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed

Such a sweet tender story and so typical of Hoss to try and keep his family and his pa from hurting.  Love the way you portrayed all the young brothers but escpecially Hoss and I could feel Ben's emotions.  Thank you Tracy.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting, Jules.

Date: 07/05/2013 - 09:47 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Great story, Tracy, about a time that we can only imagine with the help of wonderful fanfic like yours.  I think Hoss would have a been a lovely child, much as you describe him here!  Thanks for sharing your story with us.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Gillie, for reading and commenting on this story. "Little" Hoss must have been adorable, don't you think? I'm glad you enjoyed my take on a scene from his childhood.

Date: 08/24/2012 - 03:16 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: nyspats Signed

You can always count on Hoss. Lovely story.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, nyspats!

Date: 04/20/2012 - 12:53 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: PonderosaPal Signed

I can't tell you how much I loved this story, Tracy.  It was one of the sweetest, most sentimental pieces I've read.  The boys as youngsters are always fun to read about, but in this story, they are especially endearing.  I especially like how you've portrayed Hoss.  His sensitivity toward his father's sorrow is particularly noteworthy, and his gift . . . priceless.    Thanks for such a wonderful story.  



Author's Response:
Date: 02/22/2012 - 11:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

I read this on DB's birthday and it shows the tender feelings that Hoss has for his father. Hoss, although often thought of as the least bright of the brothers, was always the most sensitive and the most compassionate. THis story illustrates it in a charming manner.

A wonderful story and the title is a prefect pun since Hoss uses the slate for his drawing that to him, shows a picture of love.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adamant. I always figure that Adam is envious of Hoss's ability to show his emotions without ever being 'in your face' about it - Hoss just feels things and finds a way to let you know! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Date: 12/26/2011 - 07:08 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sheena Signed

Tracy, this is such a sweet and beautiful little story.  I can imagine a little Hoss doing this. So touching, I really enjoyed reading it.    



Author's Response:

Thanks, Sheena! I'm so glad you enjoyed the tale!

Date: 12/23/2011 - 11:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: kima10 Signed

Very good, story. Very true to Hoss' character.



Author's Response:

Thank you, kima10! So glad you liked the story!

Date: 12/18/2011 - 10:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lady cat Signed

What a lovely Hoss story. It's Hoss to a T I was feeling sad for the Cartwrights. But Hoss ligtening the day.



Author's Response:

Young Hoss must have been adorable, as well as young Adam and little Little Joe! Thank you for reviewing, lady cat!

Date: 12/16/2011 - 10:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: gf3 Signed

Lovely.  Your attention to detail really enriched the story.  



Author's Response:

Thank you, gf3! I'm happy that you enjoyed the story!

Date: 12/16/2011 - 10:55 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
This was a wonderful story! It's just like Hoss to want everyone to stop hurting. You did a wonderful job conveying Ben's emotions, he sacrificed so much for those boys. Thank you for this story :0)

Author's Response:

Bahj - I'm delighted that you enjoyed my story. Writing about the young Cartwrights is so much fun! Thank you for your review.

Date: 12/16/2011 - 03:02 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

sweet story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you, Bertha.

Date: 12/15/2011 - 10:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

So this made me cry...but it is so sweet and poignant. Like all of Tracy's stories she captures the Cartwright's perfectly. Love the young C's.



Author's Response:

Angelface - thank you for reviewing my little story! There's just something about Hoss that makes me believe that as a child, he was the one who could hurt right along with his father and brothers, but be one of the first to see the light at the end of the tunnel!

Date: 12/15/2011 - 05:35 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.