You must login (register) to review.
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Wow!!  just finished the story and loved it!! I read it on my lunch break at work and stayed up late at night, found I couldn't put it down till I finished it.

Hoss is such a sweet humble person and you captured him well at consoling Ben regarding Adam's marriage. I am so happy Adam was able to find love again and happier that Lucy waited for him.  I can only imagine how it would have been if Adam and Laura had married. I kinda felt sorry for Will. I know Adam was glad Will "took the bullet"  lol.  I enjoyed the story very much, ant!!



Author's Response:

How nice you are! I'm so glad that you found the plot compelling, lmc, and I appreciate the generous review. Thank you for choosing to read this little "series." (They all stand alone but I'm pleased you chose to read them as a continuation.) And yeah, Will  did do Adam a great favor!

Date: 10/14/2016 - 10:30 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

Have read the serial. I had to get used to a different kind of Adam. But you made me curious and I could not stop reading. You are leading readers into different stages of emotions - shocking, laughter, sensivity, astonishment... Thank you for an exciting reading trip . 



Author's Response:

You are not the first one to say that Adam is dfiferent but I see these traits in him in just about every episode Adam appears. He can be petty and selfish and passionate and kind and gentle--his character had rougher edges in the first 3 seasons. Thanks forreaing and reviewing, AdamCult2b.

Date: 04/23/2016 - 05:23 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Sabina Signed

After "A Type of Madness" this story is more conciliatory (can one say so?). Adam seems to come back to life.

I love Lucy. She is so perfect for Adam.

A also like the scenes with Laura and Will. Poor Laura. Although I don't like her, I feel sorry for her. Will seems to be quite incapable, nearly irresponsible (I think here Will and Adam are not alike).

Thank you again for a wonderful, touching story.



Author's Response:

I agree that it is more conciliatory as Adam is reconciled with his past; finds a way to live with it and to move on. I'm glad you liked Lucy in this story and going by Will's character, he never did seem much like a homebody--he had itchy feet and liked traveling. Laura would have to deal with that.

Thanks for reading.

Date: 09/06/2015 - 10:22 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: mkhoss Signed

Loved the story.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked it--it's one of my favorites! Thank you for reading.

Date: 06/07/2015 - 04:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Penny Signed

Absolutely a wonderful story! I was sorry when it ended, I could of read on a few more chapters, but as they say "All good things must come to an end."

I just love Lucy!and was glad she was able to pull Adam out of the dark and into the light with her unconditional love for him.

Thank you so much for the ride. I laughed out loud, cried tears of joy and sadness, I was angry and most of all I enjoyed this read!!! I hope there will be more sequals of Adam and Lucy's Love story.

Your such a great writer. Your attention to little details makes everything so real and comes alive as your reading!!

This is one story I will read again and again - hope there's more. Thanks again fore this GREAT READ!!!!!!

 



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you, Penny! You are a wonderful audience. Actually, I have edited this story recently and I think it ended up better--but I haven't posted the edited version. One day, I'll have to replace this one here with the edited one. I love Lucy (LOL) as well but, since I saw that you read "The Wiving of Adam" as well--sorry about what happens. : (

Date: 10/01/2013 - 01:09 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Absolutely riveting story:  bravo!



Author's Response:

Thank you, BettyHT, for getting through this long story and found that you liked it. I appreciate your comments. Thanks again.

Date: 03/18/2013 - 02:16 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: 1964Adam Signed

I couldn't stop reading. That's a kind of sexy. I love it.



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked this story! I enjoyed writing it. Thanks for reading.

Date: 11/22/2012 - 10:52 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: karilyn Signed

OK, so I guess you did write another story about Adam and Lucy. Well, I loved it. This is a great read, seeing Adam emerge from the madness that had captured him to the slow realization of love. He is such an interesting character with so many intense and mysterious elements of character. You captured them all. I'm so glad he worked his way out of the "valley of the shadow of death." This is a wonderful story; thanks so much for writing it.



Author's Response:

I admire your tenacity for reading such a long story (No skipping?) but it was for a challenge! So glad that you liked it and that you let me know. I find Adam's charcter fascinating--it has so many subtle layers; I always imagine him as a true Byronic character and attempt to present him that way.

Date: 05/03/2012 - 10:37 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

I enjoyed reading about Adam and Lucy!  She brought a love and peace to him when he needed it most.



Author's Response:

I liked writing about Adam and Lucy--what the heck, I just like writing about Adam! Thanks for reading the story--it is a long one.

Date: 04/09/2012 - 10:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: nyspats Signed

An excellent read. I really liked Adam and Lucy. I could see many sequels.



Author's Response:

Thank you--don't know how you managed to drag yourself through it though; it is a long one.

Date: 02/19/2012 - 03:12 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Adam's proposal in the hat shop was unique and refreshing. And the wedding - in the moment, it was perfect, but I understand Ben's feelings and I'm glad you didn't simply mention how Ben felt and then have him push his feelings aside - you left it that he was happy for his son, but hurt all the same - just as Ben would be.

Adamant - thank you for making Adam "Adam" and for allowing him to keep his sarcasm and settle into a plane of love that allows for mistakes, doubts, and never-ending desire. So beautiful and real.

I'm ready, whenever you are, for another Lucy and Adam tale! Thank you for a womderful love story - a love story of family and a love story of marital happiness!

 

And Congratulations on completing the NaNoWriMo November Challenge with such a warm, cohesive story!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked "Adam," Tracy. And I certainly am glad that you slogged your way through auch a long story. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Date: 12/06/2011 - 01:28 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Parts Nine and Ten:

So much happening in these two sections. I'm going to have to concentrate on the last part - Yahoo! Adam loves Lucy - well, we already knew that. But now, he's admitting it!

Again - I appreciate the way you're writing Lucy - she gives as good as Adam does! And they play off of one another in such a loving way.



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked the characterization of Lucy--I didn't want to make her a female Adam and hope that I succeeded.

Date: 12/06/2011 - 12:09 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Parts Seven and Eight:

Oh, Adam. Your father taught you so well the manners that tied you to Gloria for the wedding and reception! you should have gone alone, rather than with that gold-digger!

There, needed to vent. Now, Ant, the little 'talk' between Adam and Joe was great. Again with the Cartwright manners and considerate personalities - Joe is concerned about Polly's fears on the wedding night. Adam's advice was perfect, and the two of them realizing that, even as grown men, they need one another from time to time is perfection!

I especially like that Lucy is maintaining her femininity while you write her as a strong, capable woman. I really like her!



Author's Response:

I thought the wedding night jitters would get to Joe and that he would go to Adam--not Ben for the proper answer although Ben was no slouch in that department.

Date: 12/05/2011 - 11:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Parts Five and Six:

Ahhh . . . an Adam/Joe scene! Love it. Having Adam there will make all the difference in Joe's concerns. What better way to begin a marriage than to have your own example of a 'family' there ti support you?

 

I like the way you've given Adam multiple examples of love and relationships at a time when he's questioning not only beginning a romance with Lucy, but his onw ability and desire to allow himself to once again depend that deeply on anyone at all.

Great chapters!



Author's Response:

I'm pleased that you enjoyed these interim chapters. I, of course, thought they served a purpose of showing Adam different relationships as well but was afraid that they would make Adam seem crazy to want to marry after what he had seen.

Date: 12/05/2011 - 09:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Parts Three and Four:

I liked your Ben/Adam conversations about disappointment and duty. True to character, IMO, and no matter what was said, the undertone was always love and respect - true to canon.

The entire dinner scene with Will and Laura is priceless. You certainly have Laura's character down pat! She sounded exactly as she did in the episodes. And Adam calling her on her treatment of Will was great - I only wish Joe had been there to see what a mess married life made out of Will! And Joe would have giggled through it all.

Hoss feeling uneasy about Adam's current state of mind was a nice touch - and I'm wondering if there will be a time in the rest of the story where Hoss and Adam have a real heart-to-heart?

Looking forward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting on the dinner scene--I'm glad it rang true. I see that you did read more--thanks.

Date: 12/05/2011 - 08:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Parts One and Two:

I enjoyed the first story very much, and am so glad to see more about Lucy and Adam. You've woven bits and pieces of the Cartwrights' past into these first two parts and done it so smoothly that at first, I didn't notice the backstory!

Ben has to be frightened, seeing a desperate rage in Adam since his return. His councel seems to be helping Adam to think things through, and that's all a father can do when his son is is struggling.

 

"And if things don’t go well inside, I’ll eat with you in the barn. You might be better company that Will and Laura.”

I laughed out loud! Sounds just like Adam.



Author's Response:

Tracy, I'm glad that you enjoyed the beginning, or the exposition--and hope, that as usual with expositions, you find it becomes more interesting. Thank you so much for reading and letting me know what you tnik. 'Preciate it! :-)

Date: 12/05/2011 - 02:58 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: pam Signed

Great story well written about Adam and Lucy.... I enjoyed reading it



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to read and letting me know what you think.

Date: 12/04/2011 - 01:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: deansgirl Signed
Well, Adamant, I promised to read your story when it was done and I did not lie it just took me awhile to get to it and finsh it. Darn school! Anyway reading your comments in the Nano thread I was intrigued and could not wait for this new gem from a great writer. Well, you did not disappoint. The heroine is just the type for our beloved Adam and Adam and Will are amazingly alike and you make it more obvious than ever, which is great. As for your "adult" scene you write it with great tact and let the reader imagine it taking place before them. I love your writing style. Thanks so much for sharing this new and great story. Nano, Adamant, WOW. I wish I had the time and ideas to write like this.
And if this review is longer than my usual reviews I am not sorry at all :) A story like this that you put so much work into deserves great praise. Can you tell I loved it?
Cathy

Author's Response:

Deansgirl, I can live off this review for a year! :-D I am so pleased that you liked the story and the characters and that it lived up to your expectations. And I thank you for taking the time to read it--I have never before put so much blood, sweat and tears into writing anything (well, except my master's thesis but that had no PG-13 adult scenes but more tears!) For the NaNoWri, I used that saying, "Even if it's crap, just get it on the page." So glad that it didn't turn out to be! Thank you again for your kind words and generous praise. You made me happy!!! :)

Date: 11/29/2011 - 10:38 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: littlemom256 Signed

I enjoyed this so much, Ant!  Your Adam is one of my favs.  Lucy, bless her heart, had to wait a long time for him, but she was rewarded for her patience tenfold!

Lovely!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you liked it, littlemom. Thank you so much for your kind words--and it is interesting how different writers have different Adams and Joes, etc. I appreciate your comments.

Date: 11/28/2011 - 05:17 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Englishgirl Signed

I really enjoyed this "love story". That is what it was but thankfully not a cloying one. As ever your writing has the bite I love and amazingly works extremely well in this situation. Best of all Lucy is a heroine worthy of Adam, able to give as good as she gets.

I loved the moments of humour but did feel rather sorry for Ben on occasion when he was on the end of some of Adam's more suggestive teasing. I did enjoy the more adult relationship between the Cartwrights very much.

Have to say I was almost rolling on the floor when Ben walked in on Adam and Lucy, in flagrante delicto, so to speak.

I also liked the way you involved Will and Laura and the fact Will seemed to be drawn to women with a perchant for Adam, no wonder Adam didn't want him to meet Lucy.

Hope you get the idea I thoroughly enjoyed reading this because I did and I know I will be reading  it again more than once.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Englishgirl, for taking the time to comment. I always thought that Adam's and Will's characters were very much alike and therefore, their taste in women might be the same and the same type of women might be attracted to both of them.

I'm also pleased that you enjoyed the "racier" moments between Adam and Lucy and the teasing involved; I tried to show how Adam has trouble expressing his true feelings so he uses humor to protect himself but then, so does Lucy. The original ending wasn't supposed to be a "and they lived happily in the ever after" ending but the story just decided to go another way--what's a person to do?

Thanks for reading---it is loooooong!

Date: 11/27/2011 - 04:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Bertha Signed

Glad to be of help!



Author's Response:

:-) You're much appreciated.

Date: 11/25/2011 - 10:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Bertha Signed

loved it, left me wanting more, thanks



Author's Response:

Thanks, Bertha. Actually, you are my touchstone as to whether or not a story of mine is so-so or better. (I was going to PM you and tell you this but you're not on the boards so I'm doing it this way.) If a story receives a different comment than your normal one, I know that it's good. It may sound sill,y but I think that you read quite a few stories so I appreciate what you wrote. So glad thazt you liked it! :-)

Date: 11/25/2011 - 03:29 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Great Job! I love the sarcastic humor between Adam and Lucy. So glad Adam got his girl. Next Kids? Definitely a PG-13 story...made me blush :0)

Author's Response:

Thanks, Bahj, for taking the tine to read it and letting me know what you think. I didn't know it was blush-worthy! :)

Date: 11/24/2011 - 12:01 am [Report This]
Title: Absolute Bearing Reviewer: lady cat Signed

It's a well written story, about Adam and Lucy,I enjoyed it very much



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it, lady cat. Thank you for reading.

Date: 11/23/2011 - 11:49 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.