You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

This is one of my favorite episodes, so I love the expansion of this story.

You describe, very well, the intimacy they shared in that small confined space.

Your dialogue is spot on...as always.

There wasn't much that got past Mr. Ben Cartwright was there? 😉

I love the ending and the surprises.  Especially their trust in each other and their enduring love that never fails.

Very well done!

 

Date: 05/05/2019 - 06:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Nice poignant story. It would have been nice if this could have been in the actual episode.  :)

Date: 05/27/2018 - 12:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
Pony, this was a beautiful, beautiful story. I enjoyed witnessing the closeness of the family, as they pondered their possible deaths at the hand of the sheriff. I particularly liked family dynamics between Adam and Hoss.

As a joegal, I was thrilled to hear that Joe had honestly beaten the other challengers-with the exception of Liam, on his own. I thought that the arm-wrestling story was a perfect partnering with the story line of the ep, where the family is forced to wait it out, hoping against hope that Joe would be able to pull of his mission and rescue his father and brothers, in time.

Author's Response:

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much! The Gamble is one of my favorite episodes and I really enjoyed exploring the possibilities with this "missing scene." I'm glad you enjoyed this too, my friend. 

Date: 09/21/2013 - 04:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Patina Signed

Fantastic WHIB, my shallow friend.  Artie will soon be proved wrong!  The love Adam and Hoss have for their younger brother clearly shows through.  How can the remaining Cartwrights not be confident that Joe will come to their rescue?  



Author's Response:

Patina, my intellectual friend - I agree! Joe ALWAYS came through for his family, because they ALWAYS came through for him. That's what family is all about! And on that note ... thank you for coming through for me with such a lovely review. I truly appreciate it.

Date: 09/20/2013 - 05:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Liz Signed

This should have been in the episode, perfect scene between Ben, Adam and Hoss.  Oh yeah, Joe definitely have what it takes.  Great story Pony!



Author's Response:

LOL - well, I have to admit, I kinda wish the scriptwriters had consulted me on this one too! Thank you so very much, Calamity Liz. I agree, Joe's definitely got what it takes! 

Date: 09/02/2013 - 07:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed
Wonderful and well written story. Enjoyed it.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Fan! I always appreciate your kind words.

Date: 08/21/2013 - 09:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

I love The Gamble and loved your "in depth" description of that scene in the jail.  Ain't no doubt about it that Cowboy of ours is a very strong guy, don't let his size fool ya.  Great story, Pony.  



Author's Response:

NO DOUBT! You said it, girl. Joe was the model for that old cliche, it ain't the size of the dog in the fight ... it's the size of the fight in the dog! 

Date: 08/18/2013 - 10:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

I enjoyed reading this. Ben , Adam and Hoss knows that Little Joe will come through for them. As for Liam he knew the man that Little Joe had become and that is why he let him win that fight. He gave Little Joe the respect that he needed.



Author's Response:

Respect was so important to Joe, and he EARNED IT. Thank you for these kind words, mo1427 ... I appreciate your review! 

Date: 08/18/2013 - 09:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

What a clever stretch of the scene, well worthy of inclusion into the original episode.

True LJ never lacked the courage of his convictions or stepping up to the plate, but when one has the backing of elder brother Adam, an big brother Hoss not forgetting Pa, a family that were always there for him, the 'Gamble' became much more of an even bet...well worked story Patina.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I agree, with a family like that, they could not lose! - from pony 

Date: 08/18/2013 - 09:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: steffie1304 Signed

That was terrific, pony! I loved the story about Little Joe told by his family. It is nice to see how much they care about each other and you did a great job portaying Little Joe. Well done!



Author's Response:

The Cartwrights really DID care for one another and that's why we love them so much. Thank you for these very kind words! 

Date: 08/17/2013 - 06:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

Lovely story, Pony! Joe does have what it takes and he proved himself over and over but he wouldn't be the person we know had it not been for his family. That they loved him is obvious and Joe is the compilation of all the facets of their love, direction, subterfuge (LOL) and indulgence. 

I enjoyed this extension of the story about Joe and the Bucket of Blood, etc.



Author's Response:

"... subterfuge ..." Girl, you KNOW I really did laugh out loud on that one! Thanks for such an insightful and positive review. I am really glad you enjoyed this little story, my friend!

Date: 08/16/2013 - 07:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tracy Signed

What a wonderful glimpse into the tense and fearful moments of The Gamble. 



Author's Response:

It really was a suspensive scene! We know there is (usually) a happy ending for the Cartwrights but it was really fun to explore this "missing scene." Glad you enjoyed it, Tracy ... thank you so much for your kind words and for being a wonderful friend. 

Date: 08/16/2013 - 06:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Perfect! It's the conversation that they should have had in the episode had the writiers had the time or desire to expand on the family dynamics. I appreciate that you took the time to share this story.



Author's Response:

The Gamble is one of my favorite eps and I have to admit, I kinda wish ML had thought of this scene before I did, haha! Thanks so much for your kind words! 

Date: 08/16/2013 - 05:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed

I've just reread this story again and it was better the second time round.  It's wonderfully written and has great dialogue between the family.  Joe is so true to character and love the ending.



Author's Response:

Wow, a "Return Read!" That's high praise, and I really appreciate it. Thank you, Bejules! 

Date: 08/16/2013 - 04:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

That is a great story about Joe and explains a lot about his character, and the love the four of them have for each other.



Author's Response:

I love exploring Joe's character, and really appreciate you taking the time to read/review my stories. Thank you, BettyHT!

Date: 08/16/2013 - 03:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed

A wonderful addition to the scene in the jail cell and a very believable end to the conversation - the dialogue as always very true to character.  I'm glad Joe earned his respect.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Those kind words are music to a writer's ear. Thank you so very much ... I am truly touched by your review, Bejules. 

Date: 07/05/2013 - 03:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Great story. I love and miss your writing. I too had wondered about that specific memory. 



Author's Response:
Date: 12/24/2011 - 04:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Wow, I love the way you let the dialgue tell the story~first wtih Hoss and Adam, and then with Ben adding his piece.  I also loved the way you finished the story so subltly with Ben saying that Liam did let Joe win...but respected him, which is what Joe needed.  Very realistic and true to what I know about the characters!  Thanks for sharing this story with us!



Author's Response:
Date: 12/12/2011 - 03:25 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

Great story pony well written



Author's Response:

Thank you, Pam! I appreciate your positive review!

Date: 12/04/2011 - 01:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: smarti Signed

Great story Pony!  I love that you took that small moment from The Gamble and built such a wonderful story around it.  You know our Cartwrights very well and it shows in your writing!  Love that last paragraph!  Thanks for sharing!

 

 



Author's Response:

REALLY appreciate your kind words about "knowing our Cartwrights well" - I hope that is true; I sure study them a lot, haha! Thank you so much for this very generous review. I'm so happy you liked this story, and especially the closing lines!

Date: 11/26/2011 - 03:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adams fan Signed

Really a good story with a wonderful premise.  It went right into my favorite file.  Thank you so much,

 

martha

 

 



Author's Response:

Wow - going into a 'favorite' file is a wonderful compliment!!! That means a lot to me, adams fan. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story. I'm glad you liked the premise and again, I really appreciate your kind words.

Date: 11/22/2011 - 09:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: nyspats Signed

I love your version of the circumstances. You write very well.



Author's Response:

It's always a pleasure to read your reviews, nyspats. I really appreciate your kind and encouraging words. I'm glad you liked "The Gamble's Payoff" and this version of the "missing scene."

Date: 11/22/2011 - 02:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lady cat Signed

What a wonderful story.I liked it very much. It is very well written



Author's Response:

Thank you for this kind review, lady cat! I really appreciate your taking the time to read/review 'The Gamble's Payoff.' Thank you also for the nice compliment. :)

Date: 11/21/2011 - 10:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Englishgirl Signed

I enjoyed this very much. I love the scene in the prison cell that you based this on,  and you developed it perfectly giving the background to the story Adam and Hoss told.

Thank you for sharing this beautifully told story.



Author's Response:

I really appreciate this review, Englishgirl! That scene has always intrigued me too. I am so glad to know you were pleased with the way I developed "the rest of the story" from that scene. ML gave us some wonderful material to work with. I really DO wonder what he was thinking when he added that line about the hand wrestling contest, and hope my story came close to what he may have had in mind!

Date: 11/21/2011 - 08:53 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.