Reviews For A Hatful of Guilt
You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

What a ride! Thanks for posting this, Patina!



Author's Response: Thank you, Annie K, for reading and taking the time to let me know you enjoyed it.
Date: 10/03/2016 - 10:16 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

That was my first WHI-Story. That was definitely an alternative storyline. Poor Adam - lost his hearing, but he didn't loose his humor at the end. I liked it how you brought Hop Sing into the story. When Ben talked to Elisabeth was so touching. Great story- well written - enjoyed it much.



Author's Response: Thank you, adamsgermangirl. I'm glad to know you took a chance on reading this story and enjoyed it.
Date: 09/11/2016 - 12:51 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Candy_Girl Signed

Very nice! A good read indeed! It was quite lengthy, but it was good, had me on the edge of my seat reading it. I loved the plot and the way you brought the characters to life in this. It was quite funny to me when Adam couldn't hear well. I loved Hop Sing's character in this story, you really made him an important motivational figure. When Adam was shot again, I was like "AHHHHH!" You really know how to draw in an audience. Great ending. Thanks for sharing, Patina!



Author's Response: Thank you, Candy_Girl. I'm glad to know the story held your interest from beginning to end. Thank you for letting me know how much you enjoyed it.
Date: 09/05/2016 - 02:09 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

This different story line of 'No less a man' was an interesting read. It is amazing how you describe the different kind of guilt they were all thinking of. Love the way Hop Sing is taking care of his 'family'. 



Author's Response: Thank you, AdamCult2b, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 06/19/2016 - 06:03 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Great story, patina. The Ponderosa would not survive without Hop Sing. Thanks for sharing with us.



Author's Response: Thank you, LMC, for reading and taking the time to leave a review.
Date: 02/09/2015 - 11:22 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: nyspats Signed

I really liked this version of the story. Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know, spats.  I appreciate it!

Date: 04/11/2012 - 01:01 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: PERNELLSulli Signed

that´s where brothers for...great story ,like your writing style very much and I am really glad that the most of your stories are ADAM ff...thank you



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, PERNELLSulli!  I'm thrilled to know you enjoy my stories.  Thank you very much for the lovely compliments.

Date: 04/10/2012 - 01:54 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: lady cat Signed

A good story about brotherhood. I liked it very much



Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed it, lady cat.

Date: 01/19/2012 - 07:38 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: scooterzcat Signed

great story



Author's Response:

Thank you, Scoot.

Date: 06/23/2011 - 06:15 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Sheena Signed

Great story.  Certainly a lot of guilt going on, but then it's lovely to see the relief and forgiveness in the end.  I enjoyed it.  



Author's Response:

Thank you, Sheena, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 06/21/2011 - 07:24 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: deansgirl Signed
I must confess that I never saw "No Less a Man" so this story was very interesting for me. as always, though, Patina comes through with excellent taste and charm. Poor Adam who lost his hearing. The fact that everyone stayed so true to character held me entranched and my little 10 year old sister loved Hop Sing's role. She kept begging me to reread all the Hop Sing parts so I know you scored a winner with her, Patina. An although I love Adam I do not suffer from SAS. Nevertheless, I could hardly put the story down and I found myself catching my breathe several times during the course of the story. Patina, you have scored another winner, as they say in Guys and Dolls, and I am grateful you shared it with us.

Now I have to go watch "No Less a Man." :)


Author's Response:

Thank you, deansgirl!  I am so thrilled to know that your little sister enjoyed Hop Sing's part and asked you to keep reading to her.  And I'm so happy to know that this story kept you riveted.  I hope you watched and enjoyed No Less a Man.

Date: 06/21/2011 - 04:05 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Gillie Signed

I really enjoyed Hop Sing's role in this story.  He is funny, practical, and wise! I love when Hop Sing says to Adam, just six words. “You not child. Accept fate. Live.” With that, Hop Sing left the room and shut the door behind him. I have not seen this ep for a long time. I think it's time!!! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I appreciate knowing that you enjoyed Hop Sing's contributions.  Hope you watched No Less a Man and enjoyed it!

Date: 06/21/2011 - 04:12 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: OhAdam Signed

I enjoyed reading the inner thoughts of each of the characters in this story as they worked through the guilt they felt regarding their role in The Wagner gang's run through Virginia City. Everyone stayed true to character and I especially enjoyed Hop Sing's guidance as he helps Adam accept the fact that he may suffer permanent hearing loss. I love stories where the Cartwrights pull together and this is a good example of their unity. No way were the others going to let Adam possibly face the murderous gang alone and Ben even gives Adam the "don't let your pride get in the way of asking for help" speech reminiscent of the one he gives Joe in The Quest.



Author's Response:

Thank you, OA--especially for letting me know what worked well in this story.  No Less a Man is one of my favorite eps, but I've often wondered what would've happened if Roy left because he was angry with the town council and Adam.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Date: 06/21/2011 - 02:45 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: No1butjoe Signed

Definitely a different take on the episode, but I liked it! I've never read a story where one of the Cartwrights lose their hearing. Very interesting! A great story, Patina!



Author's Response:

Thank you, No1.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this variation on No Less a Man.

Date: 04/22/2011 - 08:59 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Patina excellent as always. I like how you used Hop Sing, he doesn't get enough credit for how he helps the Cartwrights.   What a difference in the story just by Roy's reaction.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, af!  Hop Sing does much more than we ever get to see, doesn't he?  I've often wondered how different the episode would've been if Roy had given into his anger and left.  Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 01/07/2011 - 02:59 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

Wow...definitely much more action than the episode that aired.  The guilt that hovered around the various characters shadowed their clear thinking.  I loved the paragraph where Hoss comforts Adam.  That boy is a rock.  I also like the way Ben describes his relationship to Adam when he is "speaking" to Elizabeth.

Thanks for a great story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lillian.  I enjoy No Less a Man but wonder what would've happened if Roy left.  Hoss is very protective of his brothers, even though he isn't always very subtle about it. Thank you for letting me know what you enjoyed about this story.

Date: 10/10/2010 - 11:22 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: adamant Signed

Poor Adam! Shot twice, temporarliy deaf, wood shrapnel--he certainly took a beating in this story! Interesting change on the original story line; there was rational for the actions that changed the course of the story. Good character development and good resoloution to all the conflicts.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Ant.  Adam went through the wringer in this story.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Date: 09/30/2010 - 07:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: pam Signed

good story



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam.

Date: 08/19/2010 - 11:31 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Excellent! The Cs at their best - protecting each other and those they love!



Author's Response: Thank you, Tracy. Ben and his sons are like the Musketeers--one for all and all for one. I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 06/29/2010 - 06:15 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Tracy Signed

I enjoyed your story. Roy always seemed like a Cartwright uncle to me - he watched the boys grow up, something we never got to do!

Ben talking to Liz was very touching.

You are quite a talent, patina!



Author's Response: Thank you, Tracy. I'm humbled by your compliments. I like to think that Roy is one of Ben's oldest friends. The boys knew they could turn to him for advice and guidance when they needed to. I'm pleased that you enjoyed Ben's conversation with Elizabeth.
Date: 06/27/2010 - 09:29 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

What trememdous love this family has for one another. I could jst feel the love flowing as I read. I liked this story a great deal.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  The Cartwrights truly are one for all and all for one, aren't they? 

Date: 04/05/2010 - 12:59 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed

"No Less a Man" is one of my favorite Adam drama episodes, so I thoroughly enjoyed this story!  You write so well!  Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adam'sGirl!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed my re-imagining of one of your favorite episodes.

Date: 11/08/2009 - 05:19 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: AdamsSmile Signed

I enjoyed reading your story.  Excellent!



Author's Response:

Thank you, AdamsSmile!

Date: 02/27/2009 - 02:34 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: repete Signed

Very nice alternative to the "No Less a Man" episode.

 Well done.



Author's Response: Thank you, repete!  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this WHI.
Date: 12/01/2008 - 12:07 am [Report This]
Title: A Hatful of Guilt Reviewer: Terina Signed
Great story.  Loved the shouting.  Brings back memories of grandparents who were hard of hearing from too many years in a cotton mill.  We used to have conversations like that.

Author's Response: Thank you, Terina.  Conversations with my dad have become that way since he doesn't like to wear his hearing aid.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 10/21/2008 - 01:43 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.