Reviews For A Sound Mind
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

I read this story back in 2012.  It retains it's power of loss, vulnerability, raw reality and the realisation that determination of will and brotherly love can overcome agony and dispair.  Adam and Joe are delicately carved with human frailty and failings which with the horror lurking in the background is all the more believable.  Very worthy of a repeated read.  



Author's Response:

Thank you, ansi, for tackling this story again. It's not a pleasant story but as you've noted, it's about family support which is most neded in bad times. Appreciate your review and the kind words about my writing.

Date: 03/06/2019 - 10:25 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

I love a good Adam/Joe story! Joe had a terrible ordeal to go through to which he blamed himself. He thought he had to get through it all alone until he was with Adam to mark trees and Adam helped Joe and Adam himself recall when Joe was much younger and used to cling to Adam when he was in turmoil. This was the beginning of Joe getting the help he needed and brought Adam and Joe closer as brothers. Terrific story!



Author's Response:

Thank you, daisy. This isn't an "enjoyable" story but it is a story about relationships and family. Thanks for reading and leaving a review. It made me feel better to know people are still reading.

Date: 05/14/2018 - 11:50 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

Interesting insight into both brothers.  What a horrific scenario.  Thanks.  



Author's Response:

Thank you for finding the time during this busy holiday season to read this little story; I am not overly familiar with Joe's character except for how he relates to his brothers.

Have a joyous holiday!

Date: 12/23/2016 - 12:20 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

I cried for Joe! I could see everything as if I were watching it on TV. I loved the connection between Joe & Adam! The love that you just know is always there, is explained as to how it started when they were children. Beautiful!!! 


Thank you so very much for this!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate that you saw the depth of the relationship between Joe and Adam even though there were so many years between them that Adam became almost a second father. I appreciate your comments.

Date: 05/26/2016 - 04:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierra Girl Signed

I just discovered this little gem while searching for another of your stories to review. As always with your work it was wonderfully written. You have a real talent for writing - really believable dialogue and plotting. And what a lovely depiction of family and one brother ignoring the verbal abuse he receives to help another brother in need. It's sometimes hard to not snap back even when one knows the other person doesn't really, deep down inside, mean it and is just using it as a defence mechanism like Little Joe does. And the references to the Crucible are refreshingly subtle. I really enjoyed reading it. I'm looking out for your stories now... :-)



Author's Response:

How nice you are! This is one of my favorites and so I'm always glad when someone else likes it so much. I tried to delineate the relationship that I felt developed between Adam and Joe since there was (depending on the source) 12 to 14 years between the characters; Adam wouldn't be able to help from taking a paternal/fraternal view of his "baby" brother. If you read any other of my stories, I hope you find something in them to like as well.  Thank you.

Date: 11/27/2015 - 07:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Penny Signed

Good little story!!  Thank God for family - they are always there for you no matter what!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading this story--it is one of my favorites.

Date: 09/20/2013 - 01:28 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: jul Signed

Wonderful story, Adamant. Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it, jul. Thank you for letting me know that you did.

Date: 08/11/2013 - 09:33 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Great build-up of the tension and then the revelation of why Joe was that way was superb.  Adam's calmness and compassion were very well developed especially with his admittance of what he saw as his own hell.  Bravo



Author's Response:

Thsnk you, BettyHT. It's always rewarding when someone finds an old story and enjoys it. I believe that everyone (and since I try to present the C's as actual people) carries around their own hell, some worse than others, so Adam would as well. Thanks again.

Date: 07/14/2013 - 03:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ljac Signed

I LOVE this story!  I've read it several times, but am just now reviewing--too lazy before, I guess.  What an incredible story of the bond between Adam and Joe. Also, the storyline is so compelling.  Absolutely wonderful and heartbreaking.



Author's Response:

ljac, I'm so glad that you love this story since it's one of my favorites (some I wish didn't have my name attached! :-D ) I know many fans see Adam's and Joe's relationship as contentious but I don't see it that way at all. Since there is such a great age difference between the two brothers, I think Adam viewed Joe in a slightly paternal way and tried to show it.

And I also wondered if people read stories more than once--thank you for letting me know that some do and also for letting me know what you thought of the story. I appreciate it. (I thought people didn't review because they didn't like it after they read it!)

Date: 01/07/2013 - 10:44 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a moving story. You could just feel the pain that Little Joe was in. So glad that Adam and Little Joe had that time together and that Adam was able to help him and what was so special was  that by helping Little Joe Adam was able to get some peace himself.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo1427, for letting me know your thoughts on the story. I appreciate that you found this to read and took the time to comment. And yes, they both found peace.

Date: 11/18/2012 - 10:08 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

l was reminded of this today in another forum, l think it was one of the first stories l read not just of yours but in the Library, l took as much pleasure and enjoyment this time around as with the first read, brotherly love portrayed so beautifully and eloquently.

Always IMO a good story is worthy of a second, third or as many readings as one requires, just like rewatching a BZ re-run.



Author's Response:

Ansinico, how nice of you to read the story again and to let me know how much you liked it. There are some stories I have read more than once and, as you said about reruns or, for me as well, the second time a movie is watched, they are worth it because I always catch something I missed the first time around. Thanks!

Date: 09/30/2012 - 02:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Flaming Dragonfly Signed

What a great story!  I hated to see it end.  The characters are true to the show, and you have a real talent for writing.  I can't wait to read more of your stories.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliment; I'm flattered that you think I remained true to the characters as depicted in the series. I also appreciate that you let me know what you thought of the story. Just as a sidenote--dragonflies have been keeping me company whenever I've been outside recently--even going so far as to land on me--so I smiled when I saw your username.  :-D

Date: 09/02/2012 - 10:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Your story took me through a whole range of emotions, Ant.  First I was annoyed at Joe, and then sympathetic after the description of Orin's end.  Adam as the stable, loving older brother made me smile.  Thanks so much for posting!  I enjoyed your story very much.



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked the story, Gillie. I wanted to write a story that might explore why Joe would have a laudanum addiction. Glad that it worked. Thanks for reading.

Date: 06/20/2012 - 06:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: MarieD Signed

This is thoughtfully written, I enjoyed it



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked the story and thank you for taking the time to let me know.

Date: 06/17/2012 - 05:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Very powerful and emotional story!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading the story and commenting. I hope that means you liked it!  :)

Date: 04/11/2012 - 02:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

great story



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you think so. Thank you for reading.

Date: 11/13/2011 - 12:41 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Englishgirl Signed

Adamant another dark story. It was no wonder Joe was so haunted by what he witnessed. I also liked the touches of humour, had to laugh out loud when Adam said if Joe was a dog he'd shoot him.

Thanks for another great read.



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked it, Englishgirl. I appreciate the fact that you always let me know what you think. Thanks!

Date: 11/11/2011 - 10:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: choklit Signed

So intense.  What a horrible experience for Joe.  Isn't he fortunate to have a brother like Adam (& Hoss), whose love never fails him or the family.  Thank you for sharing your talent with us, Adamant.



Author's Response:

I'm more than happy to share my stories, especially with those who like them Thank you.

Date: 10/29/2011 - 01:30 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

What a powerful, sad and tender story this is, the relationship between Adam and Joe is portrayed beautifully, Adam taking his father's role, regaining the closeness he had previously had with his brother and of course identifying through his own experiences the horror that Joe was daily having to cope with, it drew me in from the first line.  You have an lovely easy flow to your writing, l must read some more of your work.



Author's Response:

ansinico, I checked my email this morning and saw that someone had reviewed this story so I wanted to thank you for doing so. I appreciate your positive review and hope that if you read more of my stories, that you like them as well; we fan-fic writers never know unless someone tells us, and I appreciate that you did. :)  

Date: 08/10/2011 - 10:09 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Kimberly Signed

I loved this story. The description was really good and I thought I was watching an episode.



Author's Response:

I'm flattered by your comments. I'm glad that you liked it so much. Thank you for reading.

Date: 08/04/2011 - 12:04 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: faust Signed

It's a very interesting subject that you chose here. If only the solution were so easy in real life. <sigh>



Author's Response:

That's the good thing about writing fiction--we can make happen what we like.

Date: 07/14/2011 - 01:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pjhomerak Signed

So true,we all do carry that bit of insanity that we need to be vigilant against.  thank you



Author's Response:

You're welcome. And thanks for reading this--I tried to show that although most peopple are basically good, everyone can be pushed to resort to anomalous behavior. And I also wanted to show the love between Adam and Joe who had such an age difference.

Date: 07/12/2011 - 06:22 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Maria Vaz Signed

This story is strong and engaging, despite being short to develop such deep emotions. It holds our attention from beginning to end and, like every good story, it leaves us with a desire to continuity.
The author manages to make us fully visualize the scenes described here, including some very dramatic.
In contrast to the scenes of real terror experienced by Little Joe, the author offers other absolutely sweet, between Joe and his older brother, both in mutual adoration.
I love those moments between Joe and Adam and I recommend this story to all who like them too.
For me, the misery experienced by Joe serves only as background for the most important thing that is the relationship between the brothers that are a little like father and son and also to warn about the importance of families to be aware of the possible dependencies that the most vulnerable may develop.



Author's Response:

Maria Vaz, what a wonderful review! Youe words let people know what to expect if they read the story. Muchas gracias, amiga.

Date: 07/12/2011 - 04:08 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

very good story, thanks



Author's Response:

You're welcome. Thank you for reading.

Date: 07/11/2011 - 12:38 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lady cat Signed

Very well written



Author's Response:

Thank you for saying so and for remarking.

Date: 07/10/2011 - 09:20 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.