Reviews For Love's Labor
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Sierras Signed

This is my second reading of this story. This is a very riveting story. I was even a little scared even though I knew everyone would be okay. I really like that ending. I love JAM. That moment at the end is poignant and very nice.

Date: 03/14/2021 - 05:34 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: IMSLES Signed

Aw, what a sweet big brother. 

A well written, intense birth story.

 

~~Sue

Date: 05/03/2020 - 05:33 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Exciting, and poignant.  I love the ending.  :)



Author's Response: Thank you, Sierras, for reading and taking the time to leave a review.
Date: 03/04/2018 - 07:30 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

This was a wonderful story. I enjoyed especiellay what Adam said to Little Joe when he was born. I liked it so much when Hoss asked Adam: Are there rules for being a big brother? That was so touching.



Author's Response: Thank you, adamsgermangirl, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 09/04/2016 - 11:50 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
This story was well done, from start to finish. I loved your descriptions, Patina, and the way you brought Hop Sing's use of herbs into play. The first time I read this story I cried, and you made me cry this time around, too!

Author's Response:

Thank you, JoesGal.  And thank you for reading more than once--that's music to a writer's ears.

Date: 09/21/2013 - 03:12 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Penny Signed

Awwww!!!!  You had me nervious for a moment there



Author's Response:

Thank you, Penny.  Glad you enjoyed it.

Date: 09/11/2013 - 12:54 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a beautiful story. I was on pins and needle the whole time. Could feel the fear the Adam and Hoss was feeling. So glad that everything turned out ok. Adam is such a good brother, loved what he said to Little Joe when he was born.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo.  Adam and Hoss must have been excited but scared at the same time.  Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for letting me know what you loved most.

Date: 05/27/2013 - 09:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: JoesAussieGal Signed

I have read this story numerous times and love it very much.



Author's Response:

Thank you, JAG.  I'm thrilled to know you enjoy this story so much you've read it several times.  :)

Date: 07/03/2012 - 12:20 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: lady cat Signed

A very good story. I enjoyed it very much.



Author's Response:

Thank you, lady cat.

Date: 03/12/2012 - 08:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Gillie Signed

What an ending!  Patina that was wonderful.  Every moment was just riveting and so very believable.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 10/05/2011 - 05:45 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

Pass the Kleenex, please. Awesome, patina.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, mysterygirl!

Date: 07/01/2010 - 12:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Oh good story...Adam is soemtimes portrayed as being unemotional and standoffish...you hit the real Adam's character right on the nose. What a sweet speech...



Author's Response:

Thank you, Angelface!  I always hope I've captured the men we know and love when I write a story, so it's always an absolute thrill when a reviewer lets me know I've succeeded. 

Date: 06/15/2010 - 08:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Loved this story!!

"You’re going to have the childhood I never got to have." ~~ I cried when I read this! Poor Adam!  Thanks for writing. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy.  Awww---I'm pleased to know how this story touched you.

Date: 11/29/2009 - 09:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Terina Signed

You did it to me again, Patina, you got me crying.  I can see Adam enjoying Joe's childhood.



Author's Response:

Awww--I'm sorry to cause you sniffles, Terina.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 07/18/2009 - 03:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: VStevens Signed

Good one! I wonder what he whispered into Hoss's ear when he was born?



Author's Response:

Thank you, VStevens!  Adam hasn't told me if he whispered anything to baby Hoss.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/03/2009 - 12:12 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: pony Signed
Amazing story, patina. I could feel the range of emotions right along with the Cartwright family ... Love the ending, and yes, I'm sure Adam did reflect on that very special moment - probably many times during his life. Thanks again for a beautiful narrative.

Author's Response: Thank you, pony!  Ben must have been so worried that he'd lose Marie in childbirth and Marie must have been so worried about the possibliity of losing another child.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 12/05/2008 - 10:07 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Dori Signed
I am so happy that Marie and the baby made it. Loved the part at the end when 20 years later you told what Adam had said to the baby.

Author's Response: Thank you, Dori!  Adam must have been over the moon to have a new baby in the house to fuss over.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/02/2008 - 11:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed
A wonderful story. I am glad Marie and Joe both lived,

Author's Response: Thank you, Fan. I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 09/24/2008 - 08:32 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: attiecat Signed
Adam was so sweet to comfort Hoss.  Great job!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Attie.  Adam had an idea of what to expect since he probably heard babies being born during his time with the wagon train.  Little Hoss was worried that he'd lose the only mother he'd ever known.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!

Date: 09/04/2008 - 06:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: LifesMagic Signed
Very powerful...Wonderfully written.  I, too, was tense even though I know what happens.  Loved how you had Adam remember the words he spoke to his newborn brother 20 years later...Very touching!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, LifesMagic!  Even though we all know how it turns out, everyone must have been worried and terrified during the actual experience.  Adam must have fallen in love with his newest brother from the moment he first laid eyes on him.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!!!
Date: 08/26/2008 - 08:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: weavereb Signed
Fantastic story Patina!  Even though I knew what would happen, you still had me on the edge of my seat!

Author's Response: Thank you, Elisha!  I'm glad to know you were worried for everyone even though you knew how it would all turn out. 
Date: 08/22/2008 - 12:18 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
Wow, Patina, this is fantastic! Only three fanfic stories have ever made me cry-this was one of them!

Author's Response: Thank you, JoesGal!  I hope that's a good thing that I made you cry.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/20/2008 - 12:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: barb Signed
This is a lovely story.  Poor little Hoss was so frightened, and Adam was again given a great deal of resposibility.  It's easy to imagine in My Brothers Keeper as Adam set with Joe, his mind going back to the first time he held Little Joe in his arms, and the feeling of love and protection he felt for his little brother.  Wonderful story, enjoyed it very much.

Author's Response: Thank you, barb!  Adam had been around when Hoss was born and had a slight idea of what to expect but poor Hoss had no idea.  Adam loved Joe from the moment he was born and would never intentionally do him harm, which is why he had to have been so broken up in My Brother's Keeper.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/15/2008 - 04:17 am [Report This]
Title: Love's Labor Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Oh my gosh!   This was so wonderful!   I worried right along with Adam and Hoss, Ben, the Doctor and Hop Sing...

  I shed a tear when I read 'Ben went over to his office and walked around the desk. Partially underneath were the boys. Adam was hugging Hoss to him and rocking his brother. Ben knelt down and placed his arms around Adam’s shoulders. Then he hugged his boys to him. These two were precious reminders of precious lives. If both Marie and the baby died, he would have nothing left of her.'

Thanks you so much

Eva



Author's Response:  Thank you, Eva!  Marie's labor and Joe's birth must have been terrifying for Adam and Hoss--Adam afraid he'd lose another loved one and Hoss just scared by what he didn't understand.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/03/2008 - 03:57 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.