You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I enjoyed this very much.

Your characterization of Joe is pitch perfect.

Very good descriptive writing.  You take the reader right into the harrowing situations.

I like the emotional depth you take the characters in.  Good stuff!

And the ending was... so Joe...so Bonanza...so good.

Well done! 

 

Date: 01/15/2019 - 07:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

I loved this story. It's my second or third time reading it, and let me say, I always get chills when I read it. Such a situation would be horrible in real life, but even so, I can imagine how Ben felt seeing both his sons suffer so much.

The ending was wonderful. It's just like Joe to go back to his old ways. Thank you!

Date: 11/24/2017 - 04:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Great little story, AnnieK.  Joe does seem to always 'find' trouble whether it be helping someone or doing the deed himself.  Thanks for sharing with us 

Date: 10/27/2017 - 06:15 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

A good story, and the characters were perfect. Joe, as always, is impulsive and rebellious. His intentions are good, but he doesn't think things through. I loved the comedy at the end with Joe nailing Adam's underwear up where everyone would see them. 

Date: 08/19/2017 - 05:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: RedShirt Signed

What a well-told tale. Good characterizations of all the Cartwrights, and an enjoyable story on top of it -- especially once we see that all the injured boys recover. Thanks for writing this for us!



Author's Response:

Aww, thanks, RedShirt!  :D

Date: 08/16/2017 - 09:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Plato of the Ponderosa Signed

Wow, Annie, you had some excellent, vivid descriptions. Joe's character especially was spot on: that spark of pride driving him to do reckless things, followed by piteous regret when he's hurt and just wants his Pa! I'm glad Ben was able to set his fears of divine judgment at rest in the end. Good theology has a way of doing that. ;) 

The incident with the tree was terrifying. I saw a tree fall on my dad once, and it was one of the most heart-pounding moments of my life. 

And I enjoyed the mention of "Kathleen Mavourneen." It's a beautiful old song and one of my favorites. 

Keep up the good work! 



Author's Response:

Aww! Thanks, PotP! I was pleasantly surprised at this story's reception when I first posted it--after all it was my very first try at fanfiction of any kind. 

That must have been terrifying! I've never seen a tree fall on anyone--well other than on movies, but that doesn't really count. I hope he wasn't hurt too badly. 

The first time I heard "Kathleen Mavourneen" was on the film "Gettysburg"; I quickly fell in love with the song and I couldn't miss a chance to put it in a story and share it with others. 

Thanks again!

Date: 08/14/2017 - 12:44 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Terrific story!  I think you captured all four Cartwrights' personalities very well, and I really enjoyed the plot. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, CG@Heart! I think that's the highest praise a body could receive! :)

Date: 04/16/2017 - 11:01 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

Oh my, Little Joe certainly knows how to get himself up to his neck in trouble, doesn't he? And in this story he has a little friend finding trouble, too.

Thank goodness that Joe's family doesn't give up easily and kept looking for him and Danny.

 

Date: 06/19/2015 - 10:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ullswater Signed

loved it

Date: 02/05/2014 - 10:37 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

well writtening I am so happy Joe recovered at the end great story

Date: 09/22/2012 - 11:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: nyspats Signed

Joe managed to get in some messes. Enjoyable read.

Date: 02/16/2012 - 06:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: idmarryhoss Signed

An adventurous prequel of some fears, emotion, hurt - and comedy.

Date: 06/08/2011 - 08:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: deansgirl Signed

Wonderful story.  I am commenting in the forum. :)

Date: 06/08/2011 - 12:15 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: OhAdam Signed

I found this story very suspenseful and descriptive.
For example: "It was the worst three hours of all of their lives. The wind howled like a coyote at the hidden moon, raindrops pelting their barely protected bodies with the impact of stone on flesh. Even though at least two of the men new the Ponderosa like the backs of their hands, everything looked so different in the pitch black of the night that they made their way home by the trial and error method. When the ranch house again came into view, all three of the victims were deathly silent. Ben gave a sigh of relief when he caught sight of a familiar rig tied to the hitch rail."

The details are so vivid in some of the descriptions I could almost feel the rain hitting me!
Annie also did a good job of keeping the characters true. Would Joe disobey his father and go looking for his young friend? Heck yes. Would Ben suffer as much as his injured sons? Again, yes.
This was a great story for first attempt or not! Keep writing Annie!

 

Date: 06/06/2011 - 03:00 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Gillie Signed

I enjoyed your story with all the vivid descriptions of the injuries, the raging weather, and the emotions that raged as well.  There was as much going on inside the characters as outside. Joe is his impulsive self, as usual, rushing off to join in the search for young Danny.  Hoss gets to be the steadfast one, the anchor that Pa relies on.  And each event as it unfolded invited me to keep reading to find out what happened next.  Great story! Thanks!

Date: 06/05/2011 - 11:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Annie - you've written a story full of suffering Joe with a touch of suffering Adam tossed in for good measure!

Of course, whenever one of the boys suffers, that really means that the story is about Ben suffering the most. And Annie portrays that very well.

True to cartwright form, when someone is in trouble, in this case, Danny, the Cs rally to help. So it's no wonder that Joe couldn't stay put when Ben, Hoss and Adam couldn't either! Everone chipped in to find the little boy and we wouldn't have it any other way!

Thanks for a great story, Annie!

Date: 06/03/2011 - 09:05 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sheena Signed

Wow, that was dramatic. What a mess they got into. Glad everything turned out ok in the end! :-)  



Author's Response:

Hahaha! Yep, a BIG mess to be sure. Thank you for reading and commenting on my story! :)

Date: 06/03/2011 - 05:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

Well, if a reader like to see Joe suffer, this is it! LOL Well-written story and Joe behaves as Joe should. Glad to see that Joe recovered at the end to return to his good nature of practical jokes.



Author's Response:

Oooooh! I'm soooo glad you liked it; I get extremely excited when other people tell me what they think of my writing! Thank you so much for you heartwarming review! Hugs to you!!

Date: 05/20/2011 - 07:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Good story  Little Joe always feeling the need to prove himself You got Joe's personality right.  



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much, Angelface1961!!! You have no idea what your praise does to my heart! Thanks again for reading and commenting on my small story. :)

Date: 05/18/2011 - 01:29 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.