You must login (register) to review.
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

A sweet and enlightening story.

Love your ideas and how you filled in the blanks of Adam's childhood.

To understand the adult Adam...you took us back to his early years and showed us the impact it had on him.

He had to grow up way too soon and I wonder if Ben will ever be able to understand that.

Really enjoyed this.

Date: 10/25/2018 - 06:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Poignant. A nice look back.

Date: 03/04/2018 - 04:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Plato of the Ponderosa Signed

Patina, this is such a touching glimpse into Ben's memories. The serious, responsible little-boy Adam hurts my heart, and the image of a chubby two-year-old Hoss flinging his arms around Hop Sing's legs is perfect. And it was very clever of Ben to bring up the fact that Adam had more experiences with babies than Marie had. :)

Thank you for this story. 

Date: 10/11/2017 - 12:40 am [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I like how this story ties together bits of information from several episodes to give a picture of Adam's childhood.  I enjoyed reading it.

Date: 04/14/2017 - 10:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

This was a very touching story. A story full of feelings. When Adam said he wants to live by his grandfather, tears came to my eyes. Thankfully Ben found the right words to concinced Adam to stay. Patina, you are a great writing talent.

Date: 07/31/2016 - 10:19 am [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Wow what a story and I loved how Ben is so patient and understanding where Adam is concerned. Looking forward to the next installment!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo.  I'm glad you're enjoying the series!

Date: 06/09/2013 - 07:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Lovely, lovely, lovely...!!!  What a wonderful bacwards glimpse into the early life of the family!  Thanks for sharing your work with us!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!

Date: 10/04/2011 - 10:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

I enjoyed reading about Ben's time building the Ponderosa and I loved the image of an angry Hop Sing scrubbing mortar off a little Hoss!  Very enjoyable story!



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29!  Prequels are my favorite to write.  Thank you for sharing your favorite parts with me.

Date: 07/19/2011 - 05:30 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

Nice scene between Adam and Ben, who handled things well. I am looking forward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl!  I'm so pleased to know  you're enjoying this series.

Date: 06/30/2010 - 09:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Dang my heart breaks for Adam...glad Ben is finally thinking and wanting to make sure his son feels appreciated and wanted. Going to look for the next part. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, Angelface.  It must have been easy for Ben to forget that his eldest son was still a boy when he was building his dream of a ranch in Nevada.  I'm so pleased to know you're enjoying this series.

Date: 06/15/2010 - 06:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: bshoptenor Signed

Touching story.  Great descriptions. Loving the series.



Author's Response:

Thank you, bshoptenor!  I'm so pleased to know you're enjoying this series.

Date: 10/22/2009 - 07:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Terina Signed

Patina you've got to quit making me cry.  Such a sweet story, focusing on Adam's working childhood.  No wonder Ben thought of him as a small adult and not a child.



Author's Response:

Aww, Terina--I'm sorry to cause the waterworks to turn on.  Adam had had to help out so much since childhood that it was probably hard for Ben to think of his son as a little boy.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 07/18/2009 - 09:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed

Lovely story, Patina!  So glad that Adam stayed home and didn't go live with his grandfather!  ;-)

As always, very nicely done! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, AdamsGirl!  Adam may have thought he wanted to leave but he had to hear that he was needed at home.  Good thing Pa realized that's what his son needed to hear. :)  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 01/28/2009 - 04:52 am [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: attiecat Signed
Really enjoyed the look back.

Author's Response: Thank you, Attie.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 09/05/2008 - 05:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: LifesMagic Signed
Thank you for this wonderful glimpse into the childhoods of Adam and Hoss.  You have to feel sorry for Adam, being forced to act as an adult so quickly.  He must feel like he missed out on some things.  But I'm sure he wouldn't change anything even if he had the chance.  Great story...Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you, LifesMagic!  Circumstances forced Adam was to grow up at an early age, so he never got the childhood Joe had.  I have to agree that he wouldn't have changed a thing.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story! 
Date: 08/22/2008 - 08:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: Dori Signed

Wonderful story, Adam had to grow up fast, and then thinking he wouldn't be needed wanted to go some where else he might be needed. In Ben's wonderful fatherly way he convinced him to stay, with just the right words.



Author's Response: Thank you, Dori!  Adam was so used to being needed he must have thought he wouldn't have a place with Marie in the house.  Ben knew just how to make Adam realize he was needed.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/17/2008 - 10:24 am [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: barb Signed

A very good story of Ben's reflections back on Adam and Hoss's childhoods.  Can't help wondering if Adam the man would have been the same, if he hadn't been forced to grow up so quickly.  Enjoyed the story.



Author's Response: Thank you, barb!  Adam had to shoulder so much responsibility at such a young age as Ben pursued his dream.  Hoss' childhood might have been a tiny bit easier with an older brother to look out for him.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/09/2008 - 11:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Remembering Childhoods Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Adam, you couldn't leave Hoss now.. no way ..

 I am loving this.  Even in pain Adam in stubborn, so much like his father...

Thanks again

Eva



Author's Response: Thank you, Eva.  Adam certainly inherited that Cartwright stubbornnes.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/03/2008 - 12:13 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.