Reviews For A Gift Horse
You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Nice story.



Author's Response: Thank you, Sierras.
Date: 03/04/2018 - 11:47 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I found this story deeply satisfying.  There are many hints throughout the series that Marie and Adam may have had difficulties in their relationship.  However, the way Ben talks about Marie makes me sure she loved Adam and Hoss very much and did her utmost to be a good new mother to them.  This story portrays that well.



Author's Response: Thank you, CowgirlAtHeart, for letting me know you enjoyed the story. Adam must have had a difficult time adjusting to a new mother and he surely tried her patience at times since he was a tween. I can't help but think that Adam did love Marie and that Marie loved all three of her sons.
Date: 01/31/2017 - 10:36 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

It was so cute how little Hoss remembered Pa that he promised Adam to buy him a horse. That's the lovely character of Hoss. To see Adam happy at the end - well written, Patina.



Author's Response: Thank you, adamsgermangirl, for letting me know you enjoyed the story.
Date: 07/25/2016 - 03:16 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

Enjoyable read 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adams Welsh Girl.

Date: 05/23/2014 - 01:06 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Penny Signed

Finely making progress al thanks to Hoss!!  Loving this story very much!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Penny.

Date: 09/10/2013 - 06:58 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: AdamandJoelover Signed
Great story. I always love reading about Adam as a child. He had to go through a lot but he was always mature for his age.

Author's Response:

Thank you, AdamandJoelover.  Adam may have had to grow up too fast but he must have sometimes been a wild child.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/24/2013 - 08:22 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a beautiful story and I love how so understanding Marie is where Adam is concerned and the ending was perfect.!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Mo.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 11/18/2012 - 12:07 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Calamity Signed

It's nice to see Adam pick out his Beauty but poor Hoss didn't get a horse. Adam sounds just like his age, good job.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Cal.  I always hope to plausibly portray Adam, Hoss, and Joe as the younger versions of themselves, so I'm pleased to hear I got Adam right. 

Date: 01/28/2012 - 05:43 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Gillie Signed

What a great story!  Your writing is seamless, and the details you supply go along way to paint the mood!  Loved the conversation between the two women--how it revealed Marie's strength.  All the characters rang true!  And Adam was happy at the end! Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.  And I'm thrilled to know that the characters are the Cartwrights we know and love.

Date: 05/24/2011 - 03:37 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Enjoyed seeing Adam receive Beauty - looks like there is a truce going on between him and Marie.  At least for now!



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd.  Adam and Marie are slowly getting used to one another.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/22/2011 - 11:12 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: BensReader Signed
I enjoyed this wonderful story. It is well written and I recommend it to others.

Author's Response:

Thank you, BensReader!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/19/2011 - 02:59 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: nyspats Signed

Adam's first horse. Figures it would be a chesnut with wihite socks. Lovely story. I enjoyed it very much.



Author's Response:

Thank you, spats.  I think Adam liked a horse that looked like Sport.

Date: 04/14/2011 - 03:43 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Heatherhill Signed
very nice story, read this first and noticed then it's actually part of the series, so I'm gonna go and read the other stories. I actually like Marie's character, she handles the boys very well.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Heatherhill!  Marie is my favorite of Ben's wives and I enjoy writing her.  I hope you'll enjoy the other stories in this series.

Date: 02/14/2011 - 06:11 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

The stepmother-stpchild relationship can be difficult and you've done a good job handling it. Looking forward to #5.



Author's Response: Thank you, mysterygirl. Adam practically played matchmaker between his father and Inger so he must have been shocked when his p arrived home fromNew Orleans with a new wife. Both Marie and AdM must have had a rough adjustment period as they got to know each other.
Date: 06/30/2010 - 11:40 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

That was good patina.  I can see Adam as a moody child. What a hard adjustment after having Ben all to himself for so long.



Author's Response: Thank you, Angelface. Adam must have become used to being his father's confidante as well as a sort of parent to Hoss by the time he was 11. Having a complete stranger for a new mother must have been a hard adjustment.
Date: 06/15/2010 - 05:54 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Ponderosa Penny Signed

This is a lovely story.  I am rather fond of horse stories and this one was entertaining.   Marie was a very wise woman.  You have protrayed her beautifully. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Penny.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed how I think Marie may have been as a mother to Adam and Hoss.

Date: 04/09/2010 - 09:26 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: pam Signed

good story Patina



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam.

Date: 04/07/2010 - 10:29 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: bshoptenor Signed

These stories keep getting better and better!



Author's Response:

Thank you, bshoptenor!  I'm so pleased to know you're enjoying this series.

Date: 10/22/2009 - 06:24 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: jfp Signed

great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this story, jfp.

Date: 07/17/2009 - 09:01 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: VStevens Signed

I enjoyed getting a glimpse into what life was like with Marie on the ranch. It fills in the missing holes.



Author's Response:

Thank you, VStevens!  I like to imagine what the Cartwright household was like when the boys were still young and Ben was madly in love with Marie.  Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed this peek into their lives.

Date: 05/03/2009 - 05:59 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: kmariecrtwrt Signed

Nice one, Patina! I love this series, glimpses into the early years of the Cartwright family.

KMC



Author's Response:

Thank you, kmarie!  I'm so pleased to know you've enjoyed this series!!

Date: 02/14/2009 - 12:13 am [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: weavereb Signed

Such an interesting story...it's nice to think that is how Adam got his first horse!



Author's Response: Thank you, Beav.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/15/2008 - 10:12 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Terina Signed
Great story.  She's a very wise mother.

Author's Response: Thank you, Terina.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/14/2008 - 09:23 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: pony Signed
Another charming story, patina! Very touching and sweet. I love your "portrait" of Marie, especially the way she handled Becky!

Author's Response: Thank you, Pony!  I'm pleased to know you enjoy my version of Marie.  And I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 10/18/2008 - 09:54 pm [Report This]
Title: A Gift Horse Reviewer: Threem Signed

This was a fun read!  I can just picture young Adam, 'pouting' because he thought he'd been 'forgotten'.  And Marie, being a mother could see right through him-

Absolutely delightful!

Date: 10/02/2008 - 11:16 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.