You must login (register) to review.
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Poignant.  I can picture Adam and Hoss with their different reactions to Marie.  Very nicely done.

Date: 03/04/2018 - 10:27 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Another great "Battle of Wills" story!  I like Abe Garvey's character. 

Date: 04/14/2017 - 10:07 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

Oh Patina, that was a great story.

Adam was eleven and Pa told him that he has to be an adult about all this. Oh Pa, that was not ok. The part when Adam run off and met the cat was exciting. I like your spelling style.

Date: 07/25/2016 - 03:05 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

I do feel sorry for both Adam and Marie at this point in their lives. Marie is a very loving, caring woman and all she wants to do is love and care for the whole family.

However, I do blame Ben for part of this. For a start, you cannot force someone to love someone else, just because you do. Adam has got to find out for himself that Marie is a genuine nice person, who really does wasn't to love him.

And it is also Ben's fault for forcing Adam to grow up too soon. I know life was tough and the boys had to develop skills in order to survive, but to my mind an 11 year old is a boy, not a man, yet Ben doesn't think so. Adam probably thinks that if he is a man he doesn't need a mother.

Hopefully, the longer Marie is there, she will educate her husband into realising Adam is still a boy and needs caring for, and Adam will realise that having a mother's love is a good thing and it doesn't mean he is being disloyal to Inger.

Little Joe forever

Lynne

Date: 11/24/2015 - 06:34 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Penny Signed

Round two I think Marie won this one she is willing to compromise!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Penny.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Date: 09/10/2013 - 05:48 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

I enjoyed this story very much. My heart went out to Adam with the anger and confusion that he was feeling in regards to Marie. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo.  Adam must have resented a complete stranger showing up as his new step-mother.  I hope you'll enjoy the rest of the series.

Date: 02/11/2013 - 11:48 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Gillie Signed

I love these glimpses of how it could have been before the show began!  Your description of the lion climbing the tree is so vivid!  Can't wait for chapter 3!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I'm so pleased to know you're enjoying this series. :)

Date: 10/04/2011 - 02:17 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Enjoying reading about Adam's continued "battle" over Marie!  I also liked the way Hoss utilized his tracking skills here and the help he was in finding Adam.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29.  Hoss must have learned tracking from someone and become good at it fairly young.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/22/2011 - 04:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

Poor Adam, I did feel sorry for him. I am sure that it must have been hard for him to adjust to the idea of having a new stepmother

Of course, being a stubborn Cartwright meant that he wasn't going to give in, once he'd made up his mind that he didn't want her around

An enjoyable read

Little Joe forever

Lynne



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lynne.  It must have been hard for Adam to have his place in the family suddenly usurped by a stranger.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 11/06/2010 - 04:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

Hoss is so glad to have a mother but it pains him to see Adam so unhappy.patina, you've done a good job handling all the emotions going on in this story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl!  Adam must have resented having a new mother but also wanted one at the same time. Hoss was just happy to have a new person in his life.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story. 

Date: 06/29/2010 - 05:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Poor Adam, he had such a difficult life. He has been so loved by all 3 of his mothers his Pa and his brothers. He is so blessed. Had to be hard to reconcile his love for Inger and accepting Marie.

Good job Patina!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Angelface.  It must have been hard for young Adam to accept Marie when he had no say about her becoming his mother when he practically played matchmaker between his father and Inger. 

Date: 06/12/2010 - 02:02 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: ljlover2001 Signed

Such a shame, but understandable, that Adam can't find it in his heart to love Marie

And poor Ben is stuck in the middle, loving them both, as does Hoss

Ben can't really force Adam to love her, but he can expect the boy to treat her with respect and to be well mannered, and giving her poison ivy was not a very nice thing to do, so Adam deserved a tanning

Little Joe forever

Lynne



Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback, Lynne.  I imagine it was a hard adjustment for young Adam to be told that a complete stranger was his new mother. 

Date: 10/25/2009 - 06:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: bshoptenor Signed

Great continuation - can't wait to read more!

Seeing life through the eyes of the young boys has me hooked!



Author's Response:

Thank you, bshoptenor!  I'm so pleased to know you're enjoying this series!

Date: 10/22/2009 - 01:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: kmariecrtwrt Signed

I love glimpse into the lives of the "young Cartwrights", and this is a keeper! nice job.



Author's Response:

Thank you, kmarie!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoy these prequels!!

Date: 03/05/2009 - 08:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Terina Signed
Poor Adam, he's so confused.  Marie needs to take it slow and easy.  He's already lost two Mammas.

Author's Response: Thank you, Terina.  Adam played matchmaker between his father and Inger so it must have been a shock when Marie arrived in his life.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/14/2008 - 10:05 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: weavereb Signed
I hope Adam and Marie start to get along!  Well done, Patina!

Author's Response: Thank you, Elisha.  Adam and Marie are still getting to know each other and Adam is trying to figure out what he can get away with.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 11/13/2008 - 10:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Dori Signed

That was a great story. I love reading about Adam and Marie's struggle to get to know and love each other. Just as I would think it would be for a young boy with a new mother in his life. Hoss accepting the situation, but still kind of torn between his loyalty to Adam and wanting to love Marie. Great reading.



Author's Response: Thank you, Dori!  Adam must have had a hard time accepting Marie since she just showed up at the Ponderosa married to his father.  Hoss had such a loving heart that he could easily accept a new mother.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 11/02/2008 - 08:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed
I felt so sorry for everyone!  Adam, confused and angry; Ben, frustrated; Marie, not knowing how to get through to that eldest boy; and Hoss, sweet little Hoss, just wanting everyone to get along.  Another wonderful story, Patina!  Bravo!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, AdamsGirl!  Ben can't understand why Adam isn't happy to have a new mother while Hoss is overjoyed.  Marie suddenly became a mother to two strapping boys and had to figure out how to be a mother.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 09/17/2008 - 02:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: attiecat Signed
I really liked getting a perspective of how Adam felt upon Marie's arrival.  Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you, Attie!  Adam must have resented having a new mother forced on him when he had gotten to know Inger as a friend first.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 09/03/2008 - 06:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: madabed32 Signed
Adam sure had a hard time, getting use to Marie, but that's to be expected.. I'm sure he had a lot of mixed feelings when it came to her.  Also, he just couldn't understand how his Pa could take up with another woman besides Inger.  That is alot for an 11 year old to digest, especially when his Pa just comes back home from a trip, "Married".  No warning, just a "New Mom" to accept.  Makes me really feel for Adam.  Another good prequel story, patina.  There my favorite.  

Author's Response: Thank you, madabed!  Adam had been treated as an adult for so long it must have been hard for him to be told he was a child by a parent he hardly knew.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/21/2008 - 03:12 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: LifesMagic Signed
You do an excellent job of conveying the extreme difficulty of the entire situation.  It had to be awfully hard for Adam when Ben showed up with a new mother he didn't feel he needed.  Now all four of them are being affected.  Great writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, LifesMagic!  Adam had been so used to only having his father there that it must have been a hard adjustment to suddenly have a new mother.  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 08/20/2008 - 07:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Cowgirl Signed
Oh I love little Hoss. He's so sweet and charming.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Cowgirl!
Date: 08/11/2008 - 08:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: dusty Signed
Abe Garvey is a great character and fit the story perfectly. Adam is one stubborn little boy and Ben doesn't seem to fully understand the turmoil his son is experiencing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, dusty.  I like the idea of having a character like Abe around since Ben would have needed someone like him to help him get the Ponderosa started.  Ben probably can't understand why Adam accepted Inger so easily and doesn't like Marie.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/09/2008 - 10:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: Beel Signed
I really enjoyed this story.  You filled in a lot of details about animal tracking, and Mr. Garvey is a well developed character.  Poor Marie, Hoss was just being Hoss and Adam was certainly being Adam!  They were two very different brothers.  Well written.

Author's Response: Thank you, Beel!  I'm glad you liked Abe.  Adam and Hoss were certainly two distinct personalities.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/08/2008 - 04:16 am [Report This]
Title: Education is More Than Three Rs Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Another great story...  I have always liked reading about the boys when they were young...

Adam is very stubborn and you are giving us a little bit of what he went thru ...  I am so enjoy this ..

 

thanks

Eva



Author's Response: Thank you, Eva!  Adam must have had a hard time adjusting to Marie.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/02/2008 - 11:01 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.