You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Kimberly Signed

Wonderful story Patina. I love the brotherly love moment between Adam and Joe when Joe lay on Adam's chest and remeber it from his childhood. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Kimberly.  Adam and Joe must have had a close bond with lots of fond memories of their younger days.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 08/21/2011 - 01:08 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Wonderful prequel story!  I was very touched by the way Hoss comforted Joe here.



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd29!  Hoss was able to let his father's anger roll off his back and not take it to heart.  Glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 08/09/2011 - 06:48 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: pjhomerak Signed

good story... good characterization, too. thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you, pjhomerak.

Date: 07/31/2011 - 12:47 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Wow, Patina!  That was one emotional ride!  Great descriptions of all the action.  I am a little breathless after reading this one.  I also liked how you portrayed Joe at 12.  It's an awkward age for boys, and you've captured it nicely here. Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie!  I always hope I've captured Adam, Hoss, and Joe as younger versions of themselves when I write prequels and I appreciate you letting me know Joe came across as believable.  Glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 05/26/2011 - 10:57 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: stephand Signed

Ben is as fierce as a bear himself when one of his son's is hurt and that inflicts an entirely different kind of pain.  Thank goodness the family bond weathers the storm.



Author's Response:

Thank you, stephand.  Ben lashed out at everyone around him from fear of losing a son.  Once the situation was under control, love won out.

Date: 04/24/2011 - 02:30 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: No1butjoe Signed

I remember reading this story on BW, I believe. I liked it then and I love it now. A very heartwarming story, Patina!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, No1!  I'm thrilled to know you enjoyed it just as much when you read it again. :)

Date: 04/22/2011 - 09:14 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: nyspats Signed

This story warms the heart. You never know the real story until it slaps you in the face. Ben learned that the hard way. Wonderful interaction between Adam and Jow.



Author's Response:

Thank you, spats.  Ben jumped to conclusions without knowing the  facts,  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this.

Date: 04/14/2011 - 11:01 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: dek0514 Signed

I was surprised at how harsh Ben was in this story...But in thinking it over, it was out of sheer panic over Adam that he was so distraught.  I felt bad for Joe.  I can only imagine how hurt he felt.  What a scary experience for the family.  Excellent story...gripping description of the attack.  Nice work.



Author's Response:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, dek0514.  Ben may have seemed out of character but you're right--he was scared of losing Adam and lashed out at Joe.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this!

Date: 10/03/2010 - 01:32 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: tarachip Signed

What a lovely story



Author's Response:

Thank you, tarachip, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 08/11/2010 - 06:10 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

It would make the Cartwrights less likeable if the brothers always got along. I like that they can argue and still stand strong together. I felt bad for Joe, it is not often that Ben really lets him have it straight out with no assurances coming right away. 

 

Good story.  I like Joe;s description of his head resting on DDG Adam's chest.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Angelface.  Ben was so worried about Adam that he lashed out at the nearest son, who happened to be Joe.  Adam and Joe have their moments of conflict, but deep down they really love each other.

Date: 06/10/2010 - 01:53 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

What a great love between Ben and his sons. You did a nice job of showing that love and also the love between Adam and Joe. Enjoyed reading this story. Thanks for sharing it.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  Adam and Joe may be at odd sometimes, but, deep down, they love each other and would do anything to protect the other.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/03/2010 - 01:41 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Patina! My favorite story! Great capture of the characters. I could see it all happening!  Thanks for writing!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy!  Your favorite?  I'm so honored to know this!

Date: 11/11/2009 - 11:15 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Judith Anonymous

Patina

Full of action and drama!  Pa would never be as thoughtless to Joe's feelings, not at 12 anyway. Hoss was wonderful thank God or poor Joe would have left the Ponderosa.  Characterizations a bit off.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Judith.  I'm sorry you feel that Ben wouldn't snap at Joe but he was scared for the life of another of his sons, Adam.   Thank you for letting me know your thoughts.

Date: 10/27/2009 - 09:25 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: avid fan Signed

Enjoyed your story very much.   Would love to be lying on Adams chest with all that fuzziness

avid fan



Author's Response:

Thank you, avid.  Adam certainly has a magnificently furred chest.  Sigh.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 10/25/2009 - 09:33 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: smokey Anonymous

I really enjoyed your story...Hope you write more...you really know how to paint a picture...made you feel as though you were there.



Author's Response:

Thank you, smokey, for all of the wonderful compliments.  You sure know how to encourage a writer to get busy. :)  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed  this story.

Date: 08/22/2009 - 01:42 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: weavereb Signed
You've really managed to capture the Cartwrights so well!  This is a tear-jerker, but I enjoyed every word of it. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you, Elisha!  I'm so glad to know you enjoyed this story!!
Date: 11/15/2008 - 02:03 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Terina Signed

Sweet story about brothers.  Love the discription of the attack, I could see it happening.



Author's Response: Thank you, Terina!  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 11/03/2008 - 12:59 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: pony Signed
This story runs the spectrum of emotions! Great job, patina ... I especially love the final paragraphs!

Author's Response: Thank you, Pony!  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 10/05/2008 - 07:56 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Threem Signed

Really enjoyed this, patina!  What a wonderful story of the 'younger' Cartwright boys- 

Your stories make it easy to picture the scenes, and what the characters looked like-

Excellent!



Author's Response: Thank you, Threem!  I'm so pleased to know you could "see" this story unfolding.
Date: 09/23/2008 - 12:13 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Dori Signed
That was a wonderful story. Loved the way it all fell together, Adam getting hurt to Ben's anger, to Hoss trying to make Joe feel better, and then the beautful ending. I am glad it ended as it did.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Dori!  Ben's anger was from fear of losing a son and Hoss tried to make Joe see that.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 09/18/2008 - 12:59 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed
A very powerful and well-written story, Patina!  Ben was so afraid and took that fear out on Joe---but I was glad that all ended well.  You've penned another hit!

Author's Response: Thank you, AdamsGirl!  Poor Joe was scared enough and then his father's anger was too much.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 09/16/2008 - 03:09 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: attiecat Signed
Wonderful story between the brothers.  I know Joe was dishearted at Pa's words, but he knew he loved him just the same.  Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you, Attie!  Ben was afraid and lashed out at Joe because he'd been working with Adam.  Joe didn't realize that the words spoken in fear weren't meant to be hurtful.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story!
Date: 09/02/2008 - 04:42 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed
Great story, I am glad that Adam survied ,and that Ben apolozied to Joe.

Author's Response: Thank you, Fan.  I'm glad you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/29/2008 - 02:57 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: madabed32 Signed
Very heartwrenching, intense storyline.patina.  Glad to see Little Joe got the bear, but unfortunate to hear where the bullet ended up.  Pa was so worried, that he began lashing out at LJ.    Poor Little Joe..  Glad to see things worked out at the end.  Madabed

Author's Response: Thank you, madabed!  Despite his fear, Joe managed to keep his cool and was able to kill the bear.  Ben was worried sick and Joe was an easy target for his fear's about Adam.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/20/2008 - 05:52 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: repete Signed
Very sweet story and a chilling account of the bear attack.  Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you, repete!  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/17/2008 - 09:29 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.