You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: chezza Signed

An exciting and touching read, Patina. A well thought out study of the individual Cartwrights, their various flaws and strengths, and their relationships to each other. I work in healthcare so I liked the medical details. Poor Adam. Boy, those Cartwrights are tough :)

Date: 06/12/2019 - 11:32 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

 

What a great story explaining the interesting dynamics between these two brothers both harsh words and tender moments and memory’s. My heart stopped when that bear was attacking Adam and knowing what shock Joe must have been going through from the bear attack to his pas harsh words. A well written story.

Date: 04/30/2019 - 06:03 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

I don't usually read anything above the PG rating, sometimes not even that. But this one was different. I loved the way the Cartwright family is portrayed in this story.

Everything is so clear and vivid. Their family bond, not matter what happens, remains strong and steady in spite of their differences. No matter what was said, they were always forgiven in the end. I wish this would've been an episode. Thanks!

Date: 02/22/2019 - 01:14 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

A wonderful story of brotherly love.

I like this story on many levels. 

There’s depth of character here and it’s full of fascinating details.  I learned a few things and that’s a good thing.

The premise was so real and true to character.  It makes so much sense that Adam and Joe had changed dramatically in the four years Adam was away at college.  Little Joe was only six-years old when his older brother left.  Adam was just a teenager, but he came back as a young man.  Lots of life was lived in those four years for both of them.

It’s so endearing to see Hoss have such a profound understanding of what’s happening in the midst of chaos and uncertainty.

Without giving anything away, the plot was captivating.  You have to keep reading this.  The incident and the twist you put in there was very good and convincing.  Surprised me.  Nice!

I loved the scene where Hoss shares a memory with Joe.  I felt he was actually sharing his older brother’s heart with his younger brother.  Talk about someone having your back!

I had a new understanding for Joe with seeing things from his perspective.  The impact from his POV was powerful and emotionally charged.

I really like how you portray the vulnerable side of each Cartwright.  You don’t make them too perfect.  It’s a delicate balance, but you do it so well here. 

And when Ben says “I won’t allow it.”  That was the Ben Cartwright we all know and love taking charge of the universe.

Well done, Patina!

Date: 01/08/2019 - 07:47 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Sierras Signed

This is a wonderful brothers story, poignant and exciting.  It focuses more on Joe and Adam, but Hoss is in there too.  There are great Joe and Adam moments, and great Joe and Hoss moments.

Date: 05/31/2018 - 08:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Firstly I must say that the title was spot on seeing as encompassed three Cartwright's who gave voice to words of regret.

Totally identified with the young Joe's angry feelings for a brother who goes off for some time and then just come back and takes over and Joe's annoyance that in his opinion he now knew more of ranching than elder brother did.  The vocal darts fired by both brothers were nothing but realistic.  As to the brutal attack - described in harrowing and tension building detail.

Joe frozen in horror was grounded in realism, and I prayed that his marksmanship would be accurate - thankfully it was, too accurate.

For me, another understanding was Ben's reactions.  Joe being his sounding board - harsh though some of his remarks were.  In times of terrible strife, the nearest and dearest are often the first and easiest for one to give vent to - a prime example.  

"You had time to shoot your brother!" 

 Joe's confusion, wretchedness and guilt were not out of place.   

The barn, middle and little brother moment so balanced the tension.

For me, a story without some Ponderosa hands and a mention or two, three four of Hop Sing is a story that is lacking needed content.

How and why I've not read this exciting tale before now, I know not. 

I could very much picture this as an episode - in fact, in my opinion, a great two-parter.  

 

 

Date: 08/30/2017 - 05:00 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Terrific story, Patina!  I love how the bear attack ends up bringing the whole Cartwright family closer together. 

Date: 08/30/2017 - 01:54 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Sharry Signed

This is an exciting story which lets us see Adam and Joe as I think they really are. Mere words can be inadequate at times when we're trying to communicate with the people we love. Sometimes we get it right, and sometimes things go wrong.  Things went wrong for these two brothers shortly before a traumatic experience almost changed everything.   

As mentioned by other readers, I too have a soft spot for Adam and Joe stories.  I also remember reading this particular story when I first discovered Boomers a couple of years ago.  I thought I wrote a review at that time, but it appears I'm mistaken. Perhaps I was too shy back then to say much.  :)  

My favorite line might be... Ben knew that Adam and Joseph were more alike than they would admit.

I couldn't agree more with that sentiment.  Ben would know.  Thanks for a fun and rewarding read, Patina.  

Date: 08/11/2017 - 09:50 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

Lovely little story. I have a soft spot in my heart for Adam/Joe tales. There is something marvelous about their relationship.  Thanks.

Date: 12/20/2016 - 10:21 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: adamsgermangirl Signed

Like many times before Adam and Joe are bickering about the chores. After the bear attack Joe felt guilty. I like the describtion of the interaction between Adam and Joe. A very touching moment is when Joe lay on Adams cheest. Well written, thank's for it, Patina.

Date: 09/11/2016 - 12:56 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

0MG - So many different kind of emotions have been included into this story. I could follow the actions of each of our 4Cs at the time . And the family ties are so strong to set everything into the right direction. 

I have to admit I stopped breathing during the bear attack and thought 'Joe shoot shoot !!! Why don't you shoot?!"  

Many thanks for a well written story. 

Date: 05/16/2016 - 05:57 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: pegasus Signed

My favorite part was when Pa (and everyone else on the Ponderosa) came running and found Adam seriously hurt:

"....even nature had gone quiet".

Of course nature would go quiet! This is the PONDEROSA and a Cartwright is in big trouble!

Great story, patina!

Date: 02/04/2015 - 08:50 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: SNlover09 Signed

This was a great short story, Patina! Somehow it all seemed real in the 12 year old's view in my mind. I enjoyed every bit of it and the last paragraph a lot. :)

Date: 02/04/2015 - 04:09 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

This story grabbed my attention from the get go. I could just feel the emotions and pain that Little Joe was going through, thinking that it was his fault that Adam got hurt. Then on top of that he felt that Ben blamed him as well. What a beautiful ending and seeing the bond that Adam and Joe have for each other is so touching. Great story!!

Date: 02/01/2015 - 04:42 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: grimesgirl Signed

You certainly gave Joe a rough time in this, Patina.   Other than being frozen from the shock of the attack, he did well in killing the bear and untimately saving Adam's life.  

Was as surprised as Joe at the way Ben took out his anger on Joe.  Very unsual, especially since Joe was still quite young in this tale.

Date: 02/01/2015 - 03:23 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: shaggy1581 Signed

Great story Patina. Loved the Adam - Joe interaction and how things worked out for them in the end. The story felt so real that I was almost crying about Adam beeing wounded so badly and Joe frozen in shock.

Date: 02/01/2015 - 01:51 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

I read this for the bingo challenge and glad that I did. I had read it several years ago and loved rereading it again. I love all the JAM but then had forgotten about all the JHM!! Great story patina.

 

Date: 02/01/2015 - 09:32 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I selected this story because I am partial to action/adventure stories. Our two main characters are Adam and Joe Cartwright who are displaying their differences rather than their similarities. Adam has recently returned from college and a young Little Joe isn’t happy to have to work with “Bossy Boots” again. The story is set up in a Ponderosa pasture with the two brothers moving through the brush arguing about the chore. Conflict comes in two forms: man vs man and man vs nature. Adam gets the worse of man vs nature with the bear attack and Little Joe gets the brunt of man vs man. Other characters include Ben who immediately blames his youngest son for the attack and Hoss who “gave his little brother’s shoulder a reassuring squeeze.” Doc Martin, Hop Sing and a few ranch hands are also mentioned. At the time of this story, Little Joe is about eleven years old.

 The brothers are rounding up strays when the bear attacks. For a time I wondered why Adam was on Splotch and Joe was on Socks, but when the bear moved in for the kill the reason for the different horses became obvious. Adam is struck down and Joe is paralyzed with fear. Adam was screaming at Joe to shoot, but Joe was frozen with fear. Adam is injured and taken back to the ranch to heal. Little Joe worked through his reaction to an extreme situation as well as his relationship with his brother.

 All in all, a good story with plenty of action and some solid interaction between the characters. 

Date: 02/01/2015 - 01:36 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Devastating injuries for Adam, and a traumatic event for Joe but it did bring them closer together again.  Hoss is a pillar of strength when the family needs him the most.

Date: 02/01/2015 - 01:33 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: cma Signed

Good story however, I find myself conflicted with how Joe acted. Don't you think he was a bit old to be sitting in Ben's lap? 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, cma.  Each child is different.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed the story.

Date: 05/29/2012 - 01:43 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: TLR Signed

Patina, this is a wonderful story, so heartbreaking and well-told. I know I'll be reading more of yours in time.



Author's Response:

Thank you, TLR! I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed it.  I hope you'll enjoy my other stories, too.

Date: 05/09/2012 - 08:03 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: PERNELLSulli Signed

oh my ...couldn´t stop reading until the end...this is the second time I read your story first on your forum...you are a highly gifted writer and as I said...glad you are an Adam gal...love it...



Author's Response:

Thank you, PERNELLSulli!  I'm thrilled to know you enjoyed this story for the second time. 

Date: 04/10/2012 - 02:00 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Frannie Signed

Amen! Yup, Ben Cartwright was definitely the wealthiest man on Earth!

I loved that. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, Frannie.  Material possessions can't compare to the love of a family.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 02/29/2012 - 05:28 pm [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Great story Patina. I love the JAM especially Joe's head on Adam's chest. :)  Thanks for sharing with us



Author's Response:

Thank you, LMC!  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed the JAM.

Date: 09/16/2011 - 09:32 am [Report This]
Title: A Mouthful of Regret Reviewer: Kimberly Signed

Wonderful story Patina. I love the brotherly love moment between Adam and Joe when Joe lay on Adam's chest and remeber it from his childhood. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Kimberly.  Adam and Joe must have had a close bond with lots of fond memories of their younger days.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 08/21/2011 - 01:08 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.