You must login (register) to review.
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A sweet Christmas story.  Little Joe is just the way I picture him as being as a child. Nice characterizations of all of the Cartwrights.

Date: 11/26/2018 - 04:26 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

I enjoyed this story very much. Little Joe is so cute, and Adam and Hoss are such good big brothers. 

Date: 12/09/2014 - 12:41 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Adams Welsh Girl Signed

That was really really lovely

Date: 07/28/2014 - 04:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Cool story with the wooden wagon.  Joe was always a handful.

Date: 04/06/2013 - 02:37 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Magic and love = great Christmas story.

Date: 03/09/2013 - 02:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I started my day by reading this selection and must say that Little Joe's excitement brought me right into the story. His youthful delight of Christmas was the first feeling had about what would happen in the story.

"The Nevada winters were so incredibly cold compared to her native New Orleans and some days she felt that her bones practically rattled as she went about her activities."

I like how you brought us into winter with the concept of Marie's discomfort and how you gave me a warm setting with the "fire roaring all winter long to warm the house." Expertly done.

The flashbacks were an excellent way to give me some of those traditions without trying to do it all at once. I could picture young Adam and Ben in New Orleans. And poor little jealous Marie wondering if Ben had courted Linda. Too cute.

"His eyes widened in surprise to see the carved covered wagon he thought he’d lost several years before. How did Santa get hold of this? he wondered."

I especially love how you captured the spirit of Christmas with Adam. It's as if he gets to relive the excitement through Little Joe's eyes. The same goes with Marie, she also gets to have the perfect Christmas now that she and Ben are together. And what a man is Ben, he makes certain that everything is just as it should be. I love how you blended Hoss and Hop Sing into the story. I can imagine Hoss following Hop Sing around the house and what a pest he might have been during the preparation of the family holiday dinner. Your descriptive word choice and dialog are on the mark for each character.
The only thing that I can think of to have made this better was to make it longer. To be a full episode we might have some drama with the lad who was paid to watch the bon fire. While there wasn't anything unique about how a family might have celebrated Christmas back in the day, your approach to the concept was absolutely engaging.

Date: 01/16/2012 - 02:44 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: nyspats Signed

A very sweet Holiday story. Well done.

Date: 12/30/2011 - 01:36 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: PonderosaPal Signed

Such a lovely, seasonal story filled with childhood wonder and Christmas magic.  I truly enjoyed reading it.   

Date: 12/30/2011 - 12:40 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Calamity Signed

A beautiful Christmas story, thank you.

Date: 12/18/2011 - 02:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: gf3 Signed

What a lovely story.  I really appreciate your attention to detail 

Date: 12/16/2011 - 05:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Bahj Signed
This is a wonderful Christmas story. Prequels are my favorite. Little Joe with all his questions was so cute. Adam ever the patient older brother. Ben and Marie were very sweet. I love Christmas, I love the Carwrights, and I love this story :0)
Date: 11/30/2011 - 12:46 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Kimberly Signed

Wonderful story and a great one for Christmas Thanks for sharing.

Date: 11/11/2011 - 03:33 am [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: JMiller Signed

This was a sweet family story that i think captures all of the characters in their youthful days of Christmas just as we can picture them. Thank you for sharing.

Date: 02/05/2011 - 11:29 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

This story should become a Christmas classic for all Bonanza lovers. Oh, how I would have loved to be there with them on that Christmas morning. Incredible job, patina.

Date: 01/08/2011 - 12:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Great story Patina. You do such a good job of capturing the Cartwrights when they were young. I enjoyed being transported back.

Date: 12/27/2010 - 11:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: pam Signed
>What an interesting story about family traditions!!! That was a very good story for the holiday
Date: 12/27/2010 - 04:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: Terina Signed

Patina, thank you so much for this Christmas present.  In my mind's eye I could see the events happening just as you described them.  I love the way you put Cartwright employee, friends and relatives in your prequels and I understand better the animosity Carl felt toward Adam and the family.  This is another winner...I love your prequels.

Date: 12/25/2010 - 08:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Christmas Traditions Reviewer: adamant Signed

What an interesting story about family traditions. It was satisfying to see the reactions of all the Cartwrights, including Hop Sing, to their gifts--and touching to know that Ben would soon lose Marie considering the last line.

And, My gosh, no wonder neither Hoss nor Adam wanted to sleep with Joe---what a chatter box--and if I were Adam, I would have been tempted as well to slip him some of that cough syrup---it probably contained codeine. Thanks for a great story.

Date: 12/25/2010 - 02:07 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.