Reviews For Absolution
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Absolution Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

I came to leave a review on another story and got hooked reading this one. :) 

I enjoyed this. It's concise and emotionally intense. I think it was bold but ingenious not to mention the name of Adam's wife; somehow it kept the focus where it was meant to be: on the relationship. 

I'm torn about whether Adam's actions are in character or not. On the one hand, I don't see him being willing to compromise his conscience--to lie, steal, or kill--even for another person. He's consistently willing to suffer, and even to make those he loves suffer, for the sake of doing the right thing. On the other hand, I think the emotional intensity he shows toward his wife in this story is spot-on. More than any of the other Cartwrights, I think Adam would love the right woman with his whole soul and an almost frightening passion. 

The ending with Roy is just right. He sees...he remembers...and he understands. 

Thank you for this story, Adamant. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed it but my early stories are a source of some embarrassment to me. Nevertheless, you are not the only one to feel that Adam would not behave this way. I think that Adam always does what HE thinks is the right thing and has no qualms about flouting rules or laws if he feels his aim is for the higher good. But he did intentionally mislead the posse away from Eden and allowed his friend in "Song in the Dark" to stay at the Ponderosa when he broke jail. Just two examples of Adam doing what he thinks is right at the time.

I appreciate your thoughts on this story (much appreciated) and my purpose in leaving that thread about writing reviews was not meant to shame "you" or anyone else, but to direct new(er) members to the thread explaining the review process in the Library. It can be intimidating.

 

 

Date: 10/31/2017 - 08:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

I can see Adam doing that.  If Adam had been home, it would have been worse for sure.  Thanks for sharing this story. I just now found it. :)



Author's Response:

What a happy surprise to see that someone read and reviewed this little story. Thanks so much, lmc. You started my day off with your smile. : )

Date: 03/17/2017 - 06:25 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

I really like this story. It's very moving, and makes me want to know more about their life together.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading this older story--sometimes I forget about them. I'm glad that you liked it.

Date: 11/09/2014 - 12:07 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: gf3 Signed

Wow!  You packed a lot of punch in this short, beautifully written piece. 



Author's Response:

Why thank you very much! I'm glad that you liked it and thought it was well-written; music to my ears!

Date: 11/26/2013 - 02:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Penny Signed

I need a tissue, it always gets to me whenever Roy talks about Mary (he loved her so much). Adam loving his wife and willing to give up everything to protect her (that true love). Good little story!!  THANKS



Author's Response:

Penny, I just found this review--I apologize for not thanking you sooner for reading and letting me know that you liked it. Thanks!

Date: 10/01/2013 - 12:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Powerfully written, Ant.  Adam's passionate protection of his wife, and Roy's touching rememberance of Mary got me all misty-eyed. Loved your story!!



Author's Response:

So glad that you liked it, Gillie! Thank you for taking the time to read it.

Date: 06/22/2012 - 04:09 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: karilyn Signed

I really enjoy the way you write; very concise and yet very emotive. You capture Adam so well. I felt I could see what was happening as though it was an episode of BZ. We know the depths of Adam's feelings and we also know a little bit about Roy and his wife, Mary. You developed this story and pulled it together very smartly. At the end I could see Roy's mind working. Perfect ending, and Adam knew it, too. Great story. :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I appreciate that you thought it could pass as an episode and that you recognized the tactic that Adam was using to make Roy feel empathy for his situation. I'm glad that it worked in the story. Thanks.

Date: 05/15/2012 - 06:12 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: PERNELLSulli Signed

this story can be the reason why I love Adam so much...what a husband...awww

another fantastic story of yours Ant...thank you



Author's Response:

Thank you, Ulli, for visiting the Library and reading this story. I'm glad that you liked it and I appreciate your comments.

Date: 02/05/2012 - 06:01 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: lady cat Signed

It was a very good story,so touching and very sweet. I enjoyed it



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and taking the time to let me know that you liked it, lady cat. Much appreciated!

Date: 11/06/2011 - 08:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Englishgirl Signed

Another lovely piece, I particularly liked the glimpse into Roy's emotional past that helped him understand Adam's actions.



Author's Response:

I so rarely write about Roy but I found the scene in "No Less A Man" where Roy tells Adam about his wife, Mary, touching so I tried to use a bit of it here. Thank you for reading this.

Date: 09/27/2011 - 04:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Bubba Signed

Excellent..and I'd have shot the jerk too!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, Bubba. Glad that you thought justice was served.

Date: 09/13/2011 - 09:10 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: pam Signed

wow very good story, I can see why Adam is trying to keep from not losing his wife



Author's Response:

I am so glad you liked it and that you took the time to comment on it. I appreciate it.

Date: 10/25/2010 - 09:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: dawnmarie Signed

Adam has an undying devotion to his wife so much so that he's willing to take the blame for a murder and beomce a perjurer.  Very romantic and as Ben felt a little unhealthy but romantic none-the-less.  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you. Just as Adam always supported his friends and went out of his way to take responsibility for then if necessary---and certainly for his family, I always felt that he would do anything for a woman he loved. He does have that fierceness abput his emotions.

Date: 10/25/2010 - 01:54 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Wow intense story Ant. I can see Adam's fear of losing his wife or her having to go through any discomfort...after all he had lived through and losing 3 mothers. I think Adam is a little OCD about this. Struggles make us stronger, they shae who we are. But I can not fault him too much. Good job Ant!



Author's Response:

Thank you. I always felt that Adam would be afraid of a "Cartwright Curse" on wives and he probably would be OCD.

Date: 10/15/2010 - 07:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: littlemom256 Signed

Lovely story, Adamant.  Yes, you can write 'nice' stories as well.  :)  I can imagine Adam having a love like this after waiting so long.  Thank you for such a treat!



Author's Response:

Awww..you're so nice. :) Glad you enjoyed it. When people tell ANY writer that they like their story, it makes all the work worthwhile---we need such little praise!

Date: 10/12/2010 - 03:30 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

What a beautiful story of love and sacrifice. Thanks for sharing this.



Author's Response:

It's my pleasure. Thank you for taking time out of your day to read it.

Date: 10/10/2010 - 08:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

What a wonderful husband!  Willing to sacrifice everything for the woman he loves. I like the way Mary Coffee was woven into the story.  Nice touch.

Thanks.  Lillian



Author's Response:

I kept remebering that Roy had talked to Adam about Mary and how she had been all he had since they didn't have children---so he went out and found another family, the people of Virginia City. I felt he would empathize with Adam--and it was the only reason i could think of that would cause Roy to not follow through. Thanks for the nice "words."  ;)

Date: 10/10/2010 - 11:31 am [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Tracy Signed

WHAT A STORY! I would love to read more about Adam and this woman who stole his very soul! An absolutely wonderful story!!



Author's Response:

Tracy, didn't you recognize yourself, you silly thing? I'm glad that you liked the story so much. Made my day.

Date: 10/09/2010 - 11:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Bertha Signed

very good story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you, Bertha.

Date: 10/09/2010 - 11:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Sassybrass Signed

Interesting insight into Adam's possible method of handling things.  Thank you, Adamant.



Author's Response:

I appreciate that you took the time to read it and comment. Thanks, Sassy!  Now, when I can carve out the time, I'll read yours---how did you ever find the time to write such a lengthy piece with children and all the other things you do? Amazes me.

Date: 10/09/2010 - 10:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Absolution Reviewer: Terina Signed

Wow!  Ant what a great story of unconditional love and devotion.  I could see Adam taking on that burden.  Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Terina! I didn't expect anyone to have read it yet but I'm glad you were the first. I so much respect your opinion.

Date: 10/09/2010 - 02:40 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.