Reviews For The Circle of Life
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Drifter Signed

Well, Joe certainly discovered everything he needed about his own life. A nice peek into Jo’s curiosity!



Author's Response:

You are exactly right, Drifter. That was everything Joe needed to know! Thank you so much for reading. 

Date: 08/10/2019 - 10:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisal Signed

 I'm very glad to have been assigned to read this delightful story.   Your writing flows like a .melody,, your dialogue is true to life and your characterizations of the Cartwrights - especially Ben - rings authentic to a fan (me!) who has loved them for most of her life.  I found the ending warm and loving.  Beautiful job. 



Author's Response:

What a lovely review, Lisal ... I am so touched by your very kind words. I am especially happy to know Ben "rang true" for you! 

Date: 06/23/2019 - 03:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Wow, what an intriguing story!  I love the way the four Cartwrights are portrayed; their individual personalities and ways of speaking are very distinct.  The tension between Ben, with his skepticism about Professor Sprague's theories, and the boys, with their interest in the Professor's possible store of hidden knowledge, is very well done.  The conclusion of the story is perfect for Joe's birthday...as we Boomers know, he is a very, very special young man!  I enjoyed reading this very much.



Author's Response:

Very special indeed! ... and so is your review. Thank you so much for such a lovely review, CowgirlAtHeart; I am so glad you enjoyed this story and especially its (surprise) conclusion! 

Date: 06/21/2019 - 11:33 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Aww... We all know that Joe was meant to be at the Ponderosa and Ben was a proud Pa.  Thanks for sharing



Author's Response:

Joe = Ponderosa!

Ponderosa = Joe! 

 

Yes, that is the way it was always meant to be. Thank you so much for such a nice review! 

Date: 06/21/2019 - 06:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Interesting story, Pony. I wasn't sure where it was going, but I love where you took it. Joe is truly the soul of the Ponderosa.



Author's Response:

Haha - well, Annie, I wasn't sure where it was going either! I'm so glad you came along for the ride, and you summed it up beautifully in just those few words: Joe is truly the soul of the Ponderosa. 

Date: 06/20/2019 - 11:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Patina Signed
I regret missing your story when you posted it, pony. You weave many layers into what Joe wants for his birthday. Like Ben, I’m a skeptic. I can see how Ben might re-evaluate his position after the professor revealed what he saw during Joe’s reading.

My favorite lines: “The circle of life is complete when perfect unity is achieved. Your son has achieved that unity … with the land, with his family, with his home. His soul has already found the peace for which others search for centuries … for which some search forever, and never find.” Joe and the Ponderosa fit perfectly together.

Thank you for this gem, pony!

Author's Response:

Dear Patina, my intellectual friend! Hmm, seems like you have something in common with this shallow Joegal because those are actually my favorite lines as well. Thank you so much for a gem of a review - and for your years of friendship! 

Date: 06/20/2019 - 09:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

As I read I could well see this tale morphing into a grand Bonanza episode.  Bonanza was not your usual Cowboys and Indians Western series and this little gem of yours IMO is not just in the same league it is at the top of the league.  I can remember back in the '50s & '60s Cabaret shows always included this 'act', the mind reader and/or hypnotist.  I can well understand the fascination of the mystic back in the 1860s.

Your short story, which I truly envy and have admiration for an author who can pack such a gentle literary punch into few words and yet make an impact.  That you've chosen LJ as your subject - apart from the fact he is your fav - for me is perfect - he's my fav too.  :grin  Adam I'm thinking would be too critical and Hoss' character too easily led.  Ben, of course, is the realist, the middle; the balance on his see-saw of sons.

The twist at the end of the story in which I was expecting a charlatan to be exposed I found to be more than satisfactory.  For some reason, Du Maurier's 'Svengali' came to my mind - though the comparison to Prof Sprague is a big ask.  Reincarnation, spiritualism; what went before and comes after can sometimes become a mire of unreasonable, unrealistic wishy-washy, mish-mash you brought it to life.  I guess that description can only be called 'Irish'.  :grin [/color][/i]



Author's Response:

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for such a comprehensive and insightful review of 'The Circle of Life." I am so glad to know that a fellow Joegal enjoyed this story, and its 'surprise' ending. I can't think of a better compliment. 

Date: 06/20/2019 - 04:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed

What a fab and uniquely styled story!  Not your normal cowboy tale and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it. You have the characterisations of the Cartwrights spot on and their dialogue and mannerisms are perfect. As you know Joe is my favourite character also, and you write him in such a way, that even as a young man, he is totally in character! I just love the ending of this story and you summed up Joe’s uniqueness and position in his family in a such a wonderful way!  Thank you for a great read.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Bejules! I'm glad you enjoyed this story! You're right, not exactly a typical cowboy story to say the least! I know you are a huge admirer of Joe (as am I) so I especially appreciate knowing this story resonated with you. Thank you again, my friend! 

Date: 06/19/2019 - 05:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

"Everything he is, everything he has been, and everything he ever will be, is right here, and right now." 

This story in a way, rings true. Joe could never be anyone except who he was. The youngest in a family that were bound to the land, and to each other. This was really nice.



Author's Response:

littlejoenice, you  have summed up the entire story perfectly! Thanks so much for reading and providing such a NICE review! 

Date: 06/19/2019 - 10:36 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
This was such a great story. I wasn't sure where it was going in the beginning and was expecting some sort of comedic ending, but it turned out to be a very pleasant, somewhat bittersweet surprise; very touching and powerful.

Like a few others have mentioned, I'm so curious now to find out about the past lives of the other Cartwright men. This is such a unique story line with so many intriguing ideas.

pony, thank you so much for sharing this story with us (again). It's fun to know it's still bringing people from all over together :0)

Author's Response:

I feel tremendously honored and privileged to be involved as readers share their insights about 'The Circle of Life.' I owe you a great debt of gratitude, Bahj, for resurrecting this old story from the archives and introducing it to so many who are reading it now for the first time. I love the conversations it has inspired and hope others will feel encouraged to take this story or its concepts to the next level! 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 11:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: January Signed

Pony, your storytelling is fantastic!  Where did you ever think up this plot?  You are certainly an excellent writer.  As I am reading I'm forgetting this is fan fiction and I'm feeling that I'm reading a professional writer's episode of Bonanza. The ending was emotional!  Little had to be said.  Strong and powerful!  You never disappoint! 



Author's Response:

This is one of the most meaningful and rewarding reviews ever! I am truly honored by such kind words from you, January - the person to whom we all owe so, so much. None of this would have been possible without your vision and leadership. From my heart to yours, a most sincere "thank you." 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 11:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

This is a very unique story with a clever plot.

I loved the conversation at the dining room table.  Your dialogue is so real.

Ben was kind of the odd man out; thinking it all foolishness.  He was on one side and his three sons were on the other.   I always liked this scenario and we didn't see it nearly enough in the series. 

Very nice to see Hop Sing enter the story.  This was natural to him.  It was a part of his culture and I felt like he had given this some serious thought in his life, especially when he talked about his ancestors.  Good stuff!

Joe seemed to be searching for something.  The meaning of life?  The meaning of his life?

The ending was just beautiful.  It reminded me of why I love this family so much...because they love each other so much. 

 



Author's Response:

LOVE this very thoughtful feedback, Tahoe Lee - thank you! I especially appreciate your kind words about the dialogue, as that is an area that is very important to me as a writer. I believe you are exactly correct in your thoughts about Joe. He always seemed to be searching for something, didn't he? I would like to think that someday, at just the right time, Ben may have shared Professor Sprague's insights with Joe, and I hope that information may have helped Joe better understand himself and his place in the universe. 

 

 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 09:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

I enjoyed reading this.I can see this being an actual episode.The ending was a bit surprising.I did not expect it.I was expecting a different ending.Still a great story.



Author's Response:

That's a GREAT compliment, Fan! Thanks so much! I was hoping the ending would be a bit of a surprise to readers. By the way, it's wonderful to hear from you again. Hope you are doing well, my friend! 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 01:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Karol Signed

A very interesting story with a not everyday occurrence and a well thought-out happy ending.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Karol - I appreciate your kind words! Sometimes it can be a little difficult to come up with unique storylines but this one just sort of "found me." I'm very glad you enjoyed the story and its conclusion! 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 04:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

 

 A very unique story, quite intense at the end when the professor told Ben what he did about Joe. Kind of wish he looked into Hoss’s and Adams past to. Nice easy read, very enjoyable.

 



Author's Response:

Wow, that's a great idea, Rosanna! By all  means, please feel free to pick up the story where I left off and see what the past and future might hold for Hoss and Adam! .... I have to wonder if theirs might be very similar to Joe's! Thank you so very much for reading! 

Date: 06/18/2019 - 01:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
Whoah, that was an unexpected ending! I can see why you didn't take it any further. Professor Sprague's words needed to remain between the two of them. Very creative story, pony!

Author's Response:

That's a wonderful compliment, JoesGal, and one I truly appreciate! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and especially for leaving such a kind review.

Date: 06/15/2013 - 04:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pjhomerak Signed

Blessed by Unity.  beautiful. thanks



Author's Response:

Blessed indeed. The circle is truly complete.

Date: 07/31/2011 - 01:14 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: peej Anonymous

This story appealed to me because of the subject matter.  I have always been a believer in reincarnation because it explains so many things to me.  You handled this subject very well and didn't give away the ending - which you could've chosen to write in another way.  It's absolutely perfect the way it is!



Author's Response:

Your review is especially meaningful to me, peej ... Thank you for taking the time to read and share your thoughts. I'm very touched by your kind words, and appreciate your approval of the ending! Thank you again, my friend.

Date: 06/28/2011 - 08:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

OK, Pony, the end made me a little teary-eyed. This was a most interesting exploration of the family ties in the here and now despite the belief that one may have had past lives--like Francois Villon!!!! LOL

And, as usual, all the characters have well-delineated personallitites with Joseph having found his place in the here and now and the "Circle of life" at the end is a perfect example of the interdependence of the Cartwrights--they make each other complete (kinda eliminates the need for a woman in the family, doesn't it?)

I often go back and read stories that were posted long before I became a member. As I told Tracy once, these stories are like hidden treasures just waiitng to be found. Glad that I found this one. Thanks. 



Author's Response:

Well, with such a lovely review, I'm glad you found this one too, LOL! No, seriously, Adamant - thank you. Thank you very much; I really appreciate your insightful comments.

Date: 06/18/2011 - 09:34 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

OK, Pony, the end made me a little teary-eyed. This was a most interesting exploration of the family ties in the here and now despite the belief that one may have had past lives--like Francois Villon!!!! LOL

And, as usual, all the characters have well-delineated personallitites with Joseph having found his place in the here and now and the "Circle of life" at the end is a perfect example of the interdependence of the Cartwrights--they make each other complete (kinda eliminates the need for a woman in the family, doesn't it?)

I often go back and read stories that were posted long before I became a member. As I told Tracy once, these stories are like hidden treasures just waiitng to be found. Glad that I found this one. Thanks. 

Date: 06/18/2011 - 09:34 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: No1butjoe Signed

What the professor said is true. Just from the way Joe was in the series. Well, you hit the nail on the head, pony! Great story!



Author's Response:

Joe, his family and his home were intrinsically linked - always. Thank you so much for your review, No1; I really appreciate your reading!

Date: 04/23/2011 - 01:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Cheaux Signed

“The circle of life is complete when perfect unity is achieved. Your son has achieved that unity … with the land, with his family, with his home. His soul has already found the peace for which others search for centuries … for which some search forever, and never find.”

Perfect, Pony!!!   What a wonderful idea.  Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for such a nice review, Cheaux. Your kind words are sincerely appreciated!

Date: 03/31/2011 - 05:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Perfect unity... I thought he was gonna say that This was Joe's first life and he was a young soul.  SHoulda seen that coming...great job Pony.



Author's Response:

:-)  Glad to hear the ending was a surprise for you, Angelface. Thank you for your thoughtful review!

Date: 08/13/2010 - 05:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pkmoonshine Signed

Great story, Pony, very well done. The ending was completely unexpected.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it, PK, and as a writer, I'm also happy to know the ending took you by surprise! :-)

Date: 04/11/2010 - 11:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: girlfromwl Anonymous

Well done.

I am one who does believe that we lived before and will again.

thanks

Eva



Author's Response:

... and our boys will live forever!

Date: 04/11/2010 - 04:42 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.