Reviews For A Word to the Wise
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I enjoyed this story very much.

I really like the pacing of this and how you revealed mysteries one at a time.

Your dialogue is very realistic.

The ending was poignant.  The holiday theme was touching and added another rich layer    

Date: 01/16/2020 - 06:30 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisal Signed

This story has some lovely descriptive phrases and the dialogue is really true to character.  I enjoyed how easy this was to read and how nice the plot played out in such a short piece.  The lesson learned was touching and reallg struck a chord with me.  A beautiful holiday story 

Date: 01/06/2020 - 09:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: chezza Signed

You handled this so skillfully. Debbie. Developed the story with just the right tension and pace. Interesting setting. Satisfying ending. Well done.

Date: 12/01/2019 - 05:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

The challenge for Reading Choice 7 was to read a 'holiday' story.

This one, again I haven't come across let alone read.  

 The summary I quote, 'a simple conversation' ... it was far from that!

Yes, a holiday story indeed but one with a rawness, twist and absorbing content. 

Thank you, Debbie - your story -  the barroom scene - the conversation all have the 'WOW' factor. 

 

Date: 12/01/2019 - 01:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I really enjoyed this story, especially the mysterious man!

Date: 04/09/2017 - 10:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Jake Durray is one wise man. Thanks for the story, Deb! Well done!

Date: 02/05/2017 - 04:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

This story touched my heart, wished Adam was coming back for good. Thank you for sharing. 

Date: 10/12/2016 - 12:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

Well done! I could see Joe, as he defended Adam! The explanation as to why he hadn't returned & then Jake's explanation as to why he should have, was brilliant! Because to me, Adam leaving & never returning was inexcusable because they were such a tight family with so much love!


Only wish it had been longer. ;)

Date: 05/27/2016 - 01:15 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Guitarlover Signed

I really enjoyed this story.  Silly Adam, those Cartwrights were too close to let 5 years matter.  

Date: 11/19/2015 - 12:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: steffie1304 Signed

I wish he really had come back! Great story! 



Author's Response:

Me too!  Thanks very much for the review. ~ Debbie 

Date: 06/18/2013 - 06:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: JoesGal Signed
Oh, this makes me want to cry, Debbie! I hung onto every word, and was really sorry to see it end!

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you, JoesGal!  That means a lot. I'm glad you enjoyed it. ~Debbie 

Date: 06/15/2013 - 04:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

What a great return story -- sometimes the answers are right in front if us.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) ~ Debbie 

Date: 03/18/2013 - 06:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

What a great story. Adam got his answer when he saw Little Joe knocked that miner out. Looking foward to the next chapter in this story.



Author's Response:

I'm very please you liked it so much.  I'm not sure if I will ever do more on this story, however.  From Joe's reaction, again, I believe the reader can determine what the homecoming would be like. ;)  ~ Debbie 

Date: 11/19/2012 - 11:05 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: jcg Signed

Enjoy this story very much

Thank you



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, jcg! ~ Debbie 

Date: 08/26/2012 - 11:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lady cat Signed

I love the way he is welcome home. Good story.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, lady cat! ~ Deb 

Date: 02/08/2012 - 08:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Frannie Signed

LOVED it! I can easily see how Adam could come back to the ranch that way. GREAT job! :)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Frannie!  I'm glad you liked my take on his return. :) ~ Deb

Date: 01/29/2012 - 04:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Interesting premise in describing Adam's leaving and his return!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.  ~ Debbie 

Date: 08/09/2011 - 09:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed

Now this is what we've all wanted----Adam coming home!  Wonderful story, Deb, and very well written!  Thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

You're welcome.  Yes... I would've loved to see him go home in the original series.  I'm glad you liked how I had him do that, AdamsGirl!  ~ Debbie

Date: 06/28/2010 - 06:40 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Good Story...I wish he had come back....



Author's Response:

Oh, me too... but at least fanfic let's us bring him back. :)  ~ Debbie

Date: 05/28/2010 - 11:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed

very good storie



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! ~ Debbie 

Date: 05/28/2010 - 10:10 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pony Signed

Wow ... what an awesome story, and beautifully written! The narrative hinted at what was to come and yet, in the hands of an artful writer, it was still the classic "surprise ending." Thanks so much for sharing, Debbie!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments and review, pony!  I didn't know how it would turn out in the end writing it the way I did, but I'm glad it worked for you.  Thanks very much!  ~ Debbie

Date: 04/21/2010 - 06:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Ponderosa Penny Signed

Adam, Adam, Adam, you silly man.  Of course they would welcome you with open hearts and open arms.  What a neat little story.  I always figured that Adam would come back for Christmas.  Nice job with a clever twist.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the lovely review, Penny.  I'm delighted you enjoyed it :) ~ Debbie

Date: 04/09/2010 - 04:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

What a compelling story. Jake is a very wise man.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, mysterygirl!  Glad you liked it ~ Debbie

Date: 03/22/2010 - 10:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: amras Signed

Interesting take on how Adam came home.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, amras.  ~ Debbie

Date: 03/13/2010 - 05:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ponytales Signed

Well written!  Left me with a nice feeling of that strong family bond that the Cartwrights were known for.



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm so glad, ponytales!  It's one of the things I love best about Bonanza. Thank you very much for the lovely review. ~ Debbie

Date: 02/11/2010 - 10:05 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.