Reviews For A Good Dog
You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: kmhb Signed

Good story.  Love Adam with a dog.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and letting me know you liked the story. (I love Adam with a dog, alone or any other way!!!)

Date: 02/02/2021 - 10:51 am [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Sharry Signed

A good story, Adamant!

I really enjoy reading about an authoritative young Adam which was certainly the case here.  I loved the way he took charge once he realized Ben needed help.  Joe was much less sure of himself at a younger age, and Hoss was still happy to depend on his older brother's judgement.  Ben was not at all happy about needing help from anyone.  It works.   

Also - I'm sure my eyes widened when I noted the mule deer in your story.  Deer and injured shoulders...  :)  It's so interesting that we both thought about those things while  composing a story.  Both must be sure a sure sign of winter. 

I've often wondered why the Ponderosa did not have a dog around more often.  A pet would have been a good fit for the Cartwrights - even a working dog like Finn. 

Nicely done.        



Author's Response:

Thank you, Sharry, for taking the time to read. I'm glad you feel the plot elements work. And from what I understand, your "Winter Tale" also contains the elementsnot only of a deer and an injured shoulder. I guess I'll have to read to see how these elements were incorporated into your story. And I feeel no dogs were regularly incorporated into the series is because they are trouble to work into episodes and maintain as a "character". Just look at The Brady Bunch and the old Patty Duke Show--their dog, Tiger, disappeared after a few episodes. But I am working on another story---which I may never finish--that has dogs, so they were on my mind.

Anyway, appreciate the review.

Date: 01/31/2021 - 10:25 am [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

Trust Adam to figure everything out. 

I really enjoyed this story. It fits with the canon, and certainly could happen. Plus, the writing is excellent. 

I don't like Hop Sing's pidgin English, but that's a personal issue. Certainly it's how he spoke in the series, and his reactions are true to that character. 

Well done - as usual, Adamant. You take care with your writing, and it shows. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading, Pt29646. I'm glad you enjoyed this story. I understand your view about Hop Sing's "English" and that's why I try to reproduce his grammar, not his pronunciation. No "Caltlight" or such things. The same with Hoss--no over-exaggerations of his pronunciations. Appreciate you took the time to leave a review (and the sweet compliment on my writing!)

Date: 01/24/2021 - 09:06 am [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

Once I started reading this story, there is no stopping.  The action and description of the landscape and animals kept me engaged.   Hoss is panicked, and Joe, well, he has a lot of growing up to do.  But Ben?  No excuse whatsoever.    Resourceful Adam comes to the rescue.  Without giving anything away, the hound dog is a wonderful, colorful counterpoint to the guys.  Well done!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and leaving a review. Sorry it didn't qualify for the Reading Club badge but I hope it wasn't a waste of your time.

Date: 01/23/2021 - 08:17 pm [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

Enjoyed it.  This would be a great one to extend.  Always love the brothers younger - and grouchy younger Ben! 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, Marla, and glad you enjoyed the story. Appreciate the review.

Date: 01/17/2021 - 08:41 pm [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Hmm, I was supposed to click on a story then go tell Jan the outcome but, I got to reading and that was it.  Don't fret, I now just told Jan all OK.

Grand winter tale.  Conditions for animal & human of the icy, freezing conditions made me glad I was sat infront of a blazing fire.  The six characters are completely recognisable - i've including Finn in this figure for you've given the canine Cartwright traits and I've made the hound an honorary family member. 

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad the story caught your attention and you stayed a while. Yes, Finn is a lot like our dear Joseph--acts w/o thinking---but it's the nature of the beast. Thank you, ansi, for leaving a review and glad you're toasty warm while reading about ice and snow and Hoss' frozen parts. ;)

Date: 01/13/2021 - 02:11 pm [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Wing1610 Signed

We have some snow out here today. So it's the perfect day to read this cute story. The contributors are aptly characterized: Hop Sing with his excitement; Ben refusing to admit weakness; Little Joe with his fear and insecurity; Hoss as a man of action, unfortunately sometimes unsuccessful. And then Adam comes and with just a few words and actions brings everything back into balance.

I think it's an interesting idea to put a loyal dog by Adam's side. I like the comparison he draws between himself and the dog.

The story was an extremely pleasant pastime. Thanks for that, Adamant!



Author's Response:

Yes, a snowy day would give one the right mend-set to read this. As for the loyal dog, I am trying to write another story and dogs figure in that one, so I decided to give Adam a good hunting dog here. I'm glad you noticed the way Adam explains how he manages to keep check on his emotions; it is a matter of self-discipline--and that's hat he has to give to his animal.

I'm glad the story helped pass the time pleasantly, Thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts, Wing1610.

Date: 01/13/2021 - 12:03 pm [Report This]
Title: A Good Dog Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"A Good Dog" transports the reader to a realistic Ponderosa in winter. The few episodes shown taking place in a northern Nevada winter never fully stressed the difficulties of travel and distance, or the fear that came with those two problems.

Hoss is wonderful in this story, a sort of lesson under fire tale. Joe is, well, Joe - eager to do the right thing, but always easily distracted by his surroundings. Adam is, as always, sensible, with a touch of fear or concern lingering in the background of his dialogue and actions. 

Hop Sing and Ben play a smaller role in this story, and they are both written believably.

Thank you, Adamant, for contributing a winter story to our library. Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy, for taking the time to read and review. I had to use my imagination to describe what it might be like in a Nevada winter so I'm glad it was believable. I'm also glad you liked Hoss and the way he attempts to take on responsibility but he has a few years yet to go before he feels comfortable enough to make big decisions. I hope you found the story a good way to pass some time. Thanks again.

Date: 01/12/2021 - 12:33 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.