Reviews For Party of Bones
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

This is an amazing short story.  You said so much in a little more than 4,000 words.  As mentioned by others, your weaving of history and fiction is masterful.   I also am glad to read of an Adam who was protective of a certain step-mother.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, elizabeth.  I am delighted you liked it.  I see Adam as protective of Marie once he got to know and love her - I'm glad you saw that as authentic.  

Date: 02/27/2021 - 06:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

This is such a touching story.  Great description of the landscape and the harsh winter that was to come.  I thought you used a special tenderness with their emotions.  Adam was especially sensitive to the situation. 

Love the way you blended your story into their story. You put a real face on an unspeakable tragedy. Sweet memoriam to Levinah and all those who were in the wagon train.

Beautifully and carefully done!  

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this thoughful review, Tahoe Lee.  I'm so glad you found the story sensitive and respectful.  I appreciate you reading - so much.  

Date: 01/13/2021 - 06:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Sierras Signed

This is a riveting bitterweet story. It's heartbreaking to know what will eventually happen to that wagon train.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Sierras for your kind words.  And I agree - it is heartbreaking.  

Date: 01/10/2021 - 02:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

I enjoyed this story very much. Levinah is a great character, strong and independent. It was good, too, to see Adam so protective of Marie. 



Author's Response:

I am so delighted you enjoyed it!  I wrote Levinah the way I figured she must have been - a middle-aged (then it was middle-aged, at least) widow leaving for the west had to have been quite strong-willed and determined.  I am so glad that aspect of her came through for you.  And delighted you found Adam's protectiveness believable, too.  Thank you so much for commenting! 

Date: 01/09/2021 - 04:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: chezza Signed

Once again Lisal, you've brought an interesting and relatable woman into the Cartwright world. A woman who evokes sympathy but still has her pride and dignity. I love the historical feel of this piece. Not just the Donner references but how Levinah's experience mirrors the hardships of the women of her time. It seems to me you're saying something true about those women.

This is Ben and Levinah's story but I like the way you used Adam to bring readers a different perspective. I wonder if Adam will view his father through different eyes after this.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, chezza.  I'm so pleased you found the women sympathetic and true.  I actually felt quite badly for them while writing.  I would love to rewrite their history but alas - no go.  As for Adam - I'm sure it may have made him realize not all love ends in marriage or not all love is reciporcated.  Maybe at 16, it's something for him to ponder...?  Interesting observation, as usual.  

Date: 11/22/2020 - 01:51 am [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"Party of Bones" is both light-hearted and sad, and the young Cartwright sons are written with detail and consideration of their older selves.  

It is amazing how one familiar surname (which I won't mention) can set the tone for what's to come, yet the story continued with fresh details and interesting dialogue.

Thank you for participating in the Autumn At The Ranch 2020 challenge.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading. Tracy and for this kind review.  To know my version of Cartwright boys reflected the Cartwright men - in your eyes -  is a high compliment.  Characterization is so important to us as writers in fanfic since we all love the same guys.  :)  Thanks so much!!

Date: 11/18/2020 - 02:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: heyjude Signed

What a bittersweet story. I like the way Adam defended Marie and had reached the point of loving her in this story. Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, heyjude.  I see Adam as slow to loving her but eventually doing just that.  I'm glad it resonated with you!  

Love your name, btw!

Date: 11/17/2020 - 08:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Party of Bones Reviewer: Patina Signed
Heartbreaking on so many levels, Lisa, and a story that generates so many “what might have been” thoughts. You have a deft touch for weaving the Cartwrights’ lives into history’s fabric. I enjoyed seeing Adam protective of Marie and her fondness for him.

Author's Response:

I'm beyond touched by this, patina.  Thank you so much for reading and for your comments.  I'm thrilled you were moved by it.  

Date: 11/16/2020 - 10:14 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.