Reviews For The Red Sash
You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Bejules Signed

That was truly a living nightmare for Ben.  For him to lose his sons is the worse that could happen to him, but to then find them, only for them not to be his sons, nor to recognise him, was an even worse scenario for him to face!  

That was certainly a tremendous supernatural tale for Halloween!



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled you enjoyed it, Bejules and appreciate you reading very much.  Very glad it fit the Halloween bill!  

Date: 11/08/2020 - 08:04 am [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I felt so sorry for Ben.  First, the tragic encounter with the young boy and then his own sons.

Great description of that strange, uneasy feeling a parent can get when they know something is wrong.  Ben goes through the unimaginable but never gives up. 

I enjoyed your story very much.  Riveting and deeply emotional.  Well done!

 

 



Author's Response:

I felt sorry for Ben, too, Tahoe Lee and not sure why I like torturing him with his boys.  Perhaps because I know the torture?  lol  Which, on my end, is often self-imposed.  In anycase, I'm so glad you enjoyed it and as always, thanks for your kindly and encouraging review.  

Date: 11/07/2020 - 07:26 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

Wonderful story.  Moving and intense.  I enjoyed it greatly.  Thanks! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Marla!  Loved yours, too!  

Date: 11/03/2020 - 08:24 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

Wow, this is incredible!  You took Ben's worst fear--losing his sons--and wove it into a gripping tale.  My heart bled for the boy and his mother at the beginning, and I was heartbroken for Ben as the story played out and he kept finding and losing his sons!  The way you brought the story full circle, back to Rayka and the sash, was masterful.  A wonderful scary story!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Cowgirl!  I'm delighted you found this enjoyable and so glad it worked for you.  Your review is very, very kind.  

Date: 10/28/2020 - 12:27 am [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Sharry Signed

Whoa!  That was complicated, and so frightening! 

Ben has been through so much, yet I wasn't sure how he might make it through this situation.  It was the kind of predicament that I thought might very well break him. 

I think your description of each Cartwright son was spot on.  I recognized each one of them easily right along with each new wave of grief for Ben.  Unimaginable.  I was positively prostrate with despair for poor Ben. 

Now that I know how things worked out, I know that I can breathe again.  Whew!  That was an emotional roller coaster for me.  (It's the parent in me.)  

Thank you for a spooky story for the season, Lisal.  Happy Halloween.  :)  
  

 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks again, Sharry!  I'm glad you enjoyed the rollercoaster  - I went on one, too.  haha.  Your review is very thoughtful and generous and much appreciated.  Happy Halloween!

Date: 10/27/2020 - 08:24 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

Lisal,  this must have been very difficult to write, I would have been pulled to resolve the loss of the boys at every turn.  Incorporating gypsies into the story was a great development as they are scapegoated for everything, plus add a diminsion of the foreign and supernatural.  Well done. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, elizabeth!  It was difficult writing, yes - or moreso, editing - haha.  But in the end, I'm satisfied now.  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing - it means a lot to me! 

Date: 10/27/2020 - 08:23 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Heck, Lisal, I cannot even begin to imagine Ben's mindset.  You certainly put him through a traumatic experience, something that I am sure would send a lesser man over the edge.  You kept the tension high right throughout.  Of course, I knew everything would return to normal but quiet how it was going to happen was a bit of a journey and made for a darn good scary story.

Like how you handled the 'the boys' and kept them to character.  Great use of your prompts.  



Author's Response:

So glad you liked it, ansi and yes, a lesser man couldn't handle even half of what Ben has handled - not just in this story but throughout his life.  He's my hero!  I thank you for kind review and input from you is always encouraging.  

Date: 10/27/2020 - 07:39 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: chezza Signed

The confusion and pain Ben experiences when his whole world changes and his sons no longer know him reminds me a lot of scenes from It's A Wonderful Life. Those are some of my favourite scenes in all of cinema. It may not be traditional Halloween fare but I don't think there's a more terrifying nightmare than losing a child/children. You made it easy to identify with Ben and feel his intense emotions. I also liked seeing the Cartwright boys in a different life outside the Ponderosa where they were still retain the essence of their personalities. Well done, Lisal.



Author's Response:

Thank you, chez.  I had this great plot that I thought would come out wonderfully and just flow like water and it ended up being very hard to write.  Go figure.  I think the high intensity of emotions throughout the whole thing started getting to me and it was hard to match the writing with what I had in mind.     In any case, I am delighted you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reading it!  As always, your encouragement means a lot!  

Date: 10/26/2020 - 10:21 pm [Report This]
Title: The Red Sash Reviewer: Frannie Signed

Wow...just, wow!

You had me on the edge of my seat, Lisa! I *loved* it!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Frannie!  It didn't turn out quite as I had planned but I'm thriled you liked it.  

Date: 10/26/2020 - 06:50 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.