You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bejules Signed

A sweet but scary Halloween tale, one told by Uncle Joe!  Hoss makes a great dad, and I'm sure his daughter knows he was a true hero!  



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Jules!

I always find the other Cs more difficult to write. I hope I do them justice. :)

Date: 11/08/2020 - 08:09 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

I'd like to read more stories about Hannah and her dad.  She sounds like a lovely gal.  Loved how she referred to the men as "chatty women".    Suddenly seeing a witch is a spooky thing.  Why and how it got there?  Doesn't really matter.  I enjoyed your story.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I'm glad you like Hannah. She can be something else at times. She's in my NaNoWriMo story here from 2013, I think it was. I'm actually working on some more story with her now. So stay tuned! :)

Date: 11/04/2020 - 07:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

Thanks for the story! Great to see Hoss alive and with a family of his own - and safe from the witch! 



Author's Response:

Thank you! In my world, he didn't pass on in season 13. :)

Date: 11/03/2020 - 08:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

What a great spooky story!  I like the way you framed it as a story that Joe tells Hoss's daughter--the image of the Cartwrights all sitting around during dinner and listening to the story was great!  I really like your portrayal of Hoss as a father.  The spooky part of the story was exciting and really showed the bravery of both Hoss and Joe.  Thanks for a very enjoyable read!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I wasn't sure if the story within a story would work. I'm glad it did. :)

I'm glad you like how I write Hoss as a father. It's how I always pictured him as one.

thanks again! 

Date: 10/28/2020 - 12:04 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sharry Signed

There I was, reading along, when I completely forgot there was some sort of creature lurking about.  I jumped right along with Hoss & Joe.  Something unsavory should always accompany thunder.  It works.  

It was lovely to meet Hannah.  Knowing Hoss, she's undoubtedly a sweet girl.  I was happy for Ben also.  I know he loves to see his entire family together.  (Minus Adam, alas.) 

Thank you for a fun & spooky tale for Halloween season.  I enjoyed your story.  If I were Hoss, I'm not sure I'd want to repeat it too often either.  Leave it to Joe.    

Happy Halloween.  :)   



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Sharry!

i'm glad you enjoyed it! And thank you re Hannah! She's how I always pictured Hoss" daughter to be. I use his interactions with kids, especially Lisa in "Found Child", as my frame of reference for how he'd be with her. 

And leave it to Joseph is right lol 

Thank you again! Happy Halloween! :) 

Date: 10/27/2020 - 10:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Good twist having the story as a recollection - or was that one of your prompts?

I'm assuming LJ was the hero although it could've been Hoss.  

That Hannah was full of disbelief was another twist - did she really believeUncle Joe or not?  Witches and Halloween are made for each other and that story was made for Halloween night.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Ansi!

My prompts were: hero, Little Joe; villain, witch; plot element, silver dagger. I find LJ difficult to write, so I hope I did him justice. *nods*

Thank you again! This took me a while to do, and I'm glad it was "Halloweeny" enough! I was worried it wasn't! :)

 

Date: 10/27/2020 - 08:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisal Signed

That was an excellent job of putting a story within another story, Frannie -  all while giving us some spooks and chills and some loving family time.  Very glad to see Hannah again, too and how much she adores her family.  This was a sweet Halloween tale that had quite a bit of scare to it, too.  Well done!  



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Lisa! That means a lot! This isn't my easiest genre to do, I'm glad it turned out like it did!

And aww thanks re Hannah! I had to find some way to put her in. ;) 

Date: 10/27/2020 - 01:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

Halloween is a night for spooks to come out in the open, and this was a great telling of just such an encounter! I really liked it, Frannie.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! :)

I admit I was nervous posting it; it's been almost 10 years since I posted something here, lol. I'm glad you liked it! :)

Date: 10/26/2020 - 03:57 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.