You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: flabirder Signed

This is a very cute story. It's nice seeing Roy Coffee having a major role in a story.

Poor Joe. He's missing Adam and doesn't want to go to school. Instead of taking Joe to Ben, who would give him a good talking to, Roy chooses a different strategy. I like the way Roy took Joe to different people in town, including the stage driver and bartender, who explained why the young boy needed to go to school. I loved the story that the blacksmith told Joe. Roy's tactic near the end of the story was the final thing that convinced Joe he needed to go to school. I like how, instead of telling Ben what caused Joe to say he wanted to go to school and not become an outlaw, Roy pretended he didn't know what caused Joe to make that statement.  

Date: 10/20/2021 - 06:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: BET Signed

What a wonderful, cute story.  It had me smiling and laughing throughout your story.  Thank you.

Date: 08/05/2021 - 04:41 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

This was a very cute story.

Sheriff Roy Coffee was very clever on getting Joe to go to school.

Date: 03/17/2020 - 12:29 am [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

What a cute story! I wish every little boy and girl had someone like Roy in their lives to help them learn a lesson or two!                                

Date: 01/11/2020 - 01:29 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This story made me laugh!  Sheriff Coffee's idea for helping Joe is very clever...much more effective than just talking to him solemnly about how he has to go to school.  I also liked that one of Joe's motivations for not wanting to go to school was missing Adam; Adam's leaving for college must have made a big impression on him at that age.  Great take on the prompt, littlejoenice!

Date: 03/21/2019 - 10:50 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: SteamEngine99 Signed

I love this so much, littlejoenice! You did a wonderful job. I almost squealed reading this-- it's so cute!



Author's Response:

I laughed myself when I wrote it. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, SteamEngine99.

Date: 02/25/2019 - 08:20 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: Bahj Signed
So, Sheriff Coffee decided to go with the scared straight tactic in the end? Poor Little Joe! I think Roy's time spent with Little Joe was worth the effort and he received some very good advice. That telegrapher better keep up on his morse code because Little Joe is never going to forget that promise, lol.
Date: 02/21/2019 - 11:19 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: Sierras Signed

That's a nice little story. Little Joe is cute. Roy is a nice father figure. I can picture him being fatherly to the Cartwright boys.

Date: 02/16/2019 - 01:56 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

A sweet story.

Little Joe is so adorable.

The sheriff is a very wise man.  Too bad he never had any children.

He sure made an impact on joe's life.

I enjoyed this very much.

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, Tahoe Lee. I don't get a chance to work much with Roy's character, and this was a fun way to make him more of central part of the story.

Date: 02/10/2019 - 01:55 pm [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

What a cute story! I love the addition of Sheriff Coffee to be the one to help teach Joe a lesson.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, daisy. I figured Sheriff Coffee would be the right one to help out.

Date: 02/07/2019 - 04:10 am [Report This]
Title: A Lesson Well-Taught is a Lesson Well-Learned Reviewer: Tracy Signed

A cute story with hints of Dickens' "A Christmas Carol".

The prompt this was written for, Ponderosa Prospects, offers writers the chance to take a situation and make it their own, and littlejoenice, you've certainly done that. It's clever and I especially enjoy any story that captures Roy's intuition and thoughtfulness. Thanks for the story.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Tracy. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Dickens, huh? I wasn't even thinking of that when I wrote it! lol

Date: 02/05/2019 - 07:30 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.