Reviews For Lucky Man
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

that was a very satisfing story. I could really imagine Joe going through this torment and his brothers wanting to step in to help, I liked Adams little story to explain why they felt the need to help Joe. I bet you had fun thinking up the songs. A well written story I enjoyed reading it.



Author's Response:

I thank you so much for this, Rosanna.  My apologies for taking so long to respond - I have had no internet at my home for nearly 6 weeks.  I'm so glad you enjoyed this - and yes, the songs were fun.  

Date: 07/16/2019 - 06:17 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Wow! What a powerful, wonderful story! Beautifully written. You have quite a talent. I loved the way Adam ended things between him and Little Joe, and the ending of this story in general. Thanks so much for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this kind  review.  I'm so happy you enjoyed it! 

Date: 02/24/2019 - 01:25 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Great little story. If David Dortort had done some more flashback episodes besides the ones about Ben's wives, I could easily have seen this being one of them. Joe, Adam, and Hoss are all true to character.

It's interesting how I went from feeling righteous anger for Joe to feeling the very same thing for Donnie. Just goes to show that until you have all of the facts, you never truly know what's going on. In several cases of bullying, the bullies themselves have been bullied (too may bullies in one sentence, I know); I guess they pick on someone else in order to help themselves feel better, like they're tough or something. I'm so glad that Joe realized what was going on and reacted in the best way possible.

Oh, and the interaction between Adam and Hoss is just too dang priceless! 

Great job, Lisal! I'll defnitely be rereading this one in the future.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this generous review! A reread is one of the best compliments i could get but im thrilled you thought the boyrs rang true for you.  That's #1 in importance for me.

I had the same anger and sorrow while writing Donnie - maybe trying to heal  and explain some buried wounds of my own  - since we've all been victims of bullying at one point or another.  I always tried to remember and also teach my kids that people who are mean or rude are probably in a lot of pain themselves.  Knowing that makes it easy to forgive.

And Adam and Hoss... They play off each other so naturally on the show they make it easy to visualize for a story.

Thanks again, Annie !

 

Date: 02/20/2019 - 04:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I enjoyed this story very much.

You really nailed the characters.  Adam's sarcasm, Hoss' innocence and Joe's inner-conflicts.

The scene with the birds, literally, had me laughing out loud.  Good stuff!

Loved the story Adam told Joe.  So... good.  So... Adam.

Joe learns a lesson, about people, he'll never forget.

Well done!

 



Author's Response:

I'm very glad you enjoyed it, Tahoe Lee. And even more glad that I made you laugh... or I should say Hoss and Adam made you laugh. :) staying true to the boys' character is very important to me ( as is showing their bond) so I'm delighted you found them true in my story.  Thank you so much!

Date: 02/01/2019 - 12:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Lisal, I enjoyed this story, even read it twice. You've captured the older Cartwright sons in a younger version that is quite true to character and reminiscent of the way they were portrayed in earlier episodes. 

"Bread's good," Hoss nodded and cut another slab from the pan.  "Bread's real good." 

I laughed out loud at those lines. I don't want to give anything away, but the timing of those lines was spot on!

I recommend this story to all Boomers readers.

 



Author's Response:

Wow, Tracy.  The second reading is a high compliment, as is your recommendation.  I am very touched - and thankful for your review.  It means a lot!  I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Date: 01/30/2019 - 07:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

I just love prequels. This one prompted by a song title - which, may I say you made more than a good fist of - for me was this prequel was Cartwright perfect.  The inclusion of all the brothers was also pleasing. Trouble with leaving a review one doesn't want to give anything away, suffice it to say Adam's comparison was spot on and the display of brotherly affection; sometimes hidden, in Joe's case especially, by anger and lack of thought or both came across.

My only gripe, there weren't any prequel episodes in the series for if there had been this would've ranked in the top league 



Author's Response:

Talk about high praise, haha... I can't think of any better than a reader saying this would have made a good episode ( not to mention it was Cartwright perfect, haha)  I'm very glad you liked it, ansi - and I'm so glad their affection  came through loud and clear. Thank you so much for this review. It means a lot.

Date: 01/27/2019 - 11:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

That's a nice sweet brothers story.  You do a nice job showing the bond between the brothers. I really like the ending.  Very nice.



Author's Response:

Thank you Sierras!  Very glad their bond came across well since it's probably the major reason I love them so much.  

Date: 01/27/2019 - 10:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

Joe realizes how lucky he really is to have two "old maid aunts" to help him and it was interesting to see how the brothers manage when both Pa and Hop Sing are absent. An exploration showing how Joe comes to a deeper realization that a person's motivations often comes from their own self image and how he grows from a bullied boy to a compassionate "almost" man. : )

 

Emjoyed the original metaphores and similes!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, adamant and your "old maid aunts" made me chuckle.  I appreciate your reading and your input and I'm very glad you noticed Joe's growth.  

Date: 01/27/2019 - 08:47 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.