You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisala Signed

This is a charming story with a gorgeous, yet hazardous setting.  The snowstorm was vivid and nerve-wracking at first then cozy once Hoss found the cabin (although slightly heartbreaking with the loss of the mule). 

Jack and James were immediately likable and authentic  - no stereotypes just real men.  i LOVE Boulder and how he protects the animals (and Snowflake too though we never meet him/her). I was pleasantly surprised to find out the boys were on the trail with the Cartwrights.   Their description of Adam being spunky and smart made me smile.  

I admire your writing style - your descriptions are perfect and you put just the right amount of emotion in - for example having them go silent right up there they told about how their mother died was very effective.  The ending I don't want to give away but was very effective too.

This was a warm-hearted story to savor over a nice cup of tea on a wintry evening. Kudos!



Author's Response:

Lisala, Thank you so much for reading my story and for your encouraging review.  Once in a great while, stories almost write themselves and this was one of them.

Date: 05/31/2019 - 05:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

Well I’m always drawn to Hoss stories. I found this a good short story very fast paced. The first part had some nice depth to it a lot of descriptive writing which set the scene nicely. Liked reading Hoss story of  trying to get home for Christmas nicely done



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my story and leaving your reflections.    I always appreciate the thoughts of readers.

Date: 04/03/2019 - 09:58 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sport Signed

Really enjoyed this little tale. Would love to hear more about this family.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading.  the story continues in "Along Some Trail, In the Springtime."  and probably more to follow after that.

Date: 06/15/2018 - 09:15 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A nice Hoss story  :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my story.  I'm glad you liked it.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my story.  I'm glad you liked it.

 

Date: 05/26/2018 - 09:47 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you for letting me know you liked it.

Date: 01/21/2018 - 01:15 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Interesting! If you ever get the urge, you should write another story starring the Fayette brothers. I'd definitely read it. Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Annie K.  I'm glad you liked the Fayettes.  I believe another story about them is stirring.

Date: 01/12/2018 - 07:05 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

A lovely story about how certain people emerge and re-emerge in your life at what seem to be moments controlled by the fates. Life often has a way of working out. And Hoss made it home by Christmas. Excellent setting and descriptive text of cold weather and snow.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Adamant.  I had something similar happen in my life, when I was much younger.  I think that must be the inspiration for the Fayettes.

Date: 12/11/2017 - 09:00 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Fictional the Fayette's may well be but, in my mind I am as awed as Hoss.  The realism was only added to by the geographics.

A wonderful winter's tale that leaves the door wide open, not for a cold rush of air or a flurry of snow but for Hoss' return, Monique and a likkle wolfhound. 



Author's Response:

Ansi,  Thank you so much for the warm review.  I appreciate it.   I am thinking perhaps a story continuation in the late spring.  

Date: 12/09/2017 - 09:49 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

Thank you Cowgirl.  I am glad you enjoyed the story.   When writing about the geography where I have never been, I like to take a look at the map and any other information I can find about the area.   Gives the character a more solid base.

Date: 12/08/2017 - 08:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tracy Signed

A perfect story for the winter challenge.

I especially enjoyed the ties to the Cartwright past.



Author's Response:

Thank you Tracy.  The Cartwright past seems to hold a wealth of possibilities for stories.

 

Date: 12/07/2017 - 11:51 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

What a heartwarming story!  I'm so glad Hoss fell in with kind people, and the fact that they knew Ben and Inger from the trip west makes it even better.  Also, I really appreciate the carefully-done geography research for the story!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my story and reviewing it.

Date: 12/06/2017 - 10:36 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.