Reviews For The Hill
You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A nice story.  It's nice to see the three brothers starting to bond with each other.



Author's Response:

I appreciate the review.

Date: 04/07/2018 - 04:24 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

Lovely story! Nothing like an accident to Little Joe to melt away Older Brother's hard-headedness. :) 

Lines that stood out to me: 

"You're their father--you take them." This is sassy, but not un-Adamlike. It made me think of Calamity Over the Comstock, when Ben orders Adam to talk some sense into Joe and Adam responds with, "He's your son." 

"'Thanks, Hoss,' Joe said. 'You're my favoritest brother ever.' Joe looked up at Adam to see if he'd respond." I like this characterization. Joe's testing the waters, looking for a reaction, and it's so like a kid of that age. 

"You are the most mulish, hard-headed, bravest kid I think ever lived." High praise from Adam. It warmed the cockles of my heart. <3 

Thank you for a splendid story! 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my entry and including it in your "Winter Tale's" reviews. I appreciate the positive words as every one who writes revels in compliments -- I'm sure. Thank you again and Happy Holidays. 

Date: 12/12/2017 - 02:33 am [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

I loved this story.  Adam's teenage attitude, the arguments between the younger two boys, Ben's frustration all are understandable.  I liked how the shared sledding activity bonded the 3 of them together.

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked the story. I tried to remember what it had been like as a child to be snowed in and the boredom. Thank you for reviewing.

Date: 12/08/2017 - 08:46 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: ansinico Signed

First I have to confess I am a sucker for the young Cartwrights. 

A lovely, typical family discord, made worse by the enforced entrapment.

The scene indoors was so visible to the mind's eye.

Totally empathise with young, old and not so old. 

The dialogue and descriptions worked well.  

The ending was perfect with Adam wanting to take his brothers to the not quite so ... slope. 

A charming, gentle story. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, ansi, for reading and leaving such nice comments.  I tried to make the situation realistic and the young C's, mini-me's of the grown brothers. ;-)

Date: 11/19/2017 - 07:49 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Tracy Signed

First, I was angry with Ben for insisting Adam step away from his chosen activity - reading. But with Adam leaving soon, I see why Ben wanted his boys to be together as much as they could.

Each brother experienced a realization in this story, and with Adamant's flair for writing the young characters in a way allows readers to see them clearly as young versions of the grown Cartwrights we know so well, those realizations are natural, filled with Cartwright sarcasm, thought, and compassion.



Author's Response:

Well, even Ben has cabin fever! Thank you for reading and the nice words.  Although there is no crucial event in the story, no profound drama, I wanted to write just a simple, "Winter's Tale" that others might enjoy. Thanks for the challenge and for the review.

Date: 11/17/2017 - 11:02 am [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

Poor Adam! I know how he feels with two younger brothers. I like the way it ended, though, with all of them on good terms. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, PT, for takng the time to read and for leaving a review. Pleased you liked it.

Date: 11/16/2017 - 06:21 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: January Signed

That was such a cute story.  And seems like Ben missed all the fun!  I can also imagine how difficult it was when they were little after Marie died.  Bonanza fans didn't get to see any of that as the show started with grown men.

Very nicely written.   As the ride down the hill was predictable, it was also very exciting!  Little Joe was probably the most adorable kid ever.  LOL!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Jan. And the sled ride was predixtable -- I wanted the emphasis to be on the change in older brother's crappy attitude. (Teenagers! What're you gonna do with them!) And I imagine Joe was adorable -- and spoiled!

Date: 11/16/2017 - 04:34 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I really enjoyed this story!  The conflict is well done...Adam's attitude in the beginning of the story, and the change that happens when he sees Joe go down the hill, seem very true to life. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, CAH. I hope the story seemed realistic and that the characters behaved as they might have at that age. Thanks for leaving a review.

Date: 11/16/2017 - 03:41 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.