You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Lisala Signed

So much to love about this, I'm not sure where to start.  First and foremost I love your version of Marie - her pride, her pain, her love for her boys, her wisdom.  You found the perfect way to add backstory and it blended in seamlessly.  The conversation Adam and marie had regarding him always taking care of his brothers was especially touching without being sappy - an ability i envy.

Secondly, I think you do first person extremely well. I seriously felt like I was watching him think whether on top of sport or near the lake or heading home You're writing overall is so easy to read and it's very easy to get lost  in the story,  which is not an simple task for a writer. Your details are perfectly placed and not overdone.

Thirdly,  I just like the story overall.  SO much.  Adam is so beautiful in it.  J'adore.

 



Author's Response: Thank you, Lisala, for your detailed review! I enjoy writing Marie and her possible relationship with Adam--it must have been complex and multi-layered. When I started this story, it was third person and a struggle but changing the POV made all the difference. Merci for reading and letting me know you enjoyed this story.
Date: 08/04/2018 - 12:18 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Sometimes mothers give the best advice. Thank you for this lovely insight into Adam's mind! It would have made a great addition to that episode.



Author's Response: Thank you, Annie K. I'm pleased to know you think this little story could have fit into She Walks in Beauty.
Date: 01/14/2018 - 12:47 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Adam and Joseph Signed

Thank you for the story. You did a great job with Adam!

Date: 02/12/2015 - 04:11 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Adam and Joseph Signed

Thank you for the story. You did a great job with Adam!



Author's Response: Thank you for reading and leaving a review, Adam and Joseph.
Date: 02/12/2015 - 04:10 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

I loved this story and Adam being the over protective brother struggled with this dilemma as to what to do where Hoss is concerned. Loved the way it ended with Adam going to Marie's grave to talk to her.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mo, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.  

Date: 11/19/2012 - 10:43 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: nyspats Signed

Adam always wants to do the right thing. You have to admire him for that. Loved the story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, spats, for letting me know you enjoyed the story.

Date: 07/15/2012 - 04:49 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Gillie Signed

Great story, Patina.  Each sentence of Adam's thoughts about Regan held my interest.  Of course, he'd be thinking about what to do in such a complicated situation. Your story added depth to a good episide.  I enjoyed reading it.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gillie, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.  Adam must have been somewhere, thinking on what to tell Hoss, since it took him so long to get back to the Ponderosa.

Date: 06/22/2012 - 02:59 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Calamity Signed

I like how you tied everything into a young man's confusion about women. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Calamity. 

Date: 01/28/2012 - 05:22 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: jmd29 Signed

Beautiful story!  I loved the window into Adam's thoughts - I think you captured him perfectly!



Author's Response:

Thank you, jmd!  I'm thrilled to know Adam comes across as the man we know and love!

Date: 04/24/2011 - 04:26 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Angelface1961 Signed

Poor Adam so much soul searching adn the hardest part of his day was still to come. Good job on your portrayal of Adam's anguish.



Author's Response:

Thank you, AF.  Adam must have wanted to protect his brother yet let him make his own decision.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 01/07/2011 - 10:02 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

"Je t’aime, Ma.”  That is so sweet. 

Adam bore the burden of responsibility from day one.  His role as eldest son and eldest brother was one he took seriously and no one was beyond reproach when the happiness or safety of one his brothers was threatened.

Thank you for an insightful look into Adam's psyche.

Lillian



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lillian!  I'm so pleased you enjoyed Adam's thoughts in regard to what he should do.  It couldn't have been an easy decision.

Date: 10/11/2010 - 02:37 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: pam Signed

A wonderful story and well written out I enjoined reading it



Author's Response:

Thank you, pam.

Date: 09/03/2010 - 01:25 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Ponderosa Penny Signed

I just figured out that WHIB stands for what happened in between.  This is such a neat approach, I really enjoyed it alot.   It was easy to read, so well written and how wonderful to be inside Adam's head.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Penny.  I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed Adam's thoughts about his dilemma.

Date: 04/11/2010 - 07:08 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: mysterygirl Signed

What a bittersweet story. Adam is faced with a horrendous decision and you showed his agony at wanting to do the right thing and yet knowing that he could end up hurting someone he loved. Thanks for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Thank you, mysterygirl.  Adam wanted to protect Hoss yet realized his brother had to make his own decisions.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 04/04/2010 - 08:39 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Another touching story in the library! Thanks for writing! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 11/29/2009 - 09:03 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: pony Signed

A beautiful story, capturing the many nuances of the relationships between the Cartwrights and those they loved - past, present and yes, future too. The heart of the family ... always ... was their love for one another.



Author's Response:

Thank you, pony!  Ben raised his sons to love each other through thick and thin.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story!

Date: 05/08/2009 - 05:35 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: wordsthatwill Signed

WHat a poignant pov of a very emotionally tumultuous moment in Adam's life.  What to do...as always, his brother's welfare was first and foremost in his mind.  How lovely that he reminisced about Marie and turned to her for advice.

Thanks for a heart warming story.

Lillian



Author's Response:

Thank you, Lillian!  Adam didn't want to see Hoss's heart crushed by someone who could never truly love him but wasn't sure if he should interfere or not.  Glad to know that you enjoyed Adam's thoughts about Marie and his plea for advice.

Date: 03/27/2009 - 06:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Dori Signed

Great story Patina, and like the others I wondered where Adam went too.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Dori!  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed my explanation of what Adam was up to after leaving the Miller place.

Date: 03/18/2009 - 09:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: weavereb Signed

Very nice story, Patina!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Beav!

Date: 03/13/2009 - 07:14 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: dusty Signed

Nice accounting as to where Adam spent the afternoon and early evening after leaving the Miller place. I was always curious why he didn't get home until after dark. Enjoyed the story.



Author's Response:

Thank you, dusty!  Adam must have been somewhere until after dark, so I'm glad to know that my explanation makes sense.  Thank you, again, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 03/08/2009 - 09:10 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Terina Signed

Awesome Patina.  I liked how you included past events with the present.  Adam really asked the hard questions, that I don't think Hoss has thought about.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Terina!  I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed the flashbacks of Marie.  Thank you, again, for letting me know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 03/05/2009 - 01:20 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: AdamsGirl Signed

I loved this!  It was great reading, Patina!  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you, AdamsGirl! 

Date: 03/05/2009 - 05:45 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: kmariecrtwrt Signed

Nice story, who wouldn't be proud to have a son like Hoss. (or Adam and Joe, for that matter)



Author's Response:

Thank you, kmarie!  Adam knew deep-down that Hoss would make the right decision.  I'm pleased to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 03/05/2009 - 12:36 am [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Cowgirl Signed

Great read patina. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Cowgirl.

Date: 03/02/2009 - 02:53 pm [Report This]
Title: A Woman Cloaked in Scandal Reviewer: Bertha Signed

good story, often wondered what Adam would do if Hoss hadn't jumped him first, thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you, Bertha.  Hoss leapt to the wrong conclusion without an explanation.  I'm glad to know you enjoyed this story.

Date: 03/02/2009 - 12:02 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.