Reviews For Adam I Have Loved
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 20 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Great story.  The plot took on many twists and turns.  Some things are shocking, but ultimately, this is a story about family.  Loved the scene with water and rebirth.  Adam is beautiful.  Kudos. 

You'll hang on every word of this story.  Well done!  

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for enjoying this story. It took a long time to write, required much research and I'm happy it still has an audience. Thank you for such wonderful comments.

Date: 07/23/2021 - 11:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 17 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

Hop Sing is such a treasure.  He is so sensitive and picks up on little things that others might miss.  I love his place in the family and in your story.  His heart is pure and his innocence is so sweet.  Love the way you portrayed him as an essential part of what home means to the Cartwright family and the Ponderosa.  He represents home, comfort and everything familiar. 

 



Author's Response:

Yes, Hop Sing is a reliable character and he and Esau have many things in common, both being technically "outsiders." BUt then, both initially distrust people until they know they can be relied on. Thanks.

Date: 07/23/2021 - 11:04 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 13 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I'm almost at a loss for words at how tender and understanding Hoss is.  He's so unassuming and yet such a great listener.  I love the scenes with Ben and Hoss.  You portrayed Hoss' heart beautifully.  He really is the heart and soul of the family.  Seriously, one of the best scenes I've read in fan-fiction. 

 



Author's Response:

I remember a few critics said that once Dan Blocker died, he took the heart of the Ponderosa with him. He does seem to be a character who strives the most to keep his family together. I'm glad--and flattered--you liked the scene.

Date: 07/23/2021 - 11:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

What a great way to start a story.  I was hooked from the very first sentence.  The worst nightmare you could ever imagine.  Couldn't stop reading this one.  You combine the familiar characters that we know and love, with the unfamiliar and it works.  Seamlessly.  Beautifully written and yet shocking and terrifying. 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for choosing this story to read. Yes, a horrible incident opens this story but I wanted readers to see that Ben had to make a terrible decision. Over the years, he would have often wondered about that choice and perhaps wept with despair.

Date: 07/23/2021 - 11:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I had a sneakin' suspicion about that drunk. Nice move, Adamant! And overall a great story! Brava!



Author's Response:

Thanks for taking the time to read this story and for leaving the comments, Annie K. I was quite surprised when I checked my email this morning and saw that someone had actually read one of my stories, so thanks again.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 09:27 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 19 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I love the Ben/Adam moment. Well, I wonder if Poppy killed Frank or got someone else to do it for her?

Date: 05/12/2017 - 09:10 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I knew she was bad! And now the truth's out.



Author's Response:

I don't think Poppy's that bad--considering her past. I tried to make her a little sympathetic.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 09:02 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 17 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Daww! I just love Hop Sing!

Date: 05/12/2017 - 08:54 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 16 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Wow. What a viper.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 08:47 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 15 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I hope Adam doesn't actually do that...

Date: 05/12/2017 - 08:09 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 14 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Haha! At least Roy seems to see what Ben doesn't.



Author's Response:

Roy always was observant, part of his job. He also had an objective  distance so he could see in Esau/Adam what Ben couldn't.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 07:57 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 13 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Good. At least Ben senses that there's something different about Esau.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 07:43 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 12 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Aww! Again, poor Adam! 

Date: 05/12/2017 - 01:49 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Oh, dear. Something else bad is going to happen, isn't it?

Date: 05/12/2017 - 01:35 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Oh, Hoss! xD

Date: 05/12/2017 - 01:20 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

At least he doesn't hate Hoss--I don't think anybody could, to be honest. He's so open and friendly. I hope he finally lets go of his anger towards his father though...

Date: 05/12/2017 - 01:14 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I did not see that coming. And now we see just how barbaric the white man could be. Grr!

Date: 05/12/2017 - 01:03 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

That last scene was kinda cute. I love how Adam is so tongue-tied around Mosane. ;)

Date: 05/12/2017 - 12:54 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Interesting! I thought he would have been made an adopted son, but instead he was a slave. I think I've read only one other story--in a completely different fandom--where a character was made a slave of the Indians. 



Author's Response:

I didn't see the Indians accepting him as a son but as a slave. I suppose he could have but I felt that Adam should have to earn that honor.

Date: 05/12/2017 - 12:41 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 4 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Aww! Poor Adam!

Date: 05/12/2017 - 12:30 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 3 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

I hope this doesn't sound weird, but I appreciate that you show the horror of the torture techniques that the Indians used. Most of the stories I've read about the Native Americans gloss over such things. Don't get me wrong, I'm very much for Native American rights (I've got a bit of Cherokee blood in me) and I believe with all of my heart that the way they were treated by the whites was barbaric, but their ways of life were vastly different from the white man's. There's just a raw reality to the way you've written about them--and about the Old West--that I find appealing.



Author's Response:

As you said, often the Indian torture techniques are glossed over, but I try to show things in a realistic light; and the whites don't fare much beter in the story.  I'm glad you can appreciate that because many readers don't care for that sort of thing. And I did my research.

Date: 05/11/2017 - 11:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 2 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Sounds like troubles coming. Nice chapter; I like how you write about Adam's thoughts and how they are--due to his background--a bit different than how the other cowboys think.

Date: 05/11/2017 - 10:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

What a sad beginning, but--as someone who has always been interested in the Native Americans--I'm really looking forward to where this story is going.



Author's Response:

Thank you for giving this story a try. I know that there are other stories of Adam living with Indians (perhaps better written ones as well) but I truly wrote an original plot--at least to my knowledge.

Date: 05/11/2017 - 09:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Truly a different Adam story. I was not sure where it was going in the beginning but as always, ant you did an amazing job with this one!! Now off to read Blood Brothers!! Yes it was worth my time to read this, ant



Author's Response:

I'm glad you found this story worh your time. The follow-up story (not a sequel) is totally different in tone, POV and such.  (I don't do well with sequels!) Thanks again, lmc.

Date: 10/01/2016 - 11:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 19 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Well you didn't warn me to get the tissue box, excuse me for a moment :sob

Date: 10/01/2016 - 10:57 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.