You must login (register) to review.
Title: All's Well That Ends Well, But, Is it?! Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I haven't laughed so hard in quite a while!  This is such a funny story, and having chapters from the point of view of each Cartwright, Hop Sing, and Roy makes it even better!

Date: 04/05/2017 - 08:10 pm [Report This]
Title: All's Well That Ends Well, But, Is it?! Reviewer: adamant Signed

Well, Hoss, there is no guarantee that chaos won't soon reign supreme again. An interesting Rashomon-type story wth the various viepoints and much confusion about the "mystery!"

Thank you for participating in MMM, ansi.

Date: 07/11/2016 - 03:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Hop Sing, Spirits and Balance. Reviewer: adamant Signed

Hop Sing's version reminds me of the primers we had in elementary school: "See Jane run. Run, Jane run!" ;-D

Glad tha Hop Sing is ready to do some ghost-busting.

Date: 07/11/2016 - 03:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Ben's Version. Reviewer: adamant Signed

Interesting first chapter. The idea of a poltergeist is interesting for a premise. Not quite sure that a missing bronze and a moved picure and such are a mystery to confound--someone could be sleepwalking for all we know! But it is a treasured and valuable piece and Hop Sing was superstitious. In my experience, the more religious people are, the more they tend to be suoerstitious to a degree.

 

Will be back to read more

Date: 07/10/2016 - 04:14 pm [Report This]
Title: All's Well That Ends Well, But, Is it?! Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Well, a strange tale, indeed. Missing items, missing people, and no concrete answers.

Ansi, you certainly have quite an imagination. Thank you for sharing it in this March Mystery Month story.



Author's Response:

Yes Tracy, so I have been told my imagination is a tad quirky.  

After reading your review I thought it best to add a couple of clues.  

The two naughty spirits 'Aryanju' and 'Igelli' that appear to be the cause of all this strangeness are anagrams of notable Boomers.

Boomers that make people and things disappear, move and change. 

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, I do so appreciate your input.

 

 

   

Date: 04/19/2016 - 09:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Hop Sing, Spirits and Balance. Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Hop Sing's speech is a slower-read for me, but I can hear his voice clearly.



Author's Response:

That you can hear his voice is good enough for me Trac.

Date: 04/19/2016 - 08:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Coffee Is Not Always Best Stirred. Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Six missing persons, nothing of theirs amiss, and no real connection. I'm a little confused, but then, so are the players!



Author's Response:

Yep, they all be confused, I am thinking I don't know what's going on and I wrote it. 

Date: 04/19/2016 - 07:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Hoss Sees It This Way. Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Hoss's POV is quite entertaining. He is a remarkable man, able to see things in different ways.



Author's Response:

Yes, I think so too, Hoss' has a different mindset and way of looking at things.  I always think he is a man, well worth taking note of.  Glad that came across.

Date: 04/19/2016 - 05:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Little Joe's Recall. Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Interesting to read the events of the morning as told from another Cartwright. Now, what will happen when the Cs meet the sheriff?



Author's Response:

Roy doesn't come into the picture for a few another few chapters.

Hope the point of view of each of the Cartwrights doesn't become tiresome.

Date: 04/19/2016 - 04:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Ben's Version. Reviewer: Tracy Signed

Well, so far, the title has me as flummoxed as chapter one. Just like Ben, I find it hard to believe he would believe in a poltergeist. But he seems to have no other option.

I enjoyed the breakfast table banter between the C sons, and I'm anxious for Roy's questioning of those who last saw the missing citizens of Virginia City.



Author's Response:

Thanks, for reading Tracy.  Being flummoxed at the start of a mystery story, I guess ain't no bad thing.  

I must admit the title took me a while but, hopefully as the story unfolds you will see my reasoning.

Thank you, the banter between the Cartwright brothers I enjoy writing. 

Date: 04/19/2016 - 02:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Ben's Version. Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Reviewer: CALAMITY

Gotta say how much I love that title - so perfect for the story. 

So familiar are you with our boys that you have kept each character in his voice during the first person narration. For a time I wondered at the order, having Joe follow Ben instead of Adam, but your order gives the story a better flow.

My absolute favorite part, and there were many favorite parts, is when Hop Sing confronts the unhappy house. Who else but Hop Sing could have done that? Who else but Hoss would realize that the entire mystery could have been repeated? 
So real was LJs reaction to the sheriff while blaming him for the missing women that I could actually see the scene playing out. It takes a lot to put off Ben Cartwright, and you have done it with style.

Author's Response:

It was only just before posting that I could come up with anything suitable.

So appreciate that the character could be identified. That Ben's sons followed in reverse order is due to Westie, how right she was.

That you found Hop Sing's part your favourite is a bonus for me.  I was at one point even going to leave Hop Sing on the cutting room floor.  I had enough wordage by the time I started writing his piece.  But, I figured he was the messenger with the good news and changed my mind.

You know yourself it is always a plus when a reader can visualise ones words.

And yes, Hoss is right it can and will be repeated.

Thanks Cal for taking the time with both reviews. 

(Ooops Cal, I've deleted everything instead of one word. Hope I can make amends.)

Date: 04/02/2016 - 10:25 am [Report This]
Title: All's Well That Ends Well, But, Is it?! Reviewer: Sharry Signed

Well - there had certainly never been a time quite like this one on the Ponderosa, or in town for that matter.  It was a mystery not solvable by traditional means - Roy and Clem were just as lost as everyone else.  

I liked each individual perspective or point of view - particularly Hop Sing's.  I could hear his clipped little voice in my head as he offered his explanation of the day it all went wrong.  I thought it was charming that Joe was best at communicating with him in his native tongue.  Also appreciated the visit with Sam Clemens.    

I actually think there could be something that runs true to the concept of a happy vs an unhappy house.  I haven't known things to disappear and reappear per se, but I guess if truly evil spirits are involved, it could happen.  I've also often thought that a house full of men such as theirs would need to be managed by someone like Hop Sing.  It would require a sort of magical touch such as he had.    

Thank you, Ansi, for a fun mystery! 

(Also - did you receive a PM from me?  If not, please send me a quick note saying anything, and I can reply to that.  Sometimes I can't get along with PM, and replying to a message there is easier - I don't know why.)  
  



Author's Response:

Sharry, thanks for taking the time and effort to read and review.

Thankful too that you enjoyed the fun/comedy I tried to bring across.  It was a mystery of a kind, and I am sure woulda worried the bejabbers out of one and all.  

Yes, stuff does go missing and turns up when you are not looking for it.  I did take that into consideration but I really do think Hop Sing's spirits were being naughtier than usual, so I guess the ranch house had a reason to be unhappy.   

(As requested I sent you a pm.)  

Date: 04/01/2016 - 07:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Ben's Version. Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Ben is typically the one looking for a logical reason behind any odd occurance so for him to even consider St. Anthony or Hop Sings explanation clearly shows how upset he was concerning the missing items.

Sharp beginning with plenty of action. 



Author's Response:

Cal, thanks for taking the time to read and review.  I was concerned some about Ben taking on so, he is a much stronger character but decided he was also a private man and wouldn't want anyone rummaging around his home. Even there were none of the usual: gunfights; fistfights; etc; etc.  I am glad you found some action there. 

Date: 03/30/2016 - 01:30 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.