Reviews For Bootless Cries
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Part Five Reviewer: KathyC Signed

Thanks for another great read, Marla!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review! 

 

Date: 01/10/2019 - 11:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Part Five Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

That story was unbelievable!!! You obviously, are a VERY talented writer! I cried for Joe, I'm sure that is a given. My heart aches as I think of him being in that pain, especially for the reason being the request of his mother. The sleep walking, everthing...you have a most perfect story! It is so real to me becasue you gave so many believable details. I am just in awe! Thank you very much for sharing your gift with us!



Author's Response:

Thank you for taking the time to post two reviews.  Nothing makes a writer happier than a reader who is happy!  Writing this one was a bit of a rollercoaster ride as it is the first real honest 'mystery' I have written (with clues, etc.) and doing that organically is a bit of a challenge. <G>  

For me the greatest compliment is when someone says that one of my tales reads like an episode.  It's what I strive for.  Thanks again! 

Date: 05/28/2016 - 10:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Part One Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

I cannot believe how well wriiten this is! I cannot wait to move on to the next chapter! As I read, I could swear I am watching a real episode on TV! Thank you so very much for sharing your amazing talent with us! This is defifinitely one of my favorites!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your very kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed it!  It was fun focusing on Hoss for once.  

Date: 05/27/2016 - 04:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Part One Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

I almost missed reading this but I'm so glad you pointed it out for me! Really good story with a lot of twists and turns. All of the Carwrights are here. I'm glad the mystery of Joe's boots is solved at the end!



Author's Response:

Glad you made it over to the library and found the tale - and that you enjoyed it!  Thanks for commenting.

Date: 05/02/2016 - 06:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Part One Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Ooop, I suppose you realise my error, I done left this review in your other story. (What The Wind Blew In).  I did read it as a WIP but I may have missed some chapters, it will be read in due course.

This story goes along at a fair old clip; crosses seas; involves royalty and a network of spies.  And to think it all started with the loss of a pair of boots.

Murder, trickery and all kinds of intrigue woven into a melange of schemes and back-stabbing.

I was breathless nay exhausted half way through but I had to read on to the final conclusion.  How could I not, the urgency of the writer compelled me to do so.

 

Author's Response:

The first image that came to me was those missing boots.  I had to discover where they had gone just like everyone else.  Organic writing is always nerve-wracking and just as much fun for me as the reader.  Hope I didn't leave you too exhausted! 

Date: 04/22/2016 - 12:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Part Five Reviewer: Bertha Signed

Quite a story. Thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I am glad you enjoyed the tale!

Date: 04/04/2016 - 12:26 am [Report This]
Title: Part Five Reviewer: Calamity Signed

The ending is a touching scene between brothers however I couldn't help but smile at 'bootless cries' after all Joe went through upon losing his footware. It was interesting the way you tied the desire for the crown into what Joe had lost  

I prefer stories that include all four Cartwrights and you did that nicely, what a winding road Little Joe had to follow to find his way. It's a good thing he comes from a loving family. 

Thanks for sharing your story  

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind compliments.  I too prefer storie (and episodes) with all the Cartwright men, so that is what I tend to write.  Poor Joe.  All I knew when I started writing was that his boots were missing.  I write organically so the story develops as I go.  I did take Joe for a ride!  <G>

Date: 04/02/2016 - 12:37 am [Report This]
Title: Part Two Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Lots of action going on. Joe is having a bad time, poor kid. I'll get back to finish the story soon

Date: 04/01/2016 - 10:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Part Five Reviewer: Sharry Signed

Wow - this was an amazing and mysterious tale, Marla.  I had no idea where we were going most of the time, but I enjoyed the journey immensely.  :)

The sleepwalking scenario is intriguing.  People can, and apparently have, done numerous, wild, and weird things while remaining technically asleep.  The brain is quite a complex organ, and undoubtedly there remains a lot to learn about its function even nowadays.  The psyche and the brain can collide into an even more complex combination in each individual, and Joe's relationship with his mother was certainly unique in comparison to eithr of his older brothers.

I felt for Ben and all of his worries throughout the story.  He had to worry about each of his sons individually at revolving times - Joe's behavior remaining an unsolved mystery until the end.  It rings true that Adam was intuitive enough to unravel it all, (although Hoss also knew something was wrong), and close enough to Joe to execute solving it.  Adam's determination to help his brother rang true to the end.  

I didn't expect any of the ties to England and Scotland initially, but appreciated the motive for the backstory.  It did explain a number of things, and as always, the comparison between brothers in the other family is always in stark contrast to the Cartwright brothers.  

Thank you for an exciting, mysterious story, Marla.  Well done.      



Author's Response:

As usual, Sharry, thanks for your support and kind comments about my writing.  As to sleepwalking, my granddaughter has done it.  One night she came out, sat down at the computer and used it, and then started kicking a soccer ball around the house - all while asleep!  When she woke up she didn't remember a thing.

Another thing the muses brought to this tale was the plot with the English crown.  My readers often tell me they can't imagine where I am going with the story and, as I have said before, it's because *I* don't know either!

Date: 03/30/2016 - 02:09 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.