Reviews For A Brother's Love
You must login (register) to review.
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

 

What a gorgeous story. I love the closeness that you portrayed in this story with Adam and Joe. Of course Joe seemed resentful but also happy the his brother was there to look after him. And Adam using the old parents trick tried and true to get any youngest to sleep, classic. This story really made me feel the bond between brothers and the affection they feel for each other no matter how old they get. A well written story



Author's Response:

Thank you, Rosanna.  The closeness between brothers was certainly the intended point of the story.  I'm glad you perceived the overall theme of the story in that way.  Adam's advantage over Joe would have occasionally been the difference in their ages when they were both much younger.  However, though Adam knows well that Joe is an adult in every way, some aspects of their history together would never go away.  The memories might fade substantially into the background, but they would never leave entirely.  I don't think Adam would feel a need to pull that card very often on his younger brother.  Adam is simply too mature for that.  If the circumstances dictated a reverse tactic, I think Adam would do whatever was necessary to take care of Joe and settle him down for his younger brother's own good.  I like to think that's what happened here.  :)   

Date: 07/22/2019 - 05:21 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Sierras Signed

After this story was mentioned in chat tonight I thought I would read it again.  It's such a touching story. I really enjoy the study of Joe and Adam's relationship and the bond between them.  It's so nicely done!  Thank you!  :)



Author's Response:

I think of this little story as a short study of Adam and Joe's relationship also.  As something that interests me a lot, it's a concept that always percolates easily at the back of my mind.  If you can feel the bond between the two men throughout the story, that's wonderful to hear directly.  I appreciate the time you took to reread the story.  Thank you again so much!        

 

Date: 07/21/2019 - 12:41 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Bzf Signed

This is a precious story.  I had read and enjoyed it previously, but reread it tonight after it was mentioned in the Saturday Chat.  Beautifully written, easily visualized, situations and personalities captured with succinct precision.  So much wisdom and understanding of the characters conveyed without belaboring.  Thank you for the pleasure.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for rereading, Bzf!  I've always thought Adam and Joe must have developed a profoundly special relationship over the years.  I wanted to spotlight the affection as well as the inevitable sort of clashes that all brothers experience to a greater or lesser degree.  The two of them might approach a lot of things from different angles, yet they have acres of common ground between them.  There must have been so much that Adam knew about his youngest brother that he never shared with the rest of the world.  I don't blame him! 

 

See you in chat sometime.  :)        

Date: 07/20/2019 - 11:48 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

Don't mind me, I'm just back for another perusal of one of my favourite stories. :)



Author's Response:

No problem, Annie.  You're welcome to stop by any time.  We both know how compelling Adam and Joe are together.  :) 

Date: 06/26/2019 - 01:01 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

This is a Wonderful story that has a lot of SJS  You could feel the love Adam had for his youngest brother Joe.He took really  good good care him on the trail You could also feel the love Joe had for hi oldest brother.And how he trusted him.I love how you wrote the love  the two had for each other. I was not 100%  sure but had a feeling that Ben Hoss and would show up at the  end. You done a great job .

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Fan.  Is there ever too much SJS?  For folks who are tried and true Joe fans, possibly not.  :)  

I have always opted to believe that Adam and Joe cared deeply about each other.  Joe does trust his oldest brother implicityly.  (So would I.)  Beyond that, Joe listens to Adam when he knows it's important to do so.  Conversely, I think Adam knew when to leave Joe alone, and when to intervene if he truly needed help.    

If you were able to gather the same set of feelings from reading the story, that's wonderful to hear.  Thank you for tellilng me.      

Date: 03/27/2019 - 10:31 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Bejules Signed
Firstly, I'm impressed that this was your first venture into the library, as the story was well outlined and well written. Your description of the Joe's fall and the subsequent rescue by Adam, the emotions that followed was spot on. The brother's relationship is very true to form. I'm also one that doesn't believe that Adam and Joe are always at loggerheads and this view is reflected in your story. The brother's relationship is complex and I love how you managed to capture the deep brotherly love that exists between the youngest and oldest Cartwright brothers.

The story was perfectly paced. I enjoyed reading the interaction and also how you delved into the past memories of the two brothers. Thank you for a lovely read

Author's Response:

Bejules, thank you for your input. 

Yes, it was my first foray into Bonanza fan fic.  Admittedly, it was quite an adventure.  It took me a little while to recover.  :)   

The relationship the brothers have is indeed vastly complex and profoundly geniune - at least that's how I see it.  When the two of them do clash, the intensity springs from a deep, familial foundation of love.  They are brothers to the bone with a high regard for each other.  Their emotions are intense in every sense of the word.     

I'm glad the layout of the story made sense to you.  I'm not sophisticated enough to write properly with outlines and other more preferred techniques.  I like connecting with other fans who enjoy some of the same things I do.  It's enough for me.  :)    

Date: 02/20/2019 - 05:31 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Lisala Signed

This story is so touching and it portrays exactly what the title says.... I love the way you showed Adam and Joe's love for one another, how you got into their heads and how you tugged my heart strings.  Plus the horses! So glad you added in showing the boys' concern for them.

I'm leaving a meatier review on the forum for reader's choice but I dont have time to write all the things I want at the moment. Just know I really loved the story - the plot, the dialogue, the setting, - everything.  Beautiful job, Sharry.



Author's Response:

I appreciate your feedback.  Thank you so much! 

I've always thought the bonds between all three brothers were complicated, but strong.  It had nothing to do with seeing eye to eye on all things.  They were family to the depth of their souls in so many ways that could never be truly undone. 

Adam and Joe have always been especially interesting to me.  They have extra layers to their relationship that are so fun to pull apart and examine a little more slowly.  I've always thought the two of them would not have to waste a lot of time on words because they already had so much deep seated understanding established between them.  I took a stab at filling in some of those blanks.  :)       

Date: 01/17/2019 - 09:29 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

I really love this story.  You put a lot of thought and detail into this.  I could picture the images in my mind.  Great writing!  You really nailed the characters and their different personalities.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tahoe Lee.  Adam and Joe do have distinctly different personalities although I've always believed they kept themselves bound tightly together in their core.  Each brother is fiercely independent in their own right yet they can unify when it counts.  (Hoss, too.)  I think Adam would step up if Joe really needed him as well as vice versa.  I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the story.        

Date: 06/02/2018 - 08:29 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Very good story that focuses on the bond between Adam and Little Joe.  Beautifully done!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Sierras.  I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the story.  I do love Adam and Joe - guess that's obvious.  I appreciate your feedback.  :)    

Date: 04/15/2018 - 01:59 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Chenoa Signed

I enjoyed reading the story. You capture both characters and the amazing bond between them very good.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Chenoa.  

The bond between brothers is the point of the story.  Adam and Joe each had a unique upbringing as members of the same family.  I think the end result would have been something keenly special.  :)  

Date: 06/21/2017 - 01:08 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

This is the second time I've read this story, and it strikes me again how well you capture the relationship between Adam and Joe. There's nothing surprising about Pa and Hoss looking for them almost before dawn. The family bond is super strong. 



Author's Response:

 

Thank you, Pt!  It helps to hear the relationship between Adam and Joe was understood as intended by the reader.  Yes, I agree the same family bond does extend to all of them.  It simply bends and adjusts to whoever is involved as needed.  Ben has a personal relationship with each son.  Each brother has his own memories and bonds with his brothers.  They are all different, yet unified as a family.  It works for them!    

I appreciate hearing from you. :)       

Date: 06/19/2017 - 07:28 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

Second time I've read this story.    The story reads smoothly and keeps moving.  The description of Adam and Joe's relationship truly is about love between brothers, something that isn't talked about very much if at all.  



Author's Response:

I'm pleased to hear you were interested enough to read the story twice, Elizabeth.  My intent was to capture Adam and Joe's relationship in the way I've always seen it - something I wish there had been more time for in the series.  I have learned a lot of people see both Adam and Joe in much the same way I do, although not everyone has exactly the same point of view.  I think love between brothers is a remarkably strong type of bond.  And you're right - it isn't often discussed in the purest sense of the emotion much at all.  In terms of Adam and Joe, I think Joe had an easier role.  While we all know Pernell was going bald early on, it's amazing Adam was not completely gray like his father by the time Joe reached adulthood.  Jeepers!  :)        
Date: 06/07/2017 - 09:30 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This story really shows the close relationship between Adam and Joe, and raises the question: what would Joe have done growing up without Adam?  In this story, he certainly would have been in terrible shape without him!



Author's Response:

CowGirlAtHeart - Thanks for your insight.  Yes, Joe would have been in bad shape without Adam this time, that's for sure.  In fact, it's hard to imagine life for any of the three brothers without the unconditional support of the other two.  

I always thought Joe understood how important his oldest brother was to him when he was young and most vulnerable.  Adam understands the same just as well, although he is not likely to say anything in most circumstances.  Now that both of them are older, Adam is still never far away if Joe really needs him.  That's really the bottom line.  :)        

Date: 03/27/2017 - 12:52 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Marla Fair Signed

I think this is my third time through this one.  Just love it.  You capture Joe and Adam so well.  Thanks. 



Author's Response:

 

Well, aren't you sweet? It's so gratifying to know that you think so.  

If there was a purpose behind the story, it was to chance a look at their relationship on a more personal level.  Two complex men - both bound by simplicity and strength of the same brotherly bond.  :)  

Date: 12/21/2016 - 01:12 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

Beautiful, Sharry.  I do love me some JAM!!!! Loved how Adam took Joe under the blanket and kept him warm and feeling safe through the night.  THanks for sharing this story with us.



Author's Response:

I'm happy it struck a chord with you, LMC.  If Adam decided Joe needed extra care and attention, I don't think he'd hesitate to give it.  Likewise, if he thought Joe needed to learn some sort of hard lesson, he'd let him have that, too.  All Joe really needed was time and attention to wait out the night.  Adam could have left him alone - more confused, and a lot more uncomfortable, but I don't think he would have done that to Joe.  If the tables were turned, Joe would have handled the situation in much the same way.

Thank you for your kind words.  :)        

Date: 09/01/2016 - 06:38 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: AdamCult2b Signed

You wonderfully described the deep relationship / the bond between the brothers.

We learned also a bit more how this intense relationship arised. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I have always envisioned a particularly strong bond between Adam and Joe - one that would endure the test of hardship and time itself.  I am glad you found the depth and strength of their relationship believable.  It was fun to create a little family history for the two of them.  :)  

Date: 07/31/2016 - 04:44 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Calamity Signed

"Three Successive Rounds" would've been my title for this character study. 

A good study it was but it also had enough action to keep my attention. Starting with the recovery and not the fall was a good technique. While I prefer Cochise as female, I like to think that she went running home after the fall. Your story is good like that, leaving plenty of room for imagination.

Like I always imagined he would, Adam spent his time reviewing the situation and making adjustments accordingly. He may have lost his "customary and calm composure" (love that alliteration) momentarily but he quickly got it back. Keeping our boys in character is important to me.

"It was a comfortable arrangement born between the two of them out of sacrifice and survival; an unspoken, undeniable bond that could not be undone by mere hardship or inconvenience."

Gotta love that line. Your description of Joe's labored breathing after the fall was exceptional as I was taking every raspy breath with him. Adding a bit of humor with the joke concerning castration was welcome. Poor Joe, always the little brother whether he wanted to be or not. As a woman with three older brothers, I identify with those descriptions. I can also 'hear' the deep reassuring voice that Adam would have been using.

Personally, I like the way it reads and wouldn't make any changes. It works.



Author's Response:

 

Thank you, Calamity.  I agree with you - Three Successive Rounds woud also be a fine title.  :)  

 

Interestingly, I originally wrote Cochise as female, but I changed my mind later on.  It's something I did wrestle with.  Also, I'm happy you thought Adam and Joe remained in character.  As tough as both of them are, Joe is the eternal youngster in his family's eyes.  Adam isn't about to let anything happen to him on his watch, so to speak.  If Adam has an Achilles' heel, it might be Joe.

 

I don;t have any brothers myself.  From the standpoint of that experience, it's good to hear you think it works.  

 

Thank you for commenting.   

 

 

 

 

Date: 06/28/2016 - 06:08 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: imthemom Signed

Great story. I always like stories that show the interaction between Adam and Joe. Adam was truly the "other" parent.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Although it would not have been the crux of their relationship as adults, I think Adam would have been a natural shoulder for either of his younger brothers to lean on.  :) 

Date: 06/28/2016 - 10:18 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: LittleJoe4Ever Signed

A very enjoyable read. Thank you very much! I always enjoy Joe & Adam stories & this one was no different. Great details. Could have read a lot more.



Author's Response:

I'm happy you enjoyed the story, LJ4Ever.  Stories that feature Adam & Joe have a special spark for me, too.  I haven't read this one since I posted it - I'm almost afraid to.  :)  Maybe I will some day...  Thanks!      

Date: 06/27/2016 - 09:11 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: adamant Signed

I'm going to be disussing this in the RC and will post my comments there.

Date: 06/22/2016 - 12:30 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

A wonderful story, Sharry! Though they do seem to argue quite a bit, there definitely is a deep, brotherly bond between both Adam and Joe, and you portrayed it perfectly! Brava!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Annie!  I confess to being fascinated with Adam and Joe's relationship because there's just so much to work with there, but it's hard to know if I've ever really conveyed it in the manner in which I see it.  It's encouraging to hear someone else say they have gotten a similar impression from reading the story.  Thank you for telling me - I appreciate it.  :)   

Date: 03/25/2016 - 05:00 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

WOW!!!! I love me some JAM and Sharry.  The title is perfect.  Love the way you described Joe and Adam and their "bond"  with each other.  Adam will always be there to take care of his little brother. Thanks for sharing with us.



Author's Response:

Well thank you, LMC!  Titles can be tricky things; you want to hint at the gist of the story without divulging too much.  There's something about JAM that's irresistable to me as well, and although on the surface it's something that would seem rather clear and one dimensional, I've always thought it would be deep and complex.  Yes, Adam's always there for him!  I'm glad you enjoyed the story!  

Date: 02/27/2016 - 09:38 am [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: Patina Signed

Well done on your first story, Sharry!  Brotherly love shines through as Adam looks after his youngest brother.  



Author's Response:

Ahhh, thanks!  I'm so glad to hear that's the case.  Brotherly love was certainly the intended goal of the story, but Adam and Joe wrote a whole lot of it for me.  :)

Date: 12/05/2015 - 05:30 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

Good writing, Sharry! When Joe is hurt and Adam need to take care of him, it brings back a lot of memories for both of them of when Joe was much younger and Adam helped take care of him.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Daisy.  I've always thought Adam would have played a big part in taking care of 'Little Joe'. 

I also think he would have been very good at knowing not only when but just how much Joe really needed him.  He understood how to be close by for him just in case, and always available if he really needed him. :)

 

Date: 11/19/2015 - 04:18 pm [Report This]
Title: A Brother's Love Reviewer: imthemom Signed

Great story Sharry.  I love the way you portrayed adam's love for little Joe.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  It's very gratifying to hear that you had that impression from reading the story as that is what was intended.

I have always thought the breadth and scope of Adam's love for both of his brothers, but particularly for Joe, would have been deep, intense, and just as complex as the circumstances they grew up in.  I also thought they did a fair job of conveying that on TV, but it wasn't spotlighted often.  Adam would always have a soft spot for Joe - he was too smart, too considerate and insightful, and too responsible of an older brother to have felt otherwise.   :)     

Date: 10/24/2015 - 02:20 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.