Reviews For No Strings
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Drifter Signed

Great imagery. You see differences in Joe’s fear and Adam’s nonchalance, yet it affects them both equally.

Date: 08/11/2019 - 12:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisal Signed

Wow, definitely a creepy story.  You certainly made good use of the Halloween prompt.  Having Adam turn momentarily evil was horrifying and having Joe as the savior was very fitting.  The puppet was scary.  Nicely done.  

Date: 08/10/2019 - 07:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: January Signed

creepy, creepy and more creepy.

NOTE TO SELF: Do not read at bedtime! Jules, your writing is wonderful. To say that I'm not a fan of horror stories is an undertatement and this story is scarier than that.

I was hoping the ending would be a dream, Joe's nightmares, but no it was not meant to be. Evil puppetadam was one mean dude. Good job on this Bejules!

Date: 07/13/2019 - 12:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

This is a strange and eerie story.

Joe's nightmares were very scary and he felt helpless.  The unknown was kind of lingering out there.  It started to affect Joe's life in every way. 

I like how you built up the suspense until the very end. 

Well done.

 

Date: 07/12/2019 - 09:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Fanofoldtvshows Signed

A Wonderful but a creepy story.Glad that Joe was able to save the day and Adam by throwing the evil puppet into the fire.Great Job.

Date: 07/09/2019 - 09:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: adamant Signed

Considering the requirements for the story, you did well to incorporate them. I liked Joe tripping over the black cat -- it was an easy thing to overlook but a black cat not only crossing one's path but tripping one up...  You did well building the setting -- good incorporation of pathetic fallacy -- and it seemes the horses were sensitive to the malevolent burden they carried as well as was Joe.

I'm really not a big fan of horror stories (or movies -- and I still regret having seen The Exorcist) because many of them end with -- "...and it was just a dream". I feared this would end the same way and was relieved it didn't. But it does make me wonder who would have sent Adam the puppet since it was Joe who was obviously the target--why make Adam the tool to do away with Joe? Anyway, nice, scary story.

Date: 07/09/2019 - 11:45 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: littlejoenice Signed

This was really creepy, Bejules! It reminded me a lot of a Goosebumps episode that my brother watched once. Had almost exactly the same plot, only without the black cat and it was a doll who was taking over the girl, not a puppet. Yours was a whole lot scarier than that, though.

I'm glad that Little Joe recovered his senses in time to save his older brother. I have the feeling, however, that that incident was never spoken of again in the Cartwright home, and that Adam was going to be more careful in the future about opening strange packages.

Date: 07/09/2019 - 11:26 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Rosanna Signed

That was a heart raceing story. When Adam opened up the package with the puppet in it I thought then throw it in the fire! What a creepy yet intriguing story. Of course Joe would be the "senitive" one to fore seen what could happen. This was a well written story really made me sit on the edge of my seat. Didn't like puppets before now I really don't trust them!

Date: 07/09/2019 - 07:12 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: lovemychico Signed

JAM whether it be scary or emotional.  I prefer the latter lol.  I am not one for scary things and this really held my attention.  Glad Joe and Adam survived, but then I knew you would not let anything really bad happen, although you did have me till the end.  Thanks Jules for sharing this story

Date: 07/09/2019 - 06:44 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: daisy60 Signed

Yikes! This is scary. I'm glad I read it in the morning instead of at night.It would have given me nightmares, too. I wonder who sent that thing to Adam. Good thinking on Joe's part, at the end.

Date: 05/24/2018 - 09:38 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

What a creepy, blood-chilling story!  Having something from a nightmare appear in real life is one of the most frightening things I can think of.  I don't envy Joe in this story, but he sure saves the day!

Date: 03/27/2017 - 06:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: pam Signed
wow that was a little spooky but a great story
Date: 11/10/2014 - 05:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bertha Signed

CREEPY!!! Thanks!

Date: 10/28/2014 - 11:09 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: steffie1304 Signed

Whoa! I should not have read your story right before going to bed! A nightmare became reality and you described everything so vividly. I'm terrified!

Brilliant story, Jules! 

Date: 10/28/2014 - 06:33 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Bahj Signed
Yipes! This story was scary! And your picture was so perfect. Little Joe was much braver than I would have been. I wonder who sent the puppet . . .
Date: 10/28/2014 - 03:47 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Wow that was a humdinger.  l have a bit of a phobia about those big wooden puppets and that story gave me the heebee jeebees.  Like that you had a double whammy, not only was there a puppet but Adam became a puppet. 

Date: 10/27/2014 - 09:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: BettyHT Anonymous

Dang, I find puppets kind of spooky as it is.  Now I'll be dreaming about the darn things.  Great spooky story.

Date: 10/27/2014 - 08:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Calamity Signed

Eeeekkk! I especially like the part where the nightmare becomes reality and Adam begins to resemble the puppet.

Date: 10/27/2014 - 08:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: mo1427 Anonymous

Wow, that was really spooky! Glad Joe was able to save the day. 

Date: 10/27/2014 - 07:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: peej Anonymous

Great story!!!!  I'll never look at a puppet in quite the same way again!

Date: 10/27/2014 - 05:19 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.