Reviews For Seasons
You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Leaves Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

This story gives a terrific snapshot of Adam's character---and his growth---at a crucial time of his adolescence, when he's torn between his desire for independence and his relationship with Ben.  I really enjoyed it!



Author's Response:

So glad you liked it. I felt every adult could identify with struggling to be independent from one's parents. Thanks for taking the time to read and review. : )

Date: 01/10/2019 - 10:31 pm [Report This]
Title: The Leaves Reviewer: Tahoe Lee Signed

What a sweet and tender story.  Adam could be serious about things and he could be trusted even as a teenager.  Such a big decision for him.  He knew he would miss his family and the Ponderosa.  Ben gave his son the little nudge of self confidence that he knew he needed.  Hoss and the cobbler...too cute!

You highlight why we love this family so much.  Well done!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the story and took the time to read it. I tried to convey how terrifying it would have been to travel so far and leave everything familiar behind. By using the Bonner brothers and Carl Reagan, I hoped to show Adam's maturity and that he was ready to leave home--for a while. : )

 Thanks for leaving comments.

Date: 10/23/2018 - 08:26 pm [Report This]
Title: The Leaves Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

Poor Adam! I remember how nervous I was when I first went to college, and I was only 2 hours from home. Thank you for a look at his last evening with his family. Everything rang true.



Author's Response:

So glad you felt that the story was sincere. I only imagined how frightening leaving home to go that far away mut hve been. I remember that I went 4 to 5 hours away and that was bad enough.

Date: 10/14/2018 - 10:25 pm [Report This]
Title: The Leaves Reviewer: ansinico Signed

Ant, I do enjoy stories that incorporate characters from the series.  Adam leaving though is always a tender subject.  His wanting to assert himself - after all he was a man setting off on a life of his own - an adventure.  And yet, his heart was beside the Ponderosa hearth.

The change of season to its autumnal wistfulness gives reference not only to Adam's change of life but also to his return.

 



Author's Response:

Why thank you, ansi. And you drew me back into the Library where I haven't been for a while. I appreciate the nice words and the commentary. Adam leaving, whether for college or the sea or anywhere else si a touchy subject for some readers. 

Date: 10/13/2018 - 07:08 pm [Report This]
Title: The Leaves Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"The Leaves" brought back memories of each o my daughters' last nights at home before college. The excitement, the anxiety, the fear, and the doubt. 

This story showcases the tightly knit Cartwright family, and the touches of autumn settling in add to the theme of change and the promise of renewal.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Tracy, for both reading and reviewing. I don't know which is worse -- to be the person leaving for unknown challenges or to be the person left behind.

Date: 10/09/2018 - 09:57 am [Report This]
Title: The Lake Reviewer: Tracy Signed

"The Lake" ties together not just the young Cartwright boys and their life on the young Ponderosa, but names from the series, characters barely touched upon. It stands to reason that many of the residents of what became Virginia City and its surrounding ranches grew up with the Cartwrights.

What strikes me most in this story is the solid relationship between Adam, a young man about to go off to college, and his youngest brother, Joe. All too often, age differences separate siblings, but this story proves the bond between brothers.

Written for a challenge, this story goes beyond the prompt. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Tracy, for creating te challenge and recognizing that the Bonner brothers and Carl Reagan only appear in one epsiode each but stay in our memory -- at least mine. And so I used the Bonner brothers' close relationship as a mirror of sorts to Adam and Joe -- brothers have a bond that no one can break, no matter what the age diference.  

Thanks for such a positive review.

Date: 07/05/2018 - 10:26 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: ansinico Signed

I don't know how I missed this, it is only your latest story, 'The Lake' that directed me to 'The Creek'.

Spot on, IMO, you have Adam at any age and Ant, I like your Adam! 

The closeness of the brothers is clearly evident and this closeness regardless of spats along the way formed the foundation of the love and protection they had for each other in their adulthood.

That protection for their father was just as important and of course,  Adam would've been the instigator.  Worry and humour went hand in hand.  It didn't matter that the reader would know that all would end well - it was the getting there that mattered the journey made for a pleasurable read.



Author's Response:

I agree with you, ansi -- it's not a suspenseful plot but then I don't kill off Cartwrights. I think I said that I wrote the stories in the Seasons series  to be the year in the C's lives before Adam leaves. I hope it explores their relationships and how they develop over the year. Only to be separated, Anyway, thanks, ansi. You're very nice to review this. Much appreciated.

Date: 06/28/2018 - 04:49 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lake Reviewer: ansinico Signed

I don't rightly know where to start but, I guess the beginning will do.

Immediately I was pulled in; Ben's weariness worries about finances and care for his sons.  Hoss & Joe's need for candy and Adam's need for independence. 

I always enjoy the addition of Bonanza characters.  Adam's want for his own time and his responsibility for Joe were so betwixt and of course, brothership came to the fore.

The simplicity of the story was wonderfully descriptive and I felt as if I were there watching Adam and Carl's struggle and fist punching the air when Adam bloodied Carl's nose.

All in all, I found it an enjoyable insight into the life of the young Cartwright's and their neighbours.  



Author's Response:

Since I was online in the Forums, thought I come over and thank you for such a nice review. I did worry about the plot being too simple and therefore, BORING! Glad to know it wasn't yawn-worthy. Funny isn't it, both Carl and the Bonner brothers only show in one episode each but we remember them and I do like to include them in prequels. Hope you enjoyed a little diversion into the world of teenage boys and that the smell of testosterone wasn't overwhelming (personally, I like it!)  :-D

Date: 06/28/2018 - 04:32 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lake Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

A good story showing how protective Adam was of his younger brothers. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Pt, for reading and leaving a comment. 

Date: 06/26/2018 - 09:01 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

This story is lighter than others you've written. I enjoyed the humor, and the interaction between Adam and Ben when tells him he has to stay at home and keep track of Hoss and Joe. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you enjoyed it. And yes, it is lighter -- it follows "The Hill." Thanks for leaving a review, Pt.

Date: 05/21/2018 - 08:42 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: Annie K Cowgirl Signed

That ending is hilarious! Classic Hoss: always hungry. Thank you for sharing this Adamant!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Annie K., for reading! I am delighted to share this story with anyone who reads and enjoys -- I love all the C's!

Date: 05/15/2018 - 12:20 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: Sierras Signed

Nice story.  Nice characterizations of the Cartwrights.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, Sierras.

Date: 04/30/2018 - 07:56 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: Sport Signed

That was great! I like how Adam and Hoss worked together. Like the repartee at the end.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review, Sport. This isn't my usual type of story -- I'm more PG-13 -- but I can write a nice family story. I'm glad you liked this one. I see Adam and Hoss as being closer, mainly due to the age dference between Adam and Joe.

Date: 04/28/2018 - 11:36 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: Tracy Signed

While this story was written about spring and the challenges the Cartwrights and others may have faced at the end of their long winters, it is filled with nuiances and insight into the character of the younger Cartwrights, Ben included.

As a fanfiction writer, believability has never been a problem for Adamant, and this story's twists, turns, and little bumps all fit into life in the late 1800s, a working ranch of the era, and three sons and their father working together to make it through nature's plan.

This one has earned my recommendation, for what its worth to other readers.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Tracy, for this wonderful review. Athough my mind doesn't automatically go into prequel mode, I find I like writing about the young Cartwrights and for some reason, I felt they would work well in the "Seasons" challenge which I, too late, thought I could make a series. Oh, well. I appreciate your  reomendation and I also appreciate that you took the time to read and review. Thanks.

Date: 04/25/2018 - 04:42 pm [Report This]
Title: The Creek Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

I like seeing an adventure for Ben! It's just like his boys to go out looking for him. Love the lighthearted banter at the end. They've got to diffuse the emotions by insulting each other. :)

Young Hoss is my favorite part of this story. He's so sweet, so observant, and so adorably helpless before the demands of his stomach. 



Author's Response:

You're very generous and kind. Thank you.

Date: 04/23/2018 - 12:36 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Sierras Signed

A nice story.  It's nice to see the three brothers starting to bond with each other.



Author's Response:

I appreciate the review.

Date: 04/07/2018 - 04:24 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: PlatoofthePonderosa Signed

Lovely story! Nothing like an accident to Little Joe to melt away Older Brother's hard-headedness. :) 

Lines that stood out to me: 

"You're their father--you take them." This is sassy, but not un-Adamlike. It made me think of Calamity Over the Comstock, when Ben orders Adam to talk some sense into Joe and Adam responds with, "He's your son." 

"'Thanks, Hoss,' Joe said. 'You're my favoritest brother ever.' Joe looked up at Adam to see if he'd respond." I like this characterization. Joe's testing the waters, looking for a reaction, and it's so like a kid of that age. 

"You are the most mulish, hard-headed, bravest kid I think ever lived." High praise from Adam. It warmed the cockles of my heart. <3 

Thank you for a splendid story! 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading my entry and including it in your "Winter Tale's" reviews. I appreciate the positive words as every one who writes revels in compliments -- I'm sure. Thank you again and Happy Holidays. 

Date: 12/12/2017 - 02:33 am [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Elizabeth Holmes Signed

I loved this story.  Adam's teenage attitude, the arguments between the younger two boys, Ben's frustration all are understandable.  I liked how the shared sledding activity bonded the 3 of them together.

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked the story. I tried to remember what it had been like as a child to be snowed in and the boredom. Thank you for reviewing.

Date: 12/08/2017 - 08:46 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: ansinico Signed

First I have to confess I am a sucker for the young Cartwrights. 

A lovely, typical family discord, made worse by the enforced entrapment.

The scene indoors was so visible to the mind's eye.

Totally empathise with young, old and not so old. 

The dialogue and descriptions worked well.  

The ending was perfect with Adam wanting to take his brothers to the not quite so ... slope. 

A charming, gentle story. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, ansi, for reading and leaving such nice comments.  I tried to make the situation realistic and the young C's, mini-me's of the grown brothers. ;-)

Date: 11/19/2017 - 07:49 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Tracy Signed

First, I was angry with Ben for insisting Adam step away from his chosen activity - reading. But with Adam leaving soon, I see why Ben wanted his boys to be together as much as they could.

Each brother experienced a realization in this story, and with Adamant's flair for writing the young characters in a way allows readers to see them clearly as young versions of the grown Cartwrights we know so well, those realizations are natural, filled with Cartwright sarcasm, thought, and compassion.



Author's Response:

Well, even Ben has cabin fever! Thank you for reading and the nice words.  Although there is no crucial event in the story, no profound drama, I wanted to write just a simple, "Winter's Tale" that others might enjoy. Thanks for the challenge and for the review.

Date: 11/17/2017 - 11:02 am [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: Pt29646 Signed

Poor Adam! I know how he feels with two younger brothers. I like the way it ended, though, with all of them on good terms. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, PT, for takng the time to read and for leaving a review. Pleased you liked it.

Date: 11/16/2017 - 06:21 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: January Signed

That was such a cute story.  And seems like Ben missed all the fun!  I can also imagine how difficult it was when they were little after Marie died.  Bonanza fans didn't get to see any of that as the show started with grown men.

Very nicely written.   As the ride down the hill was predictable, it was also very exciting!  Little Joe was probably the most adorable kid ever.  LOL!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Jan. And the sled ride was predixtable -- I wanted the emphasis to be on the change in older brother's crappy attitude. (Teenagers! What're you gonna do with them!) And I imagine Joe was adorable -- and spoiled!

Date: 11/16/2017 - 04:34 pm [Report This]
Title: The Hill Reviewer: CowgirlAtHeart Signed

I really enjoyed this story!  The conflict is well done...Adam's attitude in the beginning of the story, and the change that happens when he sees Joe go down the hill, seem very true to life. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, CAH. I hope the story seemed realistic and that the characters behaved as they might have at that age. Thanks for leaving a review.

Date: 11/16/2017 - 03:41 pm [Report This]
No results found.
You must login (register) to review.